OMG! Who Do I Talk To – Me I Kent

How do you react when sin distances you from God?

12065686_1077522828933068_6055434687846598202_n

Last week we started off by saying that on a daily basis we are confronted by many situations, collectively but also personally, and many times we don’t know how to pray. Hence the title of this series: Oh My God! And last week we made the point that we don’t have to sweat over the fact that we don’t know how to pray since in every other area of our lives we recognize the fact that we do not know until we are taught.

And so we said that we don’t need to be awkward. We can relax and learn to respond through the Psalms. We noted that all other books in the Scripture speak to us but the Psalms speak for us.What is interesting about human nature is that from an early age we become good at covering things up. And perhaps this is human nature. We learn to deny things. We seem unable and unwilling to acknowledge when we have done wrong. We prefer to present ourselves in the best possible light.

Perhaps like gymnasts even when we have a less than sterling performance, falling all over the place, we still want to end our act on our feet and with our hands spread out as if to say our performance was perfect, even when we know it wasn’t.

And many of us live our lives like that. Some of us have given bribes knowing what we are doing. Or we undercut someone at the office knowing what we were doing, or we took credit for someone’s work at the office knowing. Some of us have not read the bible or come to church in a long time. Some of us feel that we are no longer where we were with regard to prayer, but we dare not let other people know.

Yet we have learned how to play church. We know how to make all the right sounds. What is unfortunate is that even the church tries to project an image of perfection. The world and also we ourselves within the church have this high expectation of the church as a congregation of saints who don’t have struggles.

The result is that many people feel that prayer is for a select few; the prayer crowd, those who have done school of prayer and know how to structure their prayer, and those who are ‘better’ than us. Many of us struggle with a low sense of worth as far as prayer is concerned, or are so riddled with guilt and regret that these feelings keep us from even attempting prayer. So how do you even approach God when you feel you are not there yet and you don’t have your best foot forward?

Let us make reference to a story: One day David saw a woman of unusual beauty taking a bath and he sent for her and slept with her. When he learned that she was pregnant, he sent for her husband, one of the soldiers who was serving Israel in battle. He tried to get him drunk so that he could be deceived into thinking it was his child. When this plan failed, David commanded the general of the army to put this man at the fiercest place in the battle so that he could be killed.

Our sermon text is 2 Samuel 11: 1-12:25

When the prophet confronted David, instead of running away from God, he runs toward God. David messed up knowing what he was doing. He did not add an extra comma in the budget.

Some of us have given bribes here knowing what we are doing. Or we undercut someone at the office knowing what we were doing, or we took credit for someone’s work at the office knowing what we were doing.

Many of us feel when we have messed up that we cannot serve God, we cannot pray…. because we are being hypocritical. We need to know and understand that prayer is not for the ‘worthy’ it is for everyone, even those who feel they fall short. God loves us regardless, even when we see ourselves falling short and unworthy. What we need to understand is that when we mess up, rather than allow our issues to drive a wedge between us and God, we can use even those low moments to come to God in prayer.

THE ONE POINT IN THIS MESSAGE IS DON’T DISTANCE YOURSELF… COME AS YOU ARE.

I recognize my rebellion… it haunts me day and night:

Many of us see what we have done and we get stuck there. “I carry so much baggage. I carry disappointments at my workplace at my family, where I have messed up before. I am living a compromised life sexually.

Many of us know how we treat our siblings, our workmates and our rebellion haunts us day and night. Our sin is ever before us. We know the deals that we have. Even the car I am driving now could be a constant reminder of my corruption.

What is amazing about this scripture is that David takes the very wretchedness of how he feels and uses that sense of misery and dejection to pray.

Have mercy on me, O God,
because of your unfailing love.
Because of your great compassion,
blot out the stain of my sins.
Wash me clean from my guilt.
Purify me from my sin.
For I recognize my rebellion;
it haunts me day and night.

Don’t banish me from your presence: The second thing that David does is to confront his worst fear that God is finished with him. And he actually says to God. Don’t banish me from your presence. God does not banish us from his presence. We banish ourselves. God never banished David. We play God in our own heads. We treat ourselves as we think God ought to treat us.

10Create in me a clean heart, O God.
Renew a loyal spirit within me.
11 Do not banish me from your presence,
and don’t take your Holy Spirit[d] from me.

Come as you are: Finally, when you mess up you feel that there are some things we must do, there are some hoops we must jump before God will listen to us. Because in life when we mess up we must pay back.

16You do not desire a sacrifice, or I would offer one.
You do not want a burnt offering.
17 The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.
You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.

What God is saying that what he wants is to just come to us with repentant spirit. He just wants our honesty and our sincerity. He is not asking us to clean up the mess we made. He wants us to say this is who I am and this is how I have messed up. Just tell the Lord this is what I have done and I don’t know what to do. We mess up. We banish ourselves. We try to make up. God says He does not need all that. He just needs us to be honest and sincere.

My one point in this message: DON’T DISTANCE YOURSELF… COME AS YOU ARE.

There are some places where we see people appreciating the fact that even though they have messed up they can come as they are? The most successful “recovery” program ever known, is almost 100 percent borrowed from the Christian movement. What is surprising is that these insights are not routinely taught and practiced by churches.

We admitted we were powerless over alcohol. We came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could help restore us to sanity; made a decision to turn over our will and lives to the care of God as we understood Him; made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves; admitted to God, ourselves and another human being the exact nature of our wrongs; were entirely ready to have God remove these defects of character; humbly asked him to remove our shortcomings.

Let us conclude by doing something practical: take a piece of paper and write on it as follows: LORD THIS IS MY SIN, I COME TO YOU AS I AM. Is there some sin that is always before you? Is there some compromise in your life that stops you from having the connection with God that you desire? WRITE IT DOWN.

Once you are done, make a short prayer, as short as this “Father, these are my sins; forgive me. Restore our relationship. In Jesus name. Amen.”

Follow us on Twitter & Facebook. We stream the sermon LIVE every Sunday 9AM GMT+3 here, bookmark and tune in. Sermon videos are usually uploaded to our YouTube channel

One Response to “OMG! Who Do I Talk To – Me I Kent”

  1. I thank God for his grace, He still accept us despite our sins. He still say come as you are.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

