Enemy Of The State

We’d like your honest opinion! Please complete this sentence: “Kenyan leaders are…”FB responses (over 50)…

  • Ezekiel – a bunch of self centered individuals only interested in fattening their pockets and networking to either protect or outdo each other
  • Joy –  Greedy, corrupt and selfish
  • Doris – Lacking in vision, greedy, self centered
  • Nakhayo – Selfish, celf centered, hypocrites, hateful, vengeful, power hungry, opinionated, unreasonable
  • Giovanna – what Kenyan leaders? Do we have any?
  • Shiru – ignorant, selfish, lack integrity, self serving, annoying, vision-less
  • Kenyatta – like a bunch of bananas – curved (lack integrity), hang out in bunches (coalitions that don’t last) and lack a spine

A large number also said that Kenyan leaders are simply a reflection of who we are; if they are corrupt, it’s because they were elected by a corrupt populate. These are depressing sentiments! Out of 52 comments, only around 2 were positive about Kenyan leaders. And one of those was from an Australian! Clearly, many of us are frustrated by our leadership and have little positive to say about them. Why are we so suspicious of those in leadership?

  1. Past Experience – We are a generation that has grown up experiencing the betrayal and abuse of power from the institutions and individuals that are in authority. Our newspapers & news stations daily assault us with stories of government corruption, political self-centeredness, spousal betrayal, parental abuse, corporate greed or hypocritical spiritual leadership; the result is a greater level of suspicion & mistrust of authority figures today than at any time in our nation’s history. We know that they’re only in it for what they can get. And it’s not just in Kenya… this is the year of the Arab Spring where demonstrations and protests against state repression have taken place in 17 countries in the Arab World, resulting to date in governments being overthrown in Tunisia and Egypt and a civil war in Libya that ended with the graphic execution of the world’s 4th longest ruling president. It’s also the year of the Occupy Wall Street protests, which began this September in New York to protest corporate greed and corruption as well as the economic disparities between the rich and the poor. To date these protests have spread to over 1000 cities in 82 countries in America, Asia, Europe and Australia! All over the world, people are saying ‘enough’ to the oppression of authority figures. As a generation, we have lost patience with those in leadership.
  2. People Power – Technological advances like mobile phones and the internet have put information and knowledge into our hands and reduced the power gap between leaders and the led. I remember being very impressed as a young boy with my dad’s knowledge of our city, and how to get to different streets and areas. But today the existence of cheap android phones with internet access and Google maps means my son will probably never be as impressed by my knowledge! Doctors, lawyers, teachers and political leaders are finding out that their specialized knowledge is constantly questioned by a very enlightened populace. Leaders are no longer as impressive as they used to be… today, we all have the power! I was invited to a FB gp this week that was started by a guy whose wife’s car was hit by a 4WD with diplomatic plates, which simply took off. He was so enraged he put the email of the embassy concerned on fb and asked people to write and protest. He also wrote that nation’s Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights, The Kenya Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Kenya Police Commissioner and called radio stations with the car’s registration number! In a few days after it happened, he had been called by the embassy for an investigation and also received an offer to repair his car, which he accepted, but has continued to demand an apology. Kenya is different! Unlike in the past, people are more aware of their rights and we’re less accepting of mistreatment by those in authority.
  3. Political Correctness – Here’s an experiment to try: say something this week on your FB status or tweet about the problems with leadership. I can almost guarantee you you’ll get a lot of ‘likes’, ‘retweets’ & comments! But if you say something positive, I bet you’ll get practically no responses. People will just move right along! Although we don’t often admit it, it’s politically incorrect today to be positive towards leadership and the status quo. Many of our local comedians gained their reputation by making fun of and ridiculing political leaders. Saying positive things about leaders can be interpreted by others as supporting all that they do – and people might think you’re a ‘conformist’ or government spokesman! Some may even see you as contributing to making their heads swell bigger with pride. How can they be humble if we keep praising them? Being positive about our leadership is not cool!
But is it possible that our negative attitude towards leaders is partly to blame for why we never seem to get the leaders we deserve?
Read Romans 13.1-7 (NLT)
Our passage gives us several startling reasons why despite all the things we talked about, we must honor those in authority over us. The first is…

1.  It Honors God

 v.1 ‘Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God.’ Paul is saying that God is the ultimate authority. All human authority is delegated authority. And whenever you honor delegated authority, you are honoring the source of that delegated authority.

