Pursuit Of Happiness

Illusion: Pursue Happiness and you will be fulfilled.

People seek happiness;

  • In Money
  • In Spirituality
  • In Love

Money, spiritual sensitivity and love are all important elements of our lives. However their importance is over emphasized. The motive has become self and not God.

.

Illusion: Pursue happiness [through these things] and you will be fulfilled.Such is the drive in the media that the absence of these things is the primary fuel for ambition but this if not moderated by God’s Word can easily become discontented greed.

What is God’s perspective on this? What would God want me to pursue in order to find ultimate fulfillment?

Read 1 Timothy 6:6-11

6 But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8 But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. 9 People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction. 10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. 11 But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness.

.

Illusions Vs God’s Truth

1) You are the center of the universe – the basis and foundation of making your decision is self. You are the middle of it all. I want, I will.

  • The world is not yours. It is the Lords. Psalms 24:1
  • The world is oriented around God and not you. God defines the terms. Colossians 1:16:17-16
  • You are not the center of the universe. God is. He teaches us to pursue godliness. v6

.

2) You can do it by yourself – if I can try hard enough and work smart enough then I have what it takes within myself.

  • I cannot take full responsibility for the things in my life, whether they are the basic necessities or the frills v7.7
  • God is the giver of all good gifts. James 1:17

.

3) You are inherently good – you have all the goodness you need. You are great enough yourself. if you are looking for goodness then you need not look further than yourself.

  • There are traps, foolishness, harmful desires and grief out there. There is no inherent goodness. v9-10
  • We are not inherently good. We have issues. We may look good ans sometimes feel good but we are not good Romans 3:23, Isaiah 64:6

.

Application: What are you watching, is it beneficial? What are your kids watching, is it beneficial for them? Watch what you are serving as a media practitioner.

James 4:17

17 Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.

Philippians 4:8

8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.

.

Benediction: Public Commitment:

“Everything is permissible for me” – but not everything is beneficial.
I ask for God’s wisdom
To discern the truth
And avoid the lies in what I see and hear
I acknowledge I am not ok, I need You God
I choose to pursue godliness and your contentment which is great gain.
I choose to draw near to You and You will draw near to me
For yours is the Kingdom, the Power and the Glory
Forever and ever
Amen

Watch the archive of Sunday’s on-line LIVE stream here on Ustream.TV;

12 Responses to “Pursuit Of Happiness”

  1. Am in awe of our God! We are such a blessed people! I thank God for what He’s doing in mavuno. Our eyes are being opened veil by veil and am in awe!
    Pastor Kyama,superb delivery! That shirt….drove the message home! Our righteous acts are but filthy rags! We bless God for you…
    Thank you God for the TRUTH!

    Like

  2. Gr8 sermon series! Can’t wait 2 read thru my notes again. On a Tv fast this week… It’s hard but I’m gonna mayket for sho!!! God bless you Pastor Kyama.

    Like

  3. yvonne nyokabi Says:

    The whole sermon series has been so eye opening and I think it came to a beautiful ending. I agree with Njoki the whole shirt thing was woah!!! Also may I add that the worship team did a tremendous job this series and the songs have been so elaborate in ministering to my spirit and am sure to that of many others out there.
    Now comes the hard part, ACTION!!! I am called to obey and I pray that that which God has put out there for me to hear I shall react through obedience.obedience is better than sacrifice!!
    Can’t wait to hear pastor Linda this next season…;)

    Like

  4. I loved this sermon! I am now reminding myself everyday that this life is temporary and we shall find rest and fulfilment only in the next life and doing the good that I can in this one. Thanks Pastor Kyama.

    Like

  5. dota of zion Says:

    God bless you pst.Kiama.I have been taught and rebuked by the whole sermon series.

    I had not realized that i spent so much time on TV until i TV fasted after the first sermon. In those three weeks i have been able to read so many books that i had bought and piled in my house.i have also managed to extend my Qt and deal with some habits i did not know that i had.I will watch TV but will to filter what i listen to or watch.I will not be a slave to anything .

    Blessings Pst Kiama.

    Like

  6. Good one Pst. K. As you concluded on Sunday some of Jesus’ words kept ringing in my mind:

    Matthew 6:19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust [5] destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

    22 “The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, 23 but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!

