Get Connected

March series flier
Ever felt stuck and in need of getting some outside help? Ever felt like your effort at work, in a relationship, in life and in your Christian walk is far from enough? Ever felt overrun, overwhelmed, beaten down, pushed around and defeated? I guess we all have. There is a story in the bible that speaks into our situations of powerlessness.

Read Exodus 17:8-15

Notice the following:

  1. Israel was in trouble; the Amalekites outmatched them. (You are in trouble whether you know it or not. Life is a series of battles)
  2. Moses went up the hill to get connected and unleash the power – as Joshua fights on. He knew that firepower was not enough. (You have a powerful weapon in your hands)
  3. The Lord showed up and brought the victory! (The Lord is our Banner of Victory!)

The one message of this text is this: Pray to Connect, Unleash the Power!

Pray to Connect – Prayer is like plugging in to a power source. Your flat-screen TV or iPad will not work until you connect it to a power source. Prayer is an invitation to hang out with our Father, God. It is a privilege, a conversation with the Boss of the universe. It meets the most basic of human needs, a need to connect with the higher power. Prayer is the way to build relationship with the source of the Supernatural.

Like every other relationship, it will have lows and highs. But you don’t run from a relationship because things are not working, you make it work. God is always waiting to listen to our concerns and complications. To speak into our darkness and to encourage us in our weaknesses. To enjoy our presence and wipe away our insecurities. Deep in your heart, you crave for a connection with God. You need God – whether you feel neglected or not, he is still your best bet. Thomas Merton puts it this way: Prayer is an expression of who we are … We are a living incompleteness. We are a gap, an emptiness that calls for fulfillment.

Many times we try harder, work smarter, push more, fight fiercer and blame everyone. There is a better option, go hang out with the Most Powerful. Do not be too busy to seek for power. Unleash your secret weapon of prayer. You have got the power, but you need to unleash it through prayer. As long as Moses hands were lifted up, Joshua was winning. When we pray, God shows up and there is a showdown.

Unleash the Power!

God gave man the stewardship or management of earth. This is your territory. He waits for you invite him to work with you. Without God, you can’t; but without you God won’t! God wont do a whole lot of things if we do not ask. He is honored as a father if we partner with him. He will intervene once in a while even without our asking, but that is the exception.

There is a lot more you can do with God at the place of prayer than you can do by yourself. Why struggle all by yourself when you can partner with the source of all strength and power? When you work, you work. When you pray, God works with you.

Prayer is partnering with God to unleash the power that we so desperately need. Prayer avails the power of heaven. It is inviting kingdom power, laying a red carpet for the heavenly dignitary. Prayer opens up the highway for miracles, interventions, power encounters, transformation, change, action and invasion.

Pray to Connect, Unleash the Power!

The bible has powerful testimonies: A powerless Esther and a few women prayed and an entire plan of genocide was reversed. In Acts 12, the church turned to prayer to get Peter out of prison where he was waiting for execution. An angel came down, staged a prison-break and got the 16 guards executed by their boss. Elijah prayed and closed the heavens for 3.5 years. Then he prayed again and it flooded.

Pray to Connect, Unleash the Power!

The ABCs of prayer:

  1. Always start from where you are. You do not need to be Pst Linda, just pray in the best way you know how. You don’t have to pray in a certain way for God to hear. Set aside the 10, 20 or 30 minutes for a time with God daily.
  2. Be absolutely honest – come to God the way you are, don’t try and put on airs for him. Tell him what you feel about him and prayer. Express yourself to him and just talk. He will listen to you. He is waiting to connect with you as your Dad.
  3. Continue with the conversation throughout the day. You may need to keep at it. Don’t quit. Even when you don’t feel him, keep praying. You either pray and win or live the cycle of defeat. Prayer is your indispensable secret weapon.

What would happen if we all took up the invitation to prayer seriously, and despite our earlier experiences gave it a chance? I think we would begin to hear more stories of victorious living – transformation, healing, restorations at home, breakthroughs at work, successful relationships, wisdom in decisions and success in business.

Pray to Connect, Unleash the Power!

What would happen if we all took up the invitation to prayer seriously, and despite our earlier experiences gave it a chance? I think we would begin to hear more stories of victorious living – transformation, healings, restorations at home, breakthroughs at work, successful relationships, wisdom in decisions and success in business.

Pray to Connect, Unleash the Power.

Let us make prayer a priority and see what God will do. What would you like to pray about this month? List 3 things in a piece of paper. Hand that in and we will pray with you. Commit to pray daily over these items. Let us see what God will do.

22 Responses to “Get Connected”

  1. Muthoni Mbae Says:

    Very powerful sermon. Loved it!