This is why when a policeman puts up his hand and you’re driving, you stop. You don’t stop because he’s stronger than you, or he’s better educated, or because he’s tall, dark or handsome or because he’s right and you’re wrong or because you know he’s not corrupt. You stop because that policeman represents the power of the GOK. His authority is delegated authority. And if you defy his orders to stop, then you can expect the full force of the government to be marshaled against you. You have now become an enemy of the state; not of that lone policeman, but of the government that he represents.

Did you know it is possible to be a Christian, faithful serve in church, give to God’s work etc and yet to be declared an enemy by God because of your rebellious attitude towards the authorities he has put in your life? V.2 tells us ‘anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted’. For example in 1Sam.15:22, King Saul had been instructed by Samuel – his spiritual authority, to destroy everything the Amalekites owned. He decided to save some their best livestock, not even for himself but to make an offering to God. After all, he was the king! In the middle of his offering however, he was shocked to hear these words from Samuel, ‘What is more pleasing to the Lord: your burnt offerings and sacrifices or your obedience to his voice? Obedience is far better than sacrifice. Listening to him is much better than offering the fat of rams. 23 Rebellion is as bad as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as bad as worshiping idols. So because you have rejected the word of the Lord, he has rejected you from being king’.

The 1st reason we must honor those in authority over us is because it honors God. The 2nd is…

2.   It Allows Them To Carry Out Their Mandate

v.4 ‘The authorities are God’s servants, sent for your good… They are God’s servants, sent for the very purpose of punishing those who do what is wrong’ Now I suspect someone here is saying, ‘You don’t understand, pastor M; my boss is from hell; he’s the farthest thing from being God’s servant that you’ve ever seen!’ But I want you to realize the context of the people Paul was writing to. The Christians in Rome along with all the Jews, were expelled from Rome no less than 3 times in Paul’s lifetime, turning them into IDPs! But the worst was yet to come. Within several years of the writing of this letter, one of the worst persecutions of Christians would begin under the emperor Nero, who would falsely accuse the Christians of burning Rome. They would be thrown to the lions for public entertainment, and burnt as human torches. Paul was not speaking about godly rulers. And yet he still calls them ‘God’s servants’!

Now granted, we live in very different times. Unlike when Paul wrote, our national leaders are elected, and we can vote out of office if they don’t perform. Our police slogan ‘utumishi kwa wote’ symbolizes this democratic idea – that those in authority are public servants. But I believe this passage teaches us that before they are our servants, they are first & foremost God’s servants! Whether they acknowledge it or not, all officials in authority over us have the God-appointed task of doing good to those they govern, and judging those who do evil. God Himself will hold them accountable for being good or evil leaders. We may choose to disagree with them, we may vote against them, we may pursue legal means to get them out of office if they’re doing a bad job… but we should never disrespect them!

It’s little wonder that many good people in our nation would never run for political office.  In this country, we have such suspicion of our national leaders that it’s hardly any surprise that all of them live up to our negative expectations! Our culture of suspicion means our leaders will always be our enemy, no matter whom we elect. Instead, we need to realize that our honor allows our leaders to carry out their God-given mandate for which God will hold them accountable!

3.   It Frees Us To Enjoy Our Blessing

v.5 ‘So you must submit to them, not only to avoid punishment, but also to keep a clear conscience.’ Many times those who are always critical of others have issues with themselves. As a result, they can never appreciate what others are doing right. This leaves them in a miserable state unable to enjoy what they have!

I remember talking with a Kenyan who was visiting the country after many years away in the US. When I asked him what he thought, his biggest surprise was that things were working so well. He said reading the newspapers over the years had given him the impression that things were actually much worse off than in the days of the previous regime. Coming back had been a pleasant shock as he found things were far better here than he could have imagined! He shared with me that many of his friends back in the US had sworn never to return because of the impression they have of Kenya as a violent and corrupt country.

Now granted we’re far from perfect; but let me tell you what nobody else is saying loudly enough… We are truly a blessed nation – we have many natural resources, and are economically the powerhouse in this region. Talk to many who visit us from other African countries and they’ll tell you Kenya is a paradise and a land of opportunity. Talk to many expatriates living here… some of them may even refer to Kenya as a ‘cesspool of corruption’, but when they finish their contracts, they find a pretext to settle down here, because they love living in Kenya! They know that this is a land of promise!

