23 Responses to “#Unanswered-When God Seems Silent”

  1. Even though you have ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the Gospel. 1 Corinthians 4:15

    A real father shares his heart with his children. Years back you reminded us that ‘even though we may not see God’s hand, we can always trust His heart’. Thank you for sharing with us the Father’s heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a desperate week, last week… Desperate to hear clearly from God; desperate for Him to move; desperate to find answers…angry at hearing nothing from Him and fearful that my anger was rebellion. Coming to Church today and listening to this sermon was like a balm to my heart. I am in good company….Not the first to be desperate to hear from God. Not the first to wonder at His silence. Not the first to be desperate for Him to show up. Not the first to question His ability to move, act, change things. Not the first…. This week, I choose to praise Him in the storm. I choose to follow Him even when all I hear is silence. I choose to believe in the evidence of His past faithfulness. #unanswered.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. insightful sermon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thekenyaninme Says:

    That was an amazing amazing sermon. As someone who’s often felt like God is Mteja over some stuff, I really related to it. But for me, the highlight was Pr M’s testimony. it is such a personal story, and for him to choose to share it publicly, highlighted his heart for God and ministry. It takes such a deep desire for people to encounter God to share such a testimony. So my prayer is for you Pr M and Pr C, in your generation may you see many many more transformed through your ministry. That what God has done through you so far would be just the beginning.

    Like

  5. I didn’t want to go to church this morning but I just did it anyway. Just days before I had a tough conversation with God, I thought He had been unfair to me. It felt like a one sided relationship. Anyway, after the ranting, I just surrendered and said I choose to trust. Even if I die, at least it will be said I trusted God even if He didn’t make sense (I have been unwell for the better part of this year). It was amazing to hear God speak to me through you pastor M. Despite all that am going through I choose to put my faith and trust in Him. I want him to be the Sovereign God of all creation, not a God of my own creation.
    Thanks for sharing your story, it really encouraged me. God is still using you mightily and you are a father of many spiritual children. I love you, may God bless you in ways you could never imagine.

    Liked by 2 people

    • @TT, glad you were encouraged – how amazing that God brought you to confirm what He was already saying to you! May He truly be sovereign in your heart as you choose to follow in trust.

      Like

  6. God is God. Because He is God, He is worthy of my trust and obedience. I will find rest nowhere but in His holy will, a will that is unspeakably beyond my largest notions of what He is up to.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pastor M.this is a message that truly spoke to me.no, not because I am in a space where am waiting on God to answer a particular prayer,i have had a great year where God has been extremely faithful ,no make that a life where God has been come through in ways i would never have imagined,and it has made me think hard whether i am a witchcraft christian or will i stand the test when the trials come.
    I was the child of a single mom,growing up in one of the slums in NRB , my adoptive father took me and my mother in,and loved me unconditionally,instilled in me the values of hard work and education and to a large extent thanks to him,I am the person i am today as a result.my age-mates who we grew up with in the slums almost never made it and those who did unfortunately didn’t amount to much.I am forever grateful to my dad,and God works in strange ways because I have single handedly housed all my younger (half-siblings) during various times,taken them through private Universities and am looked up by many to come through in times of need.My dad gave me a chance at life,God used him to bless me and by extension bless so many others.My point Pastor M,i will choose to look at the bigger blessings all through my 30+ years when i get boxed inside that prison cell.Help me God.thanks again Pastor M.you are a great leader.God bless you and your family.My dad changed one life.you have changed 3.amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • @Lucy, thanks for your awesome story and encouragement. You are truly a fearless influencer! God’s grace as you continue to live out your purpose and passion. I know your parents must be very proud of you. God bless!

      Like

  8. I’m very fond of Mavuno sermons for I am a follower. Keep the fire blazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. God is in charge of my circumstances. I will not let my trust in him to stumble.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you i really needed to be reminded that he is Still God in all season.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Tears were just flowing down the cheeks ,i realised i had made a god of my creation .I have trusted God for financial breakthrough to go back to school but wapi.I have prayered for a diifferent Job for a while now change my CV but wapi tried even to use connection still nothing at sight not even a regret .Applied for scholarship just to told sorry you do not qualify .With no significant achievement in life .I ended up forgeting it is the same God has protected having grown minus the father and mother on sight only with a struggling grandmother ,It is the same God who enabled to pass all my exams ,it is the same God who took me through campus despite of financial challenges without a single supplementary exam,it is the same God that i earnestly prayed and he gave me the current job i .It is the same God who healed me of high blood pressure .Oh poor kev you forget so easily what the Lord has done ……….I to choose trust you once again even when it hurts .You are God of all creation not of my creation.God bless you Pastor M.

