Parental Advisory: Protection Anyone?

Parental_Advisory_May

 

Question: Have you or do you know of a rule or instruction that just didn’t make sense?

Many people today feel that instructions regarding living a decent, morally upright life as a single person are unrealistic, archaic or plain impossible. So they either become skillful at doing bare minimums or they live unrestrained and ungoverned. Both these groups wrongly believe God’s rules are hard and intended to deny them pleasure in life! At home, at work, in society… Instructions can often be irrelevant and controlling, bureaucratic and meaningless! Sometimes even demeaning!

Isn’t it interesting though that many of us have come to see God’s instructions especially when it comes to how we conduct our lives  in the same way?

Here’s a thought I had about how some of us view God and His instructions.

God’s instructions are old-fashioned – our world, unlike that in Biblical times, is too inundated with sexuality, easy money, flashy living and freedom to be yourself. How can God possibly instruct me to stay pure? Times are different and God needs to get with the program.

God is such a killjoy, a wet blanket – Who wires you with certain STRONG desires and then instructs you not to do anything with them? Can you imagine taking a kid to an amusement park and refusing them any rides? Or taking a starving person to a fast food restaurant, and only ordering one meal, the 24 piece bucket, for yourself, and nothing for them. It actually seems that somehow God derives pleasure from our pain.

God’s Instructions Don’t Apply to me – Maybe you are still new to issues of faith, and don’t see how these can apply to you just yet. After all, no one enters form one and is given an exam on titration or molecular theory. Some rules are for spiritual giants, and I’m not one yet.

Settling under God’s instruction will guarantee me His protection

Let’s begin by looking at an extremely critical component if living single is going to be worth it. We”ll look at God’s instructions as found in His word, and ask, are they really meant to kill the fun in life or do they serve an incredible purpose.

READ Proverbs 2:4-11

Every single one of our lives here is being governed by someone. God or ourselves. Whoever it is we are under is going to determine the present and mostly future condition of our lives.

Every one of us that’s passionate about enjoying their life, about succeeding, about being proud of their choices, about leaving a legacy worthy of being recognized, owes it to themselves to protect their lives.

Think about it, in a life that’s lived under God’s instructions:

  • Your purpose cannot be derailed or stopped because you have God on your team.
  • Is guilt, shame and regret free.
  • Establishes such a trustworthiness in your own self and future spouse, business partners etc

Settling under God’s instruction will guarantee me His protection

Who is really covering your life today? I’m going to invite us to choose to come under God’s rule. I’m going to invite you to bring your life under God’s umbrella. You might be saying, I’ve been afraid of wanting to go God’s way because it seems hard. Or because it seems dull and boring. God’s love for us must be our motivation for doing as He asks of us. His love has already been established, because while we were unable to save ourselves, he stepped out to save us. To help us. Not to bind up our lives but to set us free to enjoy love and be loved. To make our life good, significant, and protect us from harm’s way.

Just like an umbrella keeps you dry from the rain, but does no good until you come under it, so are God’s rules. You have to come under them for them to keep you safe.

Settling under God’s instruction will guarantee me His protection

Follow us on Twitter & Facebook. We stream the sermon LIVE every Sunday 9AM GMT+3 here, bookmark and tune in. Sermon videos are usually uploaded to our YouTube channel

7 Responses to “Parental Advisory: Protection Anyone?”

  1. 31yr old technical Virgin Says:

    I am glad my church is finally paying attention to and addressing the needs of singles everywhere coz enyewe kutupwa nayo? I hope this continues and just a suggestion there should be activities for singles at least every quarter? That said I couldn’t help but notice the HUGE NDOA banner at the entrance for a sermon for singles??! Talk about pressure!

    Pastor Wa is just the one. Keep up. I had a good laugh because for a long time I didn’t know how to describe myself kumbe am a technical virgin! lol! I’ve fooled around..kissing,necking, made out with quite a no. of boys/men but I have never gone the whole way to intercourse. Trying to save myself for marriage is one of the hardest thing I’ve had to do and at my age, I just feel weird.

    Am looking foward to the rest of the series. Be blessed

    Like

  2. Mama Cedo Says:

    I loved the sermon. Even after taking the parenting class this information still sounded fresh and quite relevant. Drawing from the wealth of knowledge and experience of the speakers I think they should start a publication on parenting – a quarterly edition perhaps? These simple truths remain constant despite the evolving circumstances around us. Despite having the information, the ability to implement the knowledge and accessing a support structure that believes in the same values is a personal challenge. This has left me feeling inadequate sometimes. The worldly views are louder than the church’s voice when it comes to parenting children especially on the controversial issues of spanking, reasoning with a child, encouraging free will to boost self esteem and the list is endless. I believe God can help us get on track. God bless you as you impact the next generation of parents i was blessed kabisa 🙂

    Like

  3. Amazing sermon,an eye opener.I loved every moment,learnt alot mostly about raising Godly offspring.My kids love to pray before they sleep and often I become lazy and avoid it. I’m now taking prayer and every other opportunity I have to nurture their love for God seriously. Looking forward to the rest of the sermon series.God bless Pastor Oscar Muriu and Bea. God bless the leadership of Mavuno for this timely series. May God continue to give you wisdom to shepherd the flock! I simply love Mavuno.

    Like

  4. Not convinced Says:

    What if you did all the above, only to come out on the other side with nothing. What if your pushing 40, but were a good girl – by your standards above, and have nothing to show for it. what if you look back on your life and regret all the chances you didnt take, just because you were trying to be a good girl. So besides the people who think that the rules for protection are antiquated, there are those of us who followed the rules, and now have nothing to show for.

    Protection, sure … but for who? I tried to follow the rules, and now thats the only thing I have.

    Like

  5. I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me understand in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  6. pozycjonowanie stron internetowych cena Says:

    Awesome website you have here but I was wanting
    to know if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

    Like

  7. I delight in, lead to I found just what I used to be taking a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    Like

Comments are closed.