In a different FB survey this week, I asked people, ‘what’s the thing that makes you proudest to be a Kenyan?’ Some said the Kenyan spirit. Kenyans are hardworking, creative, and resilient. They are extremely friendly and hospitable (I used to hear foreigners say this & take it for granted until I started to travel!) Others talked about our beautiful country and its amazing diversity of landscapes from mountains, to beaches to lakes to deserts. The famous wildlife… And did you know Nairobi has the best weather in the world? Let me share a few other facts about Kenya that might surprise you (if not Kenyan please indulge me)

  • Africa’s first successful micro-finance solution was engineered right here – KREP Bank. One of our local banks (Equity) has won numerous global awards as best microfinance bank in Africa and most sustainable microfinance bank in Africa & the Middle East [IFC Fetes Equity in Global Ranking Awards]
  • Kenya is the home of world class innovation – for example the MPESA mobile money transfer system is an amazing phenomenon that has been studied by nations across the world.
  • Kenya is the only African country (other than SA & the oil rich Northern Africa states) to survive 11 years without IMF aid
  • Of course Kenya is home to the first female African parliamentarian Nobel laureate, Wangari Maathai who passed away this year and left an amazing legacy!
  • Kenyan has the best tea in the world – period! Posh international teas basically blend Kenyan tea with inferior teas from other countries! And, Kenyan coffee is also the best in the world!
  • And this one goes without saying; our domination of athletics is beyond belief!
  • We were third globally in the World Athletics Championships in Daegu with 17 medals compared to Russia’s 19 and the US 25. But this was achieved by a small team of 46 athletes compared to the huge US team of 155 & the Russian one of 73. Despite a comparatively meager budget, we are per capita the global athletics powerhouse!
  • This September in Berlin, Patrick Makau broke Haile Gebresalasies marathon world record by 21 seconds. What you might not know is that 3 other Kenyans have broken that record this year! William Kipsang who won the Frankfurt marathon last month was just 4 seconds slower; and it was raining! And Geofrey Mutai & Moses Mosop who came 1st & 2nd in the Boston marathon both ran the fastest times ever (36 & 32 seconds faster than the world record!) but the record was not awarded because of wind assistance. I’d hate to be a Kenyan Olympics selector… they can only pick 3 for the marathon and already have 5 who would be the top runner in any other nation’s Olympic team!
  • Of the 7 largest marathons in the world this year, Kenyan men have won 6 golds and Kenyan women 5!

With all these blessings, its time for us to stop cursing our country every time we speak. I believe that as a result of our negative attitude, the glass is always half-empty, and we rarely enjoy or appreciate the many blessings God has given us. Is it a wonder when we are small in our own eyes that we become small in the eyes of others as well?

I am in no way defending the practices of corrupt national leaders, of abusive fathers and husbands, of arrogant employers and teachers or of pastors who abuse their spiritual authority. Indeed when they command us to go against what God says we need to say (respectfully) like the apostles in Acts 4, ‘judge for yourselves whether it is right in God’s eyes to listen to you rather than to God’. Because there is a hierarchy of authority and God always comes first. When you dishonor your leaders, you dishonor yourself! When I dishonor my national leaders, I discredit my country in the eyes of others. When I dishonor my father, I demean my family in the eyes of others. When I dishonor my boss, I devalue my career in the eyes of others (what kind of person would work for a boss like that?). When I dishonor my spiritual authorities, I demean my faith in the eyes of others. But the opposite is also true. ‘When I Honor My Leaders, I Honor Myself’!

The 5th commandment says, ‘honor your father and your mother so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving to you’… You see, it’s possible to have a blessing (land) and yet not enjoy or possess that blessing (live long in the land the Lord has given) because of your dishonor of those in authority over you (parents). The spiritual principle is that submission doesn’t make me lesser… honoring my authorities results in my dignity! ‘When I Honor My Leaders, I Honor Myself’!

As a young leader, I often prayed this prayer for myself, ‘Lord, give me spiritual authority’. I wanted to have authority like Paul so that when I spoke, even demons took notice! But I have come to realize that a significant factor to my being a person of authority is my honoring those the Lord has placed in authority over me. And that friends, is the route to enjoying God’s blessings.