    Liked by 3 people

    • @Kelvin, thanks for sharing your story. May God truly encourage you in this season as you see what He has done outside your current circumstances. He truly holds your world in His hands and His purpose for you will prevail, even though it may not feel like it right now. Praying for much grace in this season as you choose to trust!

      Like

  12. Reblogged this on Pastor George Ahago and commented:
    Is God going ‘mteja’ on you?

    Like

  13. Thank You Pastor M. Reminding us that God remains God, no matter what situations we come across. thank you and for sharing your very personal story. God bless you

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Justice james Says:

    Was realy blessed by the sermon. Cant wait to see other sermons going on, have to be there in person………..

    Liked by 2 people

  15. pearlshidden Says:

    Sometime last week, God led me to start reading thru the book of Job, if there was anyone who had a season of God being mteja, then Job is our boy. The first thing that really struck me was when the devil asks God, does Job trust you for nothing? That question ricocheted in my mind over and over again, and my question to self was do I trust God for nothing? Am I trusting Him because of what I hope He will do for me, and believe you me, I have some major things I am trusting God for, and I have been in a place where I’m wondering whether I am the one not listening in the right way.

    Sunday I even dragged my sis to church and she was visiting from out of town, and I am so grateful to God that I did. God just confirmed what He’d been dealing with me, I remember sharing with some friends, that I want God to have bragging rights over me, the way He could brag to the devil about Job, but that is as a result of trusting Him no matter what. I listened especially to the story of John the Baptist, and tried to put myself in his shoes, and I thought to myself I have not seen anything yet, I can testify to Gods goodness in so many ways, that when He is silent I just need to grow up and know He still has me best interests at heart.

    Thank you Pst. M, for especially sharing your very personal story, sometimes we want to know someone who’s gone before us and has succeeded, the fact that this did not deter you, but actually opened you up to be a greater blessing to 3 other lives is an awesome testimony, I am sure God can brag about you to Satan, and say have you seen my son Muriithi and daughter Carol, and when the devil tries to ask a question there are several examples and a movement to boot! May God continually guide you as you lead us, and share with us your very life!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Thank you so much for this sermon Pst. M…I needed it and needed it this week. I did not manage to come for service and have just read the sermon. I had a really sulky Sunday away…focusing on the many things that haven’t gone right in my life…those caused by my mediocrity and those way beyond me…I wished and cried and in the end…attended a family meeting and left shortly after…for feeling I did not even deserve to be there…like I had let them down for not turning out like I think they expect me to have been by now (thro’ my eyes) ie. family…the very place I should feel affirmed!

    Now I realise there are so many more times I have converted my disappointments to blaming and feeling unaffirmed….when things did not follow my script…keyword MY. Now I feel I have so much apologising to do, to both God and family and to forgive myself…for creating a ‘what if’ life that was bound to always frustrate me.

    I pray that God will help me begin each day from a place of gratitude of counting my blesings …the millions of things that have actually turned out right. I now know that I truly belong to God…that he is my father….and like my earthly father who is always lost for words when he cannot convince me that he loves me just as I am…and would give up the world to make me happy…I know that God has the answers way before I call and when cannot hear them or do not understand when I hear them…He does have me at the centre of His heart.

    When He is silent…He probably knows I will not handle the answer…and that should be ok.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. that was a hard prayer to say because it felt like i was giving up when i prayed the prayer at the end. do you think John stopped praying that God would help him out of his prison cell after Jesus sent his reply?

    Like

  18. This has been a difficult season for me. God has seemed so distant sometimes. I really appreciate the passage from John the Baptist’s story. Its encouraging to know His purpose still remains.

    Like

  19. Amazing…right now i feel like God is silent…i lost stuff that were important to me,i have become paranoid and am just on the verge of a breakdown…and i need to hear God

    Like

Comments are closed.

