Charmed

Watch LIVE sermon archive on Ustream.TV here;

[apologies for 10 minutes missing of the beginning of the archive]

23 Responses to “Charmed”

  1. Thank you Pastor Kyama for being so real. As you spoke today, the issue of making TV heroes role models caught my attention. For a moment there, I could not relate how idolizing them had affected me but as the Spirit worked my spiritual eyes were opened.

    I realized that in idolizing them, I have become very individualistic yet God created me to be a relational being. Often, I have remained holed up in my crib watching them (24/Alias/Nikita) instead of investing time reading my Bible or spending quality time with especially family.

    My heart also woke up to the reality that in striving to resolve my problems/issues by myself, I deny God’s power to work in my life.

    Like

    • I pray that God will encourage and inspire you as you seek to be transformed into the image of Christ. Let the power of the Word of God,alive and active work through you to mould and shape you.
      May you be truly all that God intended you to be as you spend time with him in his word and prayer.

      Like

  2. Catherine Says:

    Pastor Kyama thank you for the sermon. My experience during the sermon was a wake up call. Unlike some people who might say they have depended on other people to make things happen in their lives…I can honestly say that I have depended on myself entirely. This was a shocking realisation. Sometime last week I realised that I had become a very fearful person and not as happy (though on the outside I seemed as happy as can be) as I used to be. I didn’t know why or how I got there and I felt frustrated. Listening to you on Sunday the Spirit of God did make it very clear the root cause of my predicament. I had totally depended on myself. And since with time I have come to realise that I’m a mere mortal with limited resources I have felt afraid of life? Does this make sense? I realised on Sunday that I had indeed made God really small in my life. Instead of looking to Him whom I gave my heart to I was looking to myself. After the service I resolved that this week I’ll start spending more time in God’s presence, reading His word and meditating on the same. I’m determined to shift my focus from me to my Saviour. Isn’t it wonderful that God’s word is able to shed light on things that seem too hard to comprehend? Btw…I had even thought I should visit a psychologist to help me unravel the source of my fear and sadness….well….God’s word has just saved me some money 🙂 God bless y’all.

    Like

    • God bless you Catherine for your testimony. Its amazing how rich the word of god is and appropriate for every kind of situation. The default set up is for man to be independent;to try and figure life on our own. Yet we cannot because we are oh so limited.
      Like in Jeremiah 17:5 “Cursed is the one who trusts in man,who depends on flesh for his strength..” Man is just but dust.

      I pray that we will learn to trust in God wholeheartedly because ” Blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.” Jer 17: 7
      Praying for you.

      Like

  3. Jus a lady. Says:

    Thanks pastor Kyama for that sermon. And to think I almost missed church. I had an incident where I totally refused to beleive that God would come through for me. A man I had briefly dated had made off with my money.I am a single mum,a fact that made it the more painful coz I need all the cash I can get. I resulted to look for one of those medicine men that make someone eat grass if they owe you and you want to teach them a lesson. And I actually got one through a lady I know although i never went to see her. This issue made me drop out of Ombi since I felt I had to deal with it this way and I knew It isn’t right by God, I stopped coming to church and my devotions. Thank God for my doing mizizi and having Godly friends I didn’t go through with it. Last Sunday when I came to church,funny how Pastor Kyama talked just how we rely on earthly alternatives. Im thankful for Mavuno church. More than once I’ve been saved from making serious mistakes by coming to church. God bless you all

    Like

    • @ Just a Lady

      Be encouraged in the Lord.His love for you is unconditional and he so cares for us that he will always deliver us from nasty situations. Truly his love endures forever!

      When we share our burdens with one another, confess and pray for one another we will be healed.I pray that you will be connected to your LG because these are the people who will stand with you.The devil thrives in divide and rule, but God’s provision for us is to be in fellowship with each other and fight this battle together.

      God will surely uphold you keep trusting in him.

      Like

  4. Awesome one pst. K (hmm… pst. K… P.K… lol) Anyway, being serious. I think the reason why power and wanting to connect with seemingly ‘powerful’ TV characters lures us is precisely because man was built by God to have power! Gen. 1.26 “let them have DOMINION”,Jesus said after resurrecting ‘Behold I give you POWER’ (Luke 10:19) and Paul writes “We have a Spirit not of fear but of POWER, love and a sound mind” (2 Timothy 1:7).