This is the route Jesus himself took. Phil.2:6f tells us that ‘even though he was in nature God, he did not consider equality with God something to be grasped but he… (took) the very nature of a servant’ – and as He honored His Father, the bible tells us ‘therefore God exalted Him to the highest place, and gave Him the name that is above every name’. This is counter-cultural. It goes against everything our modern culture has taught us. ‘When I Honor My Leaders, I Honor Myself’! And I become exalted; if not by them, then by God Himself.

PRAY FOR

People with authority issues – I have torn down my country or my national leaders, I have been difficult to lead and even proud of it!

{Follow us on Twitter or Facebook, let’s discuss}

27 Responses to “Enemy Of The State”

  1. I have never felt spoken to at a sermon like I did on Saturday evening during the first sermon on the series ‘Haters no more’. I had just had ended my working week on a sour note with some of my bosses at the office and it had started affecting my attitude towards work and some particular people in authority. I woke up on Saturday with pent up feelings of so much anger ; I had also started entertaining thoughts of quitting my job. When Pastor M was ending the sermon I had this strange feeling because I felt as though he was talking to me particularly when he mentioned authority at the work place because it was exactly what I was going through at that moment. I had expected the sermon to be on political leadership but it evolved to include leadership in all spheres. I felt better after standing up to be prayed for and hope that God changes my attitude towards authority and guides me in my relationship with those in authority. I am certainly not hurting as much as I was when the week ended and will trust God to see me through the coming week. I look forward to seeing how the rest of the sermon series pans out and know for sure that I will be blessed. I love Mavuno church.

    Like

  2. i felt like the guy in the mulika mwizi advert… it is like Pastor Linda was talking to me!! i have not really come to the place of respecting my schools authority. on a human note, the state of the public university is not that well of. however for the longest time i have not played my part of giving the due respect to the lecturers. i was really challenged by this… i walked away from church with a lot to think about and some reforms to do.
    thanks for keeping it real and helping us transform

    Like

  3. It will be an interesting series. My opinion is that leaders reflect the society. I am just as greedy and self centered as they are. I think this series is reminding me the position of leaders in God’s eyes and how God deals with them and uses them

    Like

  4. The sermon today by Pastor M, really invigorated my spirit and I can honestly say am proud to be a Kenyan. I lived in America for fourteen years and believe me nothing beats being back home. Most people have to realize that its not only “gravy” there. Alot of Kenyans have expired visas, leaving a life of entrapment cause they know that if they leave they cannot come back. The media has convinced them that coming back home is a “no no”, but I hope with our prayers and the grace of God they can realize that there is alot of hope in this beloved country. Wakenya wetu, turudi nyumbani, your lovely country awaits you.
    Thanks Pastor M, Mungu akubariki.

    Like

  5. I am one month old in mavuno and i cant get enough of your sermons,you deal with real life issues that has affected me in one way or the other.

    All my life i have been enclosed in this shell of inconfidence,always caring what pple think of me,i just want to be perfect,to help out where i can and even go an extra mile to do things that are beyond me.,am like a small ‘god’ where friends run to when they have problems,am a good listener and i give advice.,but now i want to get out of my shell,to enjoy life not caring what people think,to gain confidence and be able to bring out what is inside me.i want God to change my heart of stone so that i can be able to love myself ,to read the bible and pray.

    I want to be true to myself ,God and people around.
    I WANT TO KNOW MY PURPOSE.
    Pray for me.