    24 “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

    Luke 12:15 And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.”

    I’ve come to conclude that we are the one’s who complicate our own lives by failing to read,understand and live the word of God. ALL the answers are there. Yet we go to so many efforts to consult everyone and everything else and all other kinds of ‘self- help’ books, television,talk shows etc etc. Some of these materials are good but Jesus said to seek the Kingdom and the Kingdom’s principles,laws and guidance for life FIRST.

    Personally, I’ve made a firm decision to make God and God’s word the first authoritative guide to matters concerning life. I challenged myself recently to read the 4 gospels 7 times over (bila TV there’s enough time to do it 🙂 ), and my God! The wisdom in them!!! Jesus said it: ‘John 6:63 It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh is no help at all. *The words that I have spoken to you are SPIRIT and LIFE.*’

    LOL… It’s funny, we treat ourselves like we treat many gadgets we buy (including TVs) – we attempt to operate the equipment without reading and referring to the manual! So we end up abnormally using (abusing) and misusing the equipment.

    I am learning much but I can say with Paul

    Philippians 3:12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

    Thanks again for the wonderful series Pst. K. Your teaching has been of great value.

    Like

  7. With all due respect, this is THE SERIES… as in we were all caught pants down, howver now i’m sad it came to a dramatic end…

    Pst. Kiama, big ups

    Cheers!!

    Like

  8. I am 26 years old, I am a virgin and I am frustrated. I’ve done it all, masturbated, fantasized, fondled, petted and had foreplay. But for some reason I was never able to ‘go all the way’ so to speak. I flirt, I know it is not going anywhere but it just makes me feel powerful. I know it is not godly but it makes me feel better.
    I am a woman and I am at that age where I am wondering when that special man will come my way. I won’t say that I have sprawled myself all over the dating scene. I normally wait for things to happen. However cliché it may sound, I actually appreciate good conversation and one other thing that I hold most dear; self respect. A person who respects themselves speaks for itself because they will accord you that respect, with regard to their conduct, speech and even the way they dress.
    All that is beside the point, everything’s gone topsy turvy and we are all caught up in the bump and grind, baby mama, baby daddy era. I go through phases that I just want to lose my virginity and forget about it. But when I think of that white wedding gown and my future spouse; all I think of is I need to preserve myself for them. And that snow white gown needs to mean something.
    Of course I worry that it might be when I am 40. And the thought of holding up that long without sex almost sounds suicidal. But for Jesus’ sake I can’t let Him or myself down. You may call it pride, stupidity, insanity; but I almost equate losing my virginity to defilement. And I think what I also fear is once I give in, there is no restraint there after and it becomes like an itch that constantly needs to be scratched. It’s like ringworms that never end. I don’t know… I was so aroused at work today that I couldn’t concentrate the whole afternoon. It’s only getting harder and all I am wondering instead of the usual annoying Christian words, I want to know; in this sexed up world how in the world are you coping?
    I get the whole boundaries vibe when you’re dating, but how do you not want to kiss or hold each other for moments on time. I am single and it’s a struggle, how about you who are dating? I feel alone here. It’s bothering me.

    Rose

    Like

    • Hi Rose,
      I will keep you in prayer. Please visit my site http://istopped.wordpress.com to get some help too especially for you to learn to control that feeling, If you don’t know it already, the feeling is strong because your brain already has a chemical dependency. Remember God hates the Sin not the sinner. If you go to him with a sincere heart for forgiveness he will forgive you. The bible said “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” Rom 1:8.

      I have to tell you that it is even harder to withstand that feeling when you are in a relationship. Thats why it is fundamental to date on a strong christian foundation for both your sakes. I have a fiancee and its even worse because we are just a few steps away. The bible has strict instruction about immorality in 1 Cor 6:12-20 Please check it out. Remember that its the Sword of the word that will help you in times of trial. Even Jesus didn’t just chase the devil, he replied. “It is written…” There is power in the word and name of Jesus Christ. You have that power. Practice it and feed the right wolf.