    Like

  2. Natasha Says:

    The sermon was super uplifting! Thank you Pastor S as I am so in that place. As you were introducing Mercy, yaani I felt you were talking about me. I am in that place where I am feeling helpless and powerless; I had a meltdown on Thursday. I was feeling so stressed out and sadly enough I did not know what to do. At this point, I am praying that God will give me strength to go push on yeah! I am looking forward to you hearing my testimony in this month i.e. to open doors for my business i.e. clients and ideas, financial breakthrough and wisdom and salvation for my sister.

    Like

  3. Maureen Says:

    Wonderful sermon Pastor Simon, it touched me deeply and was a great blessing to me. Thank you!!

    Like

  4. Tabasamu:) Says:

    wonderful and timely, i was actually wondering what to do about my prayer life… i didn’t even have the psyche to do the praying… now am glad cause at least the psyche is there and my prayer life is not going to die, at least not this month and hopefully at the end of it, i shall have the stamina and strength to go on…
    God Bless you 🙂

    Like

  5. Pastor S,
    Yesterdays sermon was amazing. I really needed that spiritual uplifting. I sometimes forget the basics, prayer and reading the word. I have resolved to make this work every day of my life, even when I don’t feel like it. I thank God for the good thing he is doing in Mavuno and the perfect balance in messages he brings to us through the Pastors.

    God bless you abundantly.

    Like

  6. very timely pastor S, am going through a very bad emotional stress. Lately I can’t even utter a word to God. I can only pray in my heart. I feel so low and hopeless. I need God to come through. I have a problem of getting angy at any given time for no appernt reason. I treat my fiancee harshly and I do not like it at all but I cant help it. I keep on doing the wrong thing over and over. I want us to be happy, his been very supportive and caring. I often get sharp chest & stomach pains. Its my prayer that I do not get heart attach at my tender age. Thanks for praying for us.

    Like

  7. Bless you

    Like

  8. unreserved Says:

    Does anyone else ever feel like an ‘Amalekite’ or one of the 16 guards who were executed? Like we are pawns in someone else’s story – and the answered prayer happens to them, and we are the ones who lost out? Sure we are crucial to the story, and God works out His plans and purposes – but the sole purpose of the Amalekite’s is to lose, so that the Isralites win. Anyone else feel like an Amalekite?
    Who ever thinks about Job’s wife? Her kids died, all her husband’s property was lost – they were probably out on the street. But Job was being tested, so she had to suffer right alongside with him – any wonder she told him to curse God and die? She probably just wanted it all to end!
    Does anyone else feel like an Amalekite? And no amount of ABC is going to change the situation?

    Like

    • Hi, I have felt like an Amalekite before, and am sure some of us depending on where we are we may feel like that. That may be the prevailing fact, but the truth is greater than fact. God is our banner of victory. Just like whenever Moses lifted up prayers to God the tide turned against the enemy, do not give up. Victory will be your story, and yes, prayer will make the difference. In prayer God gets to tear off the lies of the enemy and show us the truth: that we are of great value to him and we are his partners. Satans foremost strategy is to magnify the victories of evil and discourage us from wielding our secret weapon. Say no to that and soldier on. I will pray with you.

      Like

    • Kariuki C Says:

      i Would love to share this Think of a ship sailing across the Mediterranean Sea. While the passengers on the deck enjoy the view, below them are men expending great energy, toiling at the oars. That’s what it means to be a servant. You slave away hour after hour, day after day in order to get the people above you to their destination. The true servant says, “I want to get you to where you’re supposed to be – out of the slough of despondency, out of the place where you’re discouraged, confused, or damned eternally. I want to do whatever I can to get you to your destination.”

      “That sounds awful,” you say, “rowing day after day under the deck just to get someone else to his or her destination.”

      But here’s what you must remember: If the people on deck are headed to Maui, guess where you will end up? It’s true. If I’m helping someone else to have a better day, I arrive at the same port. If I’m helping someone overcome discouragement, I myself end up overcoming my own discouragement. If I’m helping someone else with their marriage, my own marriage grows stronger, richer, and deeper. If I’m helping someone else who is confused about the nature of the Father, as I row for them, my own understanding of the Father becomes so much clearer.

      This should not be surprising. After all, Jesus said, “Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again” (Luke 6:38).

      Next time you have a week where you feel physically, emotionally, spiritually, or mentally fatigued, here’s the key: Serve others. Talk to others. Pray with others. Maybe people will notice your labor of love on their behalf. But it may be that your work will take place under the deck where, out of sight, unnoticed by others, as a bondslave, you row faithfully to get them to their destination.