    Like

  6. Edward Kobuthi Says:

    Todays’ sermon only confirms what many people know but are not sure. In addition to the many accolades and firsts kenya has, Kenya has about the best climate in the world. We do not need to struggle with clothing, any thing is good enough, even during the hotest seasons people still don ties and jackets and it is brearable, Try Siberia or even Australia during the summer. At the other end when it is cold ordinary clothes will do, again try this in Europe or even the southern hemisphere. You will freeze to death. Kenya is also one of the few countries in the world where you can communicate with any other part of the world during our waking hours. At about 2 to 3 pm you can talk to the US. In the morning you can talk to our counterparts in the East. At about 9 to 11 you can talk to most countries in Europe and they will be awake and in the office.
    Kenya ( Nairobi) is one of the few places on earth where you can fly to most other destinations within the limits of the day and night. let me explain. From Nairobi to Joburg you need about 4 hours. From Nairobi to Cairo / Dubai/ Tunisia/ Jeddah etc you need about 4-5 hours. From Nairobi to West Africa ( Naigeria/ Ghana etc) you need about 4- 5 hours. All these fit in the day either in the morning or afternoon.
    From Nairobi to Europe; London, Amsterdam, Rome, Frankfurt, Paris etc you need about 8 hours. The flight time and the time needed from your house to the airport and from your destination to your final desination fits within the 12 hour day dividing iteself very logically. If you have connecting flights you could leave Nairobi in the evening and arrive in Europe the morning ready for your next flight.
    Test this, it will take you about 12 to 13 hours to fly from Joburg to Perth Aurstralia. Adding time from your house/ hotel and then to your final destinatiion in Perth you will be looking at 16 to 18 hours, not quite a day but a day and a portion of the night.

    Becouse of our colonial legacy we can communicate in English with more than half of the 7 billion inhabitants of mother earth. While our road network is not the best we can reach most of the corners of our country.

    We have almost 20 million subscribers of our varoius networks meaning we can comminicate with almost half of all Kenyans.

    We are not only centrally located we also have a sea shore.

    God placed us hear purposely to be not just an airport hub but spoke and hub for his kingdom, to reach other peole but also facilitate reaching other people through the very central position God placed us.
    Regards

    Kobuthi

    Like

  7. Hi, It would be a great idea if you can do Mizizi. The next season starts in Jan. Mizizi helps you connect with God, People and Your Purpose. SK

    Like

  8. Great sermon series Pastor M; realizing that when we dishonour and disrespect our leaders we do so to ourselves. When we are small in our eyes we are small in the eyes of the world; that is a timeless truth. Having grasped that I still find myself in a quandary similar to that of the early Christians under Nero whom Paul was exhorting in Romans 13 – with respect to the City Council of Nairobi (stories and eyewitness accounts abound) yes they are in authority over our city but honestly respecting and honouring them is hard; its a challenge. I’m looking forward to the rest of this sermon series and the work that God is doing in my life as learn and (most importantly apply ) the word – even with respect to CCN.

    God bless and watch over you Pastor M

    P.K

    Like

  9. Yaani, we were glad we went to MDT yesterday and got this sermon by Pastor Linda. First it was well executed. The sermon was sort of like a confirmation or a culmination of the past few weeks. I ahd applied for a job that required a public interview. As everyone knows, people apply for jobs quietly and when they have signed their new contracts, that’s when they inform their current employers. As soon as I was shortlisted , my employer knew through the press. The two weeks before the interview were the most tension packed weeks in my work life. There was definitely a noticable change of attitude towards me by my superiors. However, I felt that this was worth the risk as I have a passion to move into public service. In short, I felt really sidelined for that period and today, I just do my work knowing i have been mulikwad.

    At the homefront, the weekend before the sermon ,my beloved wife mentioend to me that she would like to look for her father. For her to reach that point, is a long story, but all I can say is that the Spirit of God was definitely working in her and the sermon just confirmed some of these things for us.

    The day before the sermon, we went out of town for an extended lunch with a close couple friend of ours. We usually find ourselves discussing our marriages, in a peer review type of way and a lot of issues are resolved between couples and we learn from each other. That day we had deep conversations on the leadership of the husband, with our wives piercing deep when they gave instances where they have felt that we have “abused” our leadership. It was also good to reflect on how we lead and we could also see the positive efefcts of a Bible study that our wives are doing on “Marriage Wihtout Regrets”.

    On the political front, which is my area of work, I found a lot of value in Pastor Linda’s sermon. If this message can be passed on widely, we could see a change in the kind of leaders we elect.

    Keep up the good work Mavuno. God is using you to change and transform lives.

    Like

  10. Disillusioned Says:

    He! I have issues with that sermon! And watching The Untouchables on KTN didnt help either. Is there a way to hold leaders accountable without seeming disrespectful? Were our Mau Mau freedom fighters sinful to take on our colonial masters? Were the colonial masters God Given Authority? Gaddafi,Mugabe, Saddam….Is Africa Immune to God dealing with dictators? Many still enjoy great life even at the expense of many cruel things they have done. Im bitter that we can be asked to still honour those who commit such atrocities. I feel like we promote psychophancy.Especially since religion was used to pacify africans when colonialists came in and took over.I hope this is not something similar that makes us more tolerant because of our religious views .Something doesnt add up for me. I want to hold leaders accountable and I think bad people should suffer for their misdeeds.