      Like

    • me,myself and Irene Says:

      For us dating…it’s even more of a struggle. I was just talking with my special other and realized how under siege we are. The message is sex and it is preached from the telly, the movies, the books, the newspapers, the music, our colleagues and worst of all from within us, our rioting bodies. The notion of staying pure amidst all this seems almost ridiculous. My honest experience is that there’s no compromise. God is sovereign and His word says that to love Him is to obey Him, and He certainly wants us to be sexually pure. We have slipped and fallen many times. It’s amazing how an innocent kiss rapidly devolves into not so innocent kissing and petting! What has worked for us is spending more time with God-you really do get so much stronger the more you grow into who God made you to be. We also pursue our other areas of intimacy- shared hobbies, intellectual stuff like books and career, our shared love of music etc etc There’s much more than the physical. Finally, we put a date and are getting married. It makes it bearable when there’s an end to the torture somewhere on the horizon. Again, not always perfect, but we keep trying to live up to God’s standard, and He does give us a lot of strength and grace. Hope this helps a bit.

      Like

  9. The sermon really left me thinking of myself and the generation to come. And reminded me of this stranger story:-

    A while ago, my Dad met a stranger who was new to our small town. From the beginning, Dad was fascinated with this enchanting newcomer and soon invited him to live with our family. The stranger was quickly accepted and was around from then on.

    As I grew up, I never questioned his place in my family. In my young mind, he had a special niche. My parents were complementary instructors: Mom taught me good from evil, and Dad taught me to obey. But the stranger…he was our storyteller. He would keep us spellbound for hours on end with adventures, mysteries and comedies.

    If I wanted to know anything about politics, history or science, he always knew the answers about the past, understood the present and even seemed able to predict the future! He took my family to the first major league ball game. He made me laugh, and he made me cry. The stranger never stopped talking, but Dad didn’t seem to mind.

    Sometimes, Mom would get up quietly while the rest of us were shushing each other to listen to what he had to say, and she would go to the kitchen for peace and quiet. (I wonder now if she ever prayed for the stranger to leave.)
    Dad ruled our household with certain moral convictions, but the stranger never felt obligated to honour them. Profanity, for example, was not allowed in our home… Not from us, our friends or any visitors. Our long-time visitor, however, got away with four-letter words that burned my ears and made my dad squirm and my mother blush.

    My Dad didn’t permit the liberal use of alcohol. But the stranger encouraged us to try it on a regular basis. He made cigarettes look cool, cigars manly and pipes distinguished. He talked freely (much too freely!) about sex. His comments were sometimes blatant, sometimes suggestive, and generally embarrassing.

    I now know that my early concepts about relationships were influenced strongly by the stranger. Time after time, he opposed the values of my parents, yet he was seldom rebuked… And NEVER asked to leave.

    More than twenty five years have passed since the stranger moved in with our family. He has blended right in and is not nearly as fascinating as he was at first. Still, if you could walk into my parents’ den today, you would still find him sitting over in his corner, waiting for someone to listen to him talk and watch him draw his pictures.

    His name is ?

    |…..We just call him ‘TV.’
    He has a wife now….We call her ‘Computer.’
    Their first child is “Cell Phone”.
    Second child “I Pod

    Like

  10. This was my first service at Mavuno, and I have never in my twenty-odd- something years experienced anything like it. I walked in to church feeling nothing..empty..maybe indifferent..My boyfriend who has been attending Mavuno religiously for the last couple of weeks had tried to get me to go with him before to no avail..but this particular Sunday was different. I was up and ready to leave the house in record time.
    We got to church and I remember as we left the car I confirmed with him how long it was going to take..Just 2 hrs he said and i let out a big sigh..
    I had never heard such powerful praise & worship in my life…and I totally lost myself in it! By the time the pastor took of his Coat..and i saw his shirt torn, dirty and stained..one look at him and it’s as if i was looking at myself in the mirror..And when he sang the song by Travie Mccoy-billionaire…That was me right there. Chasing all the wrong things, I believed I was the center of my world. I believed I was OK and I could do it all. When he took of his coat..I seized being the center of my universe, I was not OK. Now, I analyze what I watch and read.
    I know that I have fallen short of God’s glory but now..I am taking steps to mend that relationship I ought to have heard with my Heavenly Father all along.

    Like

Comments are closed.

