OMG! Who Can I Talk To – Help!!!

When have you ever prayed a desperate prayer? When were you really in trouble?

12065686_1077522828933068_6055434687846598202_n

All around us marriages are breaking, people are having sexual struggles, we know of children or loved ones who have made or are making wrong decisions. This week I called a friend and she told me how her brother has struggles with alcohol, some of us here are jobless, others of us here have been asking God for a spouse for so long.

We have talked about the fact that many times we don’t know how to pray, hence the title Oh My God. So this month we have been reflecting on the question: Can ordinary people like you and I have meaningful conversation with God regarding our own circumstances?

As we conclude this series let me say this: our needs don’t come as a surprise to God. Psalm 33: 9 For he spoke, and it came to be; he commanded, and it stood firm.

In other words, God is the one who spoke into being, everything we see and deal with, this world as we know it. What this means is that God is intensely acquainted with our world and all the facets of our human experience… therefore our needs don’t come as a surprise to God; In light of that we can and must to use our experiences and needs as springboard for prayer. In fact the Psalms are full of prayers for God’s interventions:

Psalm 40:1-3

I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.

 Psalm 46:1

God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.

 Psalm 50:15

15 and call on me in the day of trouble;
I will deliver you, and you will honor me.”

Psalm 109:26-27

26 Help me, Lord my God;
save me according to your unfailing love.
27 Let them know that it is your hand,
that you, Lord, have done it.

God’s word encourages to pray at all times – out of habit, out of gratitude, and so on. However personal needs creates natural stepping-stones to prayer. We need to know that there is nothing wrong with needs-based prayer, and that God can and does use our circumstances to invite us into conversation with Him.

What we see in the Psalms is people who embraced their circumstances and used those circumstances to propel themselves forward in prayer.

My one point in this message is this: Connect with God through your situation. Regardless of your circumstance, connect with God through your situation.

Now many times we hear people saying that we should not connect with God on the basis of needs, that such prayers are selfish even shallow. But Jesus teaches us to come to God as a Father and to expect good gifts from him. Matthew 7:9-11 says:

“Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

Over the last two years the prayer I have prayed the most has come from Psalm 18:

Psalm 18

29 With your help I can advance against a troop[e];
with my God I can scale a wall.

  • 30 As for God, his way is perfect:
    The Lord’s word is flawless;
    he shields all who take refuge in him.
    31 For who is God besides the Lord?
    And who is the Rock except our God?
    32 It is God who arms me with strength
    and keeps my way secure.
    33 He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
    he causes me to stand on the heights.
  • God gave David great swiftness, not to flee from the enemies but towards them ( 18:33): He makes my feet like hinds’ feetPs. 18:36.
  • God made him very bold and daring in his enterprises, and gave him spirit proportionate to his strength. If a troop stood in his way, he could run through them; if a wall, he could leap over it. By divine assistance he set his feet upon the high places of the enemy, 18:33.

My one point in this message is this: Connect with God through your situation. Regardless of your circumstance, use your pain or situation to connect with God.

  1. Connect with God through your situation: Life happens… some of us started to build and we have run out of finances, others of us started a business but its taking so long to get off the ground. Some of us began a Christian family and we have separated in the course of things and we are Christians. Whatever the case you find yourself in a set of circumstances you never envisioned. Use your situation to connect with God. Some of us have been paralyzed by our situations. We are at the place where we have prayed all we know how to pray. Today I want us to pray together.
  2. Become fluent in the language of prayer: We need to be fluent in the language of the country we live in. It is not enough to operate like tourists who only know a few phrases for those moments when they pass through a few miles in a certain country. Perhaps it is not too early to challenge you to a new year resolution for 2016. Would you consider reading through Psalms? All 150 of them. And connect with God through your situation. In the 365 days of the year, read through the 150 Psalms. You can have an extra day to catch up if you miss .
  3. Salvation: Some of us have not accepted God as our father. We have not come into relationship with him as a son or daughter through Jesus Christ
2 Responses to “OMG! Who Can I Talk To – Help!!!”

  1. Connect with God through your situation,i have said many a desperate prayer and this sermon series reminded me that whatever my situation,whatever the time or place i can always reach out to God and he will be there for me….

    Like

  2. This right here is me right now, hopelessnes is what I feel right now am so paralysed by my situation, it is hard to pray. Such a profound article.

    Like

Comments are closed.