    Like

    • chris mwendwa Says:

      Disillusioned makes a few valid points.

      Like

    • @ Disillusioned i feel you on that one,and i get just as infuriated when i think of how much further we would have gotten if it were’nt for the colonialists and the dictators that followed them. i have been warned over and again to be careful not to be caught in the snare of 21st century slavery, where our minds are so imprisoned by the ruthlessness of injustices of the past and the current that we are unable to develop solutions.

      i guess its often hard to reconcile what the bible tell us and what we see happening. But remember that the colonialists used religion to replace our culture, and in Wangari Maathai’s words, religion in as good as it was, was not wisdom. we need to use what is available to us, including the word, to reclaim the wisdom that informed our forefathers to conserve the environment and live peacefully with their leaders and also create systems that worked for everyone in society.

      Like

  11. I am glad I attended church yesterday because I was blessed by the sermon. Yeah, we Kenyans complain ALOT and of late even watching the news has become draining because its bad news after bad news etc. Doesn’t anything good happen around here???? That’s exactly what I’ve been wondering.

    So for this week, I choose to be positive. Not to be ignorant about current situations, but to also highlight the good. Because, of course, there’s some good. Enough whining already 🙂

    Its gonna be an interesting and eye-opening series! Looking forward to the rest of it. Pastor M. you’re on point here 🙂

    Like

  12. I did not listen to the sermon but really appreciate the sentiments expressed in that sermon. We are a nation of haters. We are a nation of pessimists and we are a nation that revels in seeing what is wrong in others.

    I confess, I am one of those who need to repent and start speaking good things into this country. I need to start speaking good things into our leaders in all spheres and start appreciating that we are on a journey and it may take us 40 years in the wilderness but we will get there.

    I am reminded of the story of Caleb, Joshua & the other ten spies. After many years wandering in the wilderness, they were sent to scout the land and bring back a report for the others. Moses and the rest were no doubt waiting for a report of hope. When they came back, they told stories of giants in the land, powerful armies, of fortified cities and confessed that they were like grasshoppers in their sight. They spread the message so well, the whole land believed it and were afraid to go in and possess their inheritance. Two chose to be different. They saw the same armies but remembered their Lord had driven out greater armies before them with fewer people. They saw the land was occupied and chose to remember that the God who had fed them for 40 years, had given them the land. They saw the fruit of the land and noted that it took two men to carry one cluster of grapes and appreciated that the food in that land – it really created giants for it was good.

    Joshua and Caleb, then spoke a message of hope and reminded the Israelites’ that it was God…who would bring them into the land and enable them to occupy it. Likewise, Kenya in this year is on a brink of entering its promised land. Next year’s elections will determine whether we keep on the upward trajectory or disintegrate and embrace our painful past.

    We are being sent to scout out the land. And today we can choose to be either the ten spies or the two spies. We can choose to be with the majority “haters” or with the minority and be faithful warriors who will enjoy the fruit of the land. Let us not get ourselves kicked off the boat like the rest of the crew were. We need to get there and help the younger generation fight for the land they have been promised over so many years.

    Simama uhesabike! God bless you!

    Like

  13. I really loved the sermon.it was my first time to attend Mavuno and i can say it was beyond what i expected.God bless you all

    Like

  14. Miriam Mbinya Mutie Says:

    I love this sermon because personally, I respect authority and u hv gone ahead to show reason for. I hv enough questions but i wait for the series to mature its still young, coz there are enough issues to be tackled here.

    Like

  15. “With all these blessings, its time for us to stop cursing our country every time we speak. ” I read this excerpt and I loved this quote. If you are an avid social mediate, you will notice how most of the comments are negative especially regarding anything happening in Kenya.

    I am glad to see that there is a lot of biblical references to authority. I only wish as a people we could start working on the positive aspects of our country and I believe this will outweigh all the other bad things happening around us.

    I have had the privilege of travelling to various countries within the continent and I can honestly say that Kenya we are very far. You only need to go over the fence to appreciate what you had before.