      Like

    • @ kariuki Says:

      Kariuki that was a deep revelation God bless you. Pastor S big ups.

      Like

  9. Bless your soul Pr S, i was so encouraged by the sermon. It couldn’t have come at a better time.

    Like

  10. Hi pstr s surely ur msg hs juz come on time, ave been trusting God for ajob been praying and ws giving up at times iws juz praying 4the sake and puting mst of the energy on my own(looking 4people who matter)ths ws my first item in the prayer reguest list u told us 2write and this month i just want God to work and gimme ajob plz join me in my prayers

    Like

  11. Kariuki C Says:

    Another Version of ABC’S TO Z for prayer..

    Although things are not perfect

    Because of trial or pain

    Continue in thanksgiving

    Do not begin to blame

    Even when the times are hard

    Fierce winds are bounds to blow

    God is forever able

    Hold on to what you know

    Imagine life without His love

    Joy would cease to be

    Keep thanking Him for all things

    Love imparts to thee

    Move out of “Camp Complaining”

    No weapon that is known

    On earth can yield the power

    Praise can do alone

    Quit looking at the future

    Redeem the time at hand

    Start everyday with worship

    To “thank” is a command

    Until we see Him coming

    Victoriously in the sky

    We’ll run the race with gratitude

    X-alting God most high

    Yes,there’ll be good times and yes some will be bad, but………….

    Zion waits in glory………where none are ever sad!!

    You’re too BLESSED TO BE STRESSED!

    The shortest distance between a problem and a solution

    is the distance between your knees and the floor.

    The one who kneels to the Lord can stand up to anything.
    Thanks Dad for such a powerful sermon on sunday.

    Blessings.

    Like

    • Your comments and teaching are very inspiring to the respondents and to all of us.Continue blogging,your labor in the Lord shall not be in vain.May God establish and ground your faith forever that as you say you may stand up to every test and storm.
      To my fellow believers-there is no substitute to praying for our Father’s intervention in every thing that concerns our lives.Prayer works-IT HAS WORKED FOR ME IN VERY STICKY CIRCUMSTANCES-i have a living ushuhuda-not hearsay. Let us all get connected

      Like

    • Pst Sophie Says:

      I love it! Good job@ Kariuki C …keep the poetry flowing.

      Like

  12. Hi, thanks Pst for the great sermon. God spoke to me in many ways. Now, on Sunday I was kinda down- nowadays that happens a lot coz everything that can dare to go wrong had done so. I stood up for prayer after the sermon pleading with God to provide rent. On Monday I got a call from someone who wanted me to do a small job that would meet that need. I thank God for His faithfulness. Am going through financial trials currently but I believe God is modeling me to handle extravagant blessings. It might sound funny but we discussed the matter with God- that I want to be a kingdom giver.This was before I lost my job after
    which I started a business. Thanks be to God who causes me to triumph in Christ.

    Like

  13. I found a Hiding place Says:

    Like

  14. The sermon was really powerful, this made me reflect on my prayer life and decided to create more time to pray. Few days after making this commitment i was issued with a job termination letter. I thank God for this sermon it’s so timely, i will not give up i am positive that God has bigger plans for me. I am not giving up, i will PRAY! PRAY AND PRAY.

    Like

  15. Esther Njoroge Says:

    Easy says,

    Pastor Simon you did yet again! I thank God for you and your family. I was a very scared and unsure person when I came to Church on Sunday. We were having some elections for our Sacco at my workplace that needed the Lord’s intervention after a week of campaigns etc. and I knew that our meeting was going to be stormy! After your sermon and your prayers for those who stood up, I knew that all will be well. I felt that I should not struggle with thinking of what is going to happen when you reminded us that we should not struggle all by ourselves when we can partner with the source of all strength and power? My testimony is that the Lord showed up and brought victory that was beyond any humans understanding. God is faithful and He will remain like that for all who trust in Him.

    Like

  16. miracle RECIEVER! Says:

    i am so happy about this sermon.
    at the end of the 1st Sunday’s sermon, pastor S prayed for people with ulcers & fibroids…i had fibroids and i just touched my stomach while he prayed without much faith. when i visited the doctor for an ultrasound(am 7months pregnant ) ,3 days later, all he saw was my baby kicking & developing well-NO TRACE of any fibroid!glory be 2 God!
    i have also being praying for my brother, who has been on and off school, to resume. he had registered for a course and 2weeks down the line, had not reported due to lack of fees, i PRAISE God again coz my dad got some money 4 the 1st installemnt & he started the course yesterday! its a 3year course & i belive God shall see him through.
    I PRAYED TO CONNECT, I RECEIVED THE POWER!

    Like

Comments are closed.

