One Of Us

It has been a long year. Pretty much could happen in more than 11 months. We have had our low moments. There are times when we feel God should have showed up earlier or differently. There times we feet like He was far way, and that He does not understand us.

Nationally, a lot has happened. The Hague issue got politicians and others shaking in their boots. We have had road accidents, fires and disasters that have stolen loved ones from many across the land. The misbehavior of the shilling, the climbing of interest rates and fuel prices has affected many of us financially. Inflation has not helped either. Terrorism in town and war abroad is far from what we had hoped for in the beginning of the year. It has been a difficult year for many Kenyans.

Let’s get down to you. Let us get personal.

Sam, 37 and Wairimu, 35 had hoped that this would be the year that God would reveal their spouses to be. Facebook, lots of coffee and prayers are yet to deliver the woman for Sam and the man for Wairimu. Anyone feeling these Mavunites?

Someone here had a difficult year. May be in business, in your finances or health wise. Kairo told me that he felt God stayed away from him much of the year. He prayed, served as an usher, but no job showed up. In fact, he felt betrayed by the Lord. A friend of mine has been through hell this year. Her marriage and her dreams came crushing. The man has inflicted enough pain on her in the last few months. Desertion, unfaithfulness and hostility have been the order of the day. “Why Lord”, she has asked countless times.

Life is unfair. Mike lost a dad at a time he needed him most. Makenna had her house and her life’s savings gone in a day in the recent Syokimau saga. Musyoka lost a huge contract because he wouldn’t bribe, and now he is in a suffocating debt. Rose’s life was in danger not once or twice. She was carjacked in February, had an accident in May, was hospitalized in October and is still awaiting medical results to ascertain what exactly is happening in her body.

One day I identified with the psalmist, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Yet another day I cried out with the suffering Job, “I cry out to you, O God, but you do not answer; I stand up, but you merely look at me.” (Job 30:20)

Many of us have been through hell and high water. Things have been thick at home, financially, or relationally. Loneliness has been your portion every so often. Where is God in all these experiences? When pain hits you, and lack invades, and difficulties refuse to let go, where is God?

There is a Christmas story that answers us at our low moments.

Read Luke 1:8-20

Angels come down to celebrate the big event. The angels announce the good news to the shepherds. Why the shepherds? The shepherds rush to go and see the Savior. They God is among men; He is one of us. They are so excited they can’t keep quiet; they spread the word everywhere. Then they go back to their sheep, rejoicing and praising God. That’s Christmas!

Think about the shepherds. They were not the highest paid workers in town, they would have gone on strike in today’s Kenya. They had several challenges at work:

  • Loneliness – they spend huge amounts of time out in the fields by themselves.
  • Hardships – it was hard being a shepherd. In the cold of night and the heat of the day, you had to hang on to the flock. They traveled far and wide, looking for pastures and water. They persevered days without comfort and hygiene. They would have qualified for hardship allowance.
  • Dangers – They had to defend the sheep from wild beasts and predators. They had to watch against cattle rustlers – robbers who had the flock as their target. Someone could get hurt. And all that without medical or life cover.

Would you support their leaders if they called a strike? God brought the message to the shepherds because they were lowly and so ready to receive a shepherd. He came to tell them that the True shepherd has come down to be one of us. They needed a message of hope. Often we reject the Shepherd because we are blind to our need of him. We are too proud to run to him. But not the shepherds of Bethlehem.

Have you been lonely this year? God is one of us and he feels you. He says I will never leave you nor forsake you. In fact, he has written your name on the palm of his hand. He came down to walk with you through the moments of aloneness. God came down here seeking for you. He took on flesh so that you can feel him and you can know he feels you! He talks your language. He is not untouched by what you go through!

This is the message of Christmas: God is one of us, He feels you!

Have you gone through hardships this year? A difficult marriage, financial challenges, business troubles, job issues or even bereavement? Whatever the difficulty, you have a God who came down here to you. He feels you. The psalmist said of this shepherd:

I lift up my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord watches over you – the Lord is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and for evermore. (Psalm 121:1-8) 

You have a shepherd.

God is one of us, He feels you!

Are you in danger or have you been through danger? Do you feel threatened? Has someone threatened to sue you, or harm you, or kick you out a job, or a family? David, a shepherd himself had this to say about the God of Christmas in the most famous psalm of all time:

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

What a shepherd! He is the provider, the protector, your guide and your comfort. He corrects you when you need it, and he blesses you with good things. He is committed to your prosperity. Goodness and mercy will follow you all your life – because of Christmas.

God is one of us, He feels you!

The Shepherd stuck with Daniel in the lion’s den. He walked with the Hebrew boys in the fire. He cares about you. The Shepherd walked around healing the sick, forgiving the condemned, giving hope to the hopeless and proclaiming a new beginning. This is the message of Christmas. The shepherds heard it, and received it with joy. How will you receive it today? Are you ready for the good news about God being one of us?

A – Acknowledge that you need the shepherd in different areas of your life. (sick, brokenhearted, lonely, bound by sin or habit, etc)

B – Believe that he is there for you. That’s why he came!

C – Continue in prayer and community to experience the shepherds love. Embrace the one who came to you and receive his help.

17 Responses to “One Of Us”

  1. 😥 Men also cry. Its surely been a hard year. Eh!! this is soo deep. I lost my Job in March when my girlfriend just gave birth,I lost my business, at five days my sons liver and kidney crashed. I had to move from my langata home to my mums house. Jobless,broke and depending on mum to not only provide for my girlfriend and I but also for my son. Debts accumilated big and my name was taken to the CRB. I am still trying to recover. I have stopped digging and am weeding now. Thank God for grace. THANK GOD FOR GRACE!!