    In addition, how about another first about our country, The MPESA transcations are now more than the global Western union transactions. I believe its only us who can dare to be different that will change how this country is run and perceived.

    Like

  16. Thanks for all the comments people. Much appreciated! Let’s keep talking. @Caroline, i echo @SK’s invitation to consider taking Mizizi in January as a great place to start your purpose quest. @disillusioned, sycophancy is absolutely NOT the agenda for this series! Religion can certainly be oppressive but biblical faith (I differentiate the two) is what fueled the resistance to oppression in the US civil rights movement and in many other countries across the world. We must hold leaders accountable. AND in the process we must honor those in authority. Please keep coming this month and hopefully, something will add up!

    Like

  17. Thank you so much for the sermon. Got me thinking of how we hoot at the police when they keep us in traffic for a long time! Some things are very hard to do! I mean HOW…can one honor an MP who punches walls…climbs walls,says WHATEVER he wants, wears WHATEVER he feels like to parliament in the name of representing the youth! AAARRG…more so gives out money to the vulnerable WITHOUT providing long-term solutions to their problems… AAAAIIIII… it’s not easy at all, but God knows. May He give us the strength to honor and respect all leaders, and give us wisdom to step up and be a solution. AMEN

    Like

  18. I have a friend who runs a blog and updates it regularly with positive news out of Kenya.
    The blog http://www.pluskenya.blogspot.com/

    We sure have a long way to go but we ought to be proud and thankful for thus far the Lord has brought us 🙂

    Like

  19. Administrator Says:

    I need help. How do I start the journey of loving and honouring people whom I have hated for so long? How to maintain my cool because they will be in the news again annoying more, breaking the trust again. HELP!

    Like

  20. Enemy of the state, wow!! i never got the chance to attend this weekend’s sermon but thank God for the beautiful thing that is the internet and the amazing thing that is my lovely life group. as we discussed this week’s sermon, a whole lot was brought alive that i has learned before. that i should honor my leaders an those in authority. i had quickly forgotten all that. so i badly needed a reminder as i had perfected my “politician hating skills”- i tell you that one sight of mike sonko on T.V literally made me sick to my stomach. Because i understood the social contract, i always wondered how it is that things changed to the political leaders having in abundance and the rest of us grappling and this made me hate them terribly. all i kept thinking was, Kenyans work so so hard, we have no choice but to work hard. then after a long day i turn on the T.V and 60% of what they have to show is my MP’s latest shenanigans. it all felt so unfair, i keep wondering who is fighting in our corner?

    then yesterday it hit me, the Israelites wanted a King and in as much God told them of the ills, he did not force his will on them and let it be, and went ahead to appoint their leaders. the same goes for us. we elected leaders and God blessed our choice by blessing the leaders we have. and just like Paul tells us in 1Timothy2:1-6 our job now is to pray for our leaders, so much so that their hearts may turn to God, that we may lead good and peaceful lives. if you think about it, its all we really want, a good life.

    but in all the hating i realize that i have focused on the wrong things. there’s a lot to be done for the progress of my country and has been left undone, unattended and deteriorating by the generations of Kenyans before me and with me, while we complained more than we cared for the nation. A reminder to all of us, our businesses and 8-5 jobs are not enough to heal and grow our country. we need to do more!!!

    Like

  21. Edward Kobuthi Says:

    We need to respect authority and honour those placed in such places and they are many, even us fathers are such.
    We have many good people who excecute thier God given responsibility with decorum.

    When and how should we oppose or speak out against injustice, corruption acts and other vices and still honour the same “leaders’ propagating these.
    These ” leaders” would not welcome an honest talk unlike King David who was confronted by Prophet Nathan.

    Those of us who witnessed former president Mois rule are all too aware of the many astrocitities that were committed obviosly with his instructions and even with his knowledge. Does that justify the weird send off he received during the handing over and swearing in ceremony in January 2003 ( or was it December 2002). We also know what he did to this country crippling virtually all institutions inn the country.

    Are the current uprising in the Arabian world ( I know they are not Christians) justified or should they just continue honouring thier leaders) sit and wait until God takes these tyrants and dictators away.

