Take Two

There is a significant event happening next weekend on April 29; Prince William weds Kate Middleton. A number of heads of state are likely to attend the ceremony in line with previous royal weddings. To be invited to participate in an event is a powerful thing. It immediately conveys a certain significance on a person based on who it is that is giving the invitation.

The resurrection is the most spectacular event in the Christian calendar. It is the event in which God demonstrated his power over death. Let’s see who Jesus invited to the resurrection event.

Read Mark 16: 1-20

To be honest with you I find it a little strange that out of the possible choices Jesus first appears to Mary Magdalene from whom he had cast out seven demons. Whether she was tormented as a result of her own choices or some other reason,  Jesus forgave her and took her into the inner circle of the women who traveled with him without discriminating on the basis of her past. Not only that, he selected her to be the first witness to his resurrection. In church tradition she came to be known as the apostle to the apostles. Imagine how Mary Magdalene understood Jesus mercy.

The reason we don’t understand that God offers us a second chance is because we see the exact opposite in the world all around us. What would it look like if we understood that Jesus invites imperfect people with issues to advance his cause? It is the Easter experience that determines the identity of the church and how we should see ourselves.  What I see is that the identity of the church is that we are the people of the second chance. Grace overturns the stereotypes of what you can become.

WE ARE THE PEOPLE OF THE SECOND CHANCE

Luke 22:31 Jesus said to Peter: Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers. But Lord, he replied I am ready to go with you to prison and to death. Jesus answered I tell you Peter, before the rooster crows today, you will deny three times that you know me.

  1. Some of us need to give ourselves a second chance
  2. God’s word always presents the good news of Grace before getting into any type of behavioral modification. I am accepted by God and it does not have anything to do with me.

Others of us have never given their life to Christ. You have been skeptical of this whole deal. Perhaps you have never had it explained in a way you could understand. Or you have just never thought that church was for someone like you. But today I want to give you the opportunity to make Christ your Lord and savior.

Say this prayer:

Dear God in heaven, I acknowledge to You that I am a sinner, and I am sorry for my sins and the life that I have lived; I need your forgiveness. I believe that your son Jesus shed His precious blood on the cross at Calvary and died for my sins. I am now willing to turn from my sin. You said in Your Word that if we confess the Lord our God and believe in our hearts that God raised Jesus from the dead, we shall be saved. Romans 10:9 Right now I confess Jesus as the Lord of my soul. This very moment I accept Jesus Christ as my own personal Savior. Thank you Jesus for your unlimited grace which has saved me from my sins. Lord Jesus transform my life so that I may bring glory and honor to you alone.Thank you Jesus for dying for me and giving me eternal life. AMEN

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/22804227]

11 Responses to “Take Two”

  1. Pastor Linda, this month’s series and today’s message was truly uplifting and thought provoking. I have some clear action points which I have gathered over the weeks. Great job and may God’s name be glorified for allowing yourself to be used of him.

    I was however disturbed by your funny story on the minor accident this week. I, like many others was tickled by the humourous twist you injected in it. My concern was mainly on the insinuation that the man driving the Range Rover did not get it from God as you did your Toyota. He may have been rude not to have responded to you but I don’t believe it warranted the way he got his picture painted. Seeing as he didn’t say a word, all the humourous thoughts that you put across that were possibly going through his mind were of your making. What if he was seated at that service listening to you? What would he have gone away thinking? True, on the day he dies his body will be buried without whatever worldly possesions he has, not even his Range Rover. And that holds true for all Toyota, Nissan and Maruti owners as well.

    Like

  2. Gerh Allan Says:

    I wasn’t around to attend service but thanks for the technology i gat the sermon.

    Like

  3. F.r.u.s.t.r.a.t.e.d Says:

    It seems like every week, this month, Pastor L has mentioned people who are disappointed, disillusioned or even mad at God; but never ideas on how to get past this.

    The worst thing is feeling guilty for being so mad at God, that the only prayer I can stand to pray is the Lords prayer every night. Mostly because I am sick and tired of crying my eyes out, pleading with Him for help, or raising my hands for prayer ONE.MORE.TIME! Give me strength! But no visible answer or solution.

    Job was angry, and questioned God:- Job6:8 “Why wont God give me what I ask? Why wont he answer my prayer?” Now, I get that I’m no-way near as good a person as Job was, but am still mad at God, and don’t know how to get over it.

    Ideas?

    Like

  4. A sinner Says:

    Hi, there is a church in Jerusalem called the church of condemnation. That is how this sermon felt like. O.k, the message is supposed to make me who was a former sinner to feel like Mary Magdalene but somehow t was peppered with comments that somehow told us we are not good enough. …as in remember who you really are.

    As far as the East is from the West, that is how far my sins are from me since God rescued me. So when our own pastor is the one listing for us all the things that we did, It did not fell quite right.

    During the sermon and after the sermon, my heart just cried to God for reassurance that I am really forgiven and that I do belong to Him for real. I needed a hug from from Jesus…’Nebebe, nibembeleze’

    I pray that our leaders have true and genuine love.

    Like

  5. i used to get mad at God,but He told me its ok cz He put those emotions in me,but taught to trust Him enough to run to Him and cry my tears of anger n frustration in His loving arms. i was in 8 accidents,carjacked,almost raped,abandoned by the father of my two sons…..yes a got real angry….then the Holy Spirit our comforter showed me that am still here in God’s glorious plan for my life……get angry but run to Daddy, He loves you so very much n is angrier when you are harmed in any way.

    Like

  6. frustrated will try Says:

    thanks cathy. makes sense. will give it a try

    Like

  7. Transformer Says:

    We cant really blame Christ for what we are going through the same could have happened in t he cross if Christ Blamed us for Dying. Life will have its turns but how we manage it and cope with it is the difference we have over Satan – Job was in a more worse situation but how he coped with it provided the difference.

    Its easier said and i might not be in a tight situation at the moment.But what i know is that Christ has to come through for you. He already did it in Calvary.

    Like

  8. TRULLY A GOD OF MANY MANY CHANCES.
    His grace and mercy have brought me through.

    Like

  9. i fully believe that to get their summons right,pastors need to model them after Jesus’ life here on earth.it’s heart rending when we have to entertain people with God’s word or condemn. did Jesus do any of that during His lifetime?

    Like

  10. We are hopeless by ourselves without Christ, and that includes the preeching pastor as well. She did not omit herself from the ‘in-need-of-a-savior-&-nothing-without-Christ’ list. I doubt she was condeming.

    Like

Comments are closed.