    Like

    • Pole sana Bwana Ngunjiri. I hope your situation has improved and your son is now of good health.

      Like

    • Thanks Ghafla! Guy. My son’s kidney and Liver were restore miraculously at the door of the theater.Doctors couldn’t explain how. THANK GOD FOR GRACE!!! Please continue praying for my “family”.

      Like

  2. Pst S ur felt like u were taking to me on Sato evening. On Friday i lost my job and all year round i had been asking, crying, begging for God to gimme a new job a career in my field of study, I even did Ombi and to be honest it felt like things went from Bad to worse. I kept asking God why me; did i not worship u enough? did i sin vybaya hivyo yaani u can’t forgive me? ama i being punished? kwanza during christmas? i felt alone and i had nobody to talk to. But that Sato i now understood that God is one of us and he understands and my gals were there with me and they gave me a big.. I’m still waiting on God to open the door but i now know he has plans for me. Like the psalmist…… Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life……

    Like

  3. I wasnt in church on Sunday so just read the post and its great. Its a new way for me to look at Christmas…i must admit i dint have much syke for it…with all thats been going on this year as you so rightly described…so what has really touched me is that Christ came to earth as a human being so that he can be like me…one of us…He feels me…and thats just profound for me right now.
    Thank you for bringing this out.

    Like

  4. How can I even start comprehending this msg? I had a miscarriage in March, a still birth in November, a relationship I don’t know where its going, financial burdens, child issues. Pls keep me in your prayers.

    Like

    • NK have prayed for you. I have been through a lot where I lost everything, job, health, friends, even the man I truly loved and I did ask so many questions. It hurt so bad, and wondered what I had done. Its been now a year and God has brought me so far. I have learnt to trust in him wholly. He has a plan for you greater than what you can see now. Its been a journey and a half and I have been healed and made whole. Trust in him. He is your God and what you think you have lost now will be restored ten times better than the last. Trust in him. He is your Father. He is love. Isaiah 41:13 ‘For I am the Lord your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not Fear, I will help you.’ It will be better.

      Like

    • Thanks alot anon. I will learn to trust in Him.

      Like

  5. I was not in church this weekend but I’m glad i read what the sermon was all about on the blog coz i must say that this has been a difficult year for me. One of my resolution for this year was to save as much money as possible but come December 2011 my savings account has no money. I have had various financial challenges and i remember asking God why is this happening to me. I even tried investing in real estate but the deal turned sour on two instances. I have also been lonely this year. After four years of not dating, I was hoping that this would be the year i would meet my spouse. I have prayed and believed but i am yet to meet that special person.
    Through this sermon i have been encouraged especially with the knowledge that God is not untouched but i what i go through. He is one of us and he feels me. I will make it.

    Like

  6. @ngunjiri said a prayer for you… God is able to get you through this because He is one of us. May God restore you and yours in this season of hope

    Like

  7. In life, we all think that we are in control over everything and are always planning for tomorrow.
    We don’t seem to see our creator at work in the world and who is all love and has love for you.
    Jesus came so that we may have life. He came so that we might have a way to God. His promises are true. His love real. What I would give to see him! He is more awesome than the stars, so humble and yet firm. Mans pride, takes us no further than to fulfill our own desires. We sin because we want to fulfill our desires which are of the flesh. Sin then separates man from God. Time which we think is there, ticks away and brings each day closer to our death. Death to which we have no control over consumes us with satisfaction. Is it insane to think that life could be different? That you could actually leave your questions behind and follow God and dwell on his promises? Living for Him, makes a heart glad and gives peace but rational minds seek to dwell in the ashes of doubt. A restless heart will wander, hurt and be hurt and the devils will is done. Jesus said; ‘Seek and you shall find me says the Lord, if you seek me with all of your heart’. Pray for wisdom, pray to know why any trouble is upon you. It could be to bring you back to God, a trial which will grow you closer to God, or it could be that God wants to humble you. The troubles of this world is fleeting compared with eternity with God. Take heart. He is God! He is all knowing. He wants you to Trust Him. Lean not on your own understanding. As you have no control over your heartbeat, leave it to the one who watches over you. He has a plan. Trust in him. Repeat I trust in you Jesus 10 times each time you feel overwhelmed and his peace will engulf you whom He knows as His Love, His bride, His brother, His sister, His son, His daughter. Unlike humans, his love will never ever fail you. You are truly Jehovah, God. God of peace, God of one church, God of hope, Almighty Father. Who can compare? Who can?

    Like

  8. God is with us…am still here and very much afraid…i have surrendered and turned it all to God….an awaiting for the miracle this season…Pastor mbevi great sermon….please put me in your prayers!thank you and God bless

    Like

  9. I have a question,what do you think was there before God, Why should he a being of love be hovering in emptiness,Since he is one of us it just got me thinking why was God there in the first place yes we love him but he loved us first, it is written Luke 11:10 For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. ……………. this is me asking….

    Like

  10. So I was away in Dar es Salaam, and by the connection of the Spirit, watched Courageous, great movie.
    Reading through the sermon notes, the message has really blessed me. Indeed, the Good Shepherd is in my life, who can I fear!
    God Bless your obedience for allowing Him to use you.

    Like

    • The message on sunday was an eye opener,with everything i have been through am glad to know that God truly is one of us ,he “feels us ” and is always there for us.
      I have peace just knowing that.

      Essy

      Like

  11. I missed this sermon.2011 was tough year for me.i lost my job in feb,then the little savings in april.i was a victim of kyangombe demolitions.
    Despite all these,i trusted in God and he opened another door for me in sept.
    Brethren,never loose hope.God is real,God is there and watching over you.

    Like

Comments are closed.