    Examples abound of what has happened to those speak against injustices. What would we call the Late Prof. Wangari Mathai. Disobedient and lacked respect for authority!
    Kobuthi

    Like

  22. Thank you for an inspiring and revealing sermon Pastor M. Our Kenya is indeed a beautiful blessed country and its people are perhaps its greatest asset. You were right to state that leaders are ordained by God. However for this universal truth to be absolute those leaders ought to have acquired leadership through fair& correct methods. That is the caveat! In a democracy they must be popularly elected and many of us are gratified to note that the African Continent has democratized well in the last two decades. Military coup d’état are a thing of the past and even those who got power through the barrel of the gun like Moummar Gaddafi have been ignonimously ousted. Dictators Idi Amin, Mobutu Sese Seko; Emperors Haile Selassie and Jean Bedel Bokassa are now history as are kleptomaniacs Omar Bongo and Hosni Mubarak. Apartheid was defeated in South Africa and interesting occurrences are taking place in the Arab Spring. Africa can no longer be termed a “dark continent” as it has truly and literally seen the light.
    The circumstances surrounding the 2007 General Election in Kenya remain deeply disturbing to many of us. The Commission on Electoral violence in Kenya declared that “it was impossible to determine the winner of the Presidential election in 2007”. That being so a Coalition Government was formed by the two protagonists. Whether it has worked well will be determined by history, but thankfully peace and economic stability have been maintained. To many of us though it was a deeply flawed election and either one of the protagonists “stole the election or the other usurped power.” Regrettably this matter may never ever be conclusively settled. To add insult to injury each protagonist had their own set of candidates for Parliamentary seats who won election in designated areas through pure party euphoria and certainly not through competence.
    In a nutshell Kenya currently has a “rogue Parliament” and two Principals both of whose electoral victories remain doubtful. As a Christian believer aligned to the truth; the light and God it is extremely challenging for me to see God’s hand on these leaders short of us conclusively deciding the electoral dispute! I clearly see Gods’ hand in pulling Kenya from the brink of civil war and in the prevailing situation of peace and stability but find it hard to accept the joint leadership when it is clear to me either one of them is a fraud! It is even harder to accept the crony MP’s whose sole claim to fame is being aligned to a Party or a leader. Perhaps I am myopic yet I am convinced there are many like minded citizens in Kenya. Justice Kriegler an intelligent and highly perceptive man was not insane to state that it “was impossible to tell who the election winner was”. He went further to state that the winner in a Parliamentary seat in Kirinyaga was actually the loser amongst others! Don’t you think that you are stretching my faith a mite too far to ask me to honour such leaders?
    It is a universal fact that this diabolical situation could only have been settled by fresh Parliamentary and Presidential elections. This however was not possible as the country was highly charged at the brink of civil war. Our electoral institutions had collapsed and the competence or impartiality of our judiciary was in doubt. Our security machinery had been stretched to the limit. Therefore as a stop gap measure and vote for peace we opted for a Coalition Government. We chose between the devil and the deep blue sea. I respectfully vote to leave God out of it, but undertake to respect Gods’ ordained after a free and fair General Election in 2012. For the moment I remain an outsider watching from a respectable distance. I do not hate them as hate has a habit of eating into the vessel that carries it. I am just indifferent to their actions. Be blessed.

    Like

  23. ADDENDUM
    Every Election Petition regarding the 2007 polls that has thus far been concluded by the High Court been successful. This 100% per cent success rate is unprecedented in Kenya. I have practised law for Thirty-One (31)years and we have never seen and may never again see such a high incidence of Electoral Petition Success. It goes to prove that the elections were not free and fair and a high number of our current leaders ought not to be in office. We could have had many more petitions if our Courts were more efficient. Many contestants consider it an expensive exercise in futility. As matters currently stand several petitions have not been concluded and the next general election is a few months away!

    Like

  24. Thanks you very much pastor M for the sermon on enemy of the state. we appreciate the entire Mavuno team for making it possible for all to hear /watch and read the sermons each week.

    What comes to mind as i read the blog is Isaiah 60. Please read this.

    It touches on the 3rd reason why we should honor those in authority…… It frees us to enjoy our blessing… totally resonates with the verses 17-18.

    Kenyas let us claim God’s promises and blessings for our Nation Kenya. Pastor M has highlighted some of the blessings God has blessed Kenya with.

    As Christians we should recognize God as sovereign authority (above all other)and living in his perfect will is ultimately honoring authority.

    Believe Isaiah 60 is Kenyas word from God.

    Like

Comments are closed.