    The truth is the human spirit is designed to have control over one’s circumstances. When the devil tricked Adam and Eve, he took this legitimate power from them. And when Jesus came back to restore man, one of the devil’s temptations concerned power “If you bow to me, I will give you all the Kingdoms [i.e. power]”… and he uses that same temptation to date in varied forms as per Pst. K’s sermon.

    When I think of legitimate power, which has it’s source only in God’s Spirit, it’s interesting cos it is a power that accomodates meekness. And meekness is not weakness, but power under control. Think of a wild horse being broken and that same power that was in that massive beast that could crush it’s rider with a kick is still the same power it has when it is made to gracefully jump over hoops. I remember watching a documentary about Arnold Schwarzzeneger’s career in body building and here’s this massive guy who’s circumference around his bicep is 22.5” and he’s doing ballet! (so he could pose better when flexing at competitions). I believe God wants all of us to have legitimate power to control our circumstances, but have it under such control and guidance as only His Spirit can give.

    As for instant gratification vs. delayed gratification… I think that’s one lesson God has really hammered home over the years for me. I think many christians want to have the prize without the process and that’s just simply not how God works. God wants to teach you some things, refine you in some areas, renew your mind and shape you thinking, hence the process. But many of us just want to skip right to the finish line. I’ve come to learn that the journey is sweeter than the destination when you look back.

    Back to the horse power example before… I think when we get born again, we’re like a wild horse – full of all sorts of things from our past; but then the Spirit of God starts us off on a journey, and a process, slowly and gently breaking us just like they break the horse, teaching it to control it’s power in response to the jockey’s promptings; this is exactly what the Spirit does, for Christ says “I will send you the Spirit of Truth and He shall GUIDE you into all truth”. Breaking that horse is a process, just like the Spirit’s work in us… so I learnt this lesson long ago, and nowadays I say to myself “self, just be quiet and go through the process and learn what you are meant to be learning!” Cos process is always an attempt to teach you something and the trick is to find it out and learn the lesson as fast as you can. But God is so cool, He promises nothing He’s allowed you to go through is insurmountable; in fact I think if you are going through something, it is evidence that you can handle it, otherwise God would NEVER have allowed it (1 Corinthians 10:13)

    Like

    • King'ori J. Maina Says:

      this is really profound…

      Like

    • Amen and Amen!

      What a profound expose. Its the paradox of simplicity yet depth of God’s word.May God’s word be truly alive and active, sharper than any double edged sword in our lives. May His word be our source of guidance and wisdom as we travel through this alien land. God bless ya’ll.

      Like

    • dream gal Says:

      trully profound.

      Like

    • I need a like button on this blog! Cos I really like that, and you’ve broken it down so well, scripture and everything…

      Like

  5. I loved the sermon. God bless you Pst. Kyama. Personally, I cut off television completely from my life almost a year ago now. Today, in a week I can get to watch a maximum of like 20 minutes of television, and that’s mostly like if I visit someone and find they are watching TV. And I can tell you honestly, my life is 10000 times better, and I am even healthier and happier! Someone told me if you listen to something it sticks in your conscious mind about 58%, if you listen like to a lecture and take notes it goes up to 68% memory, if you listen 7-8 times over, it not only sticks in your subconscious mind 98%, but it also gets into your subconscious mind (what the bible calls the ‘heart’ – out of the heart flow the issues of life) and it starts affecting your behavior, decisions and perceptions! – so if you listen to maina and king’ang’i in the morning, every morning, 5 days a week, 20 days a month… or, if you watch a soap, 5 days a week, 20 days a month…. just do the math! Nowadays, I measure even the movies I watch, I watch only what I know will edify me, I put the bible and sermons in mp3 on my phone and I listen to them everywhere, including in the matatu as others are subjected to the kind of (excuse me) crap, that we call entertainment.

    As a good friend of mine said – this is CONTAINMENT NOT ENTERTAINMENT!

    The secret… read Matt. 6:33 I decided to make seeking the Kingdom of God a priority above everything else, I started asking myself questions like ‘what is this Kingdom?’ and ‘If Christ said to seek it FIRST, then everything else in my life should come after that, in fact… my job is not to seek *things* (money, car,house…)’ This pursuit has kept me so busy, things I struggled with for years, like masturbation just fell off. Let me encourage you all – ‘Seek FIRST the Kingdom of God and all his rightousness, and everything else will fall in place’.

    Finally, something I was taught that is kinda deep on this same issue – Paul wrote ‘We know the physical world is temporary and is passing away because it is made from the invisible which is eternal’… so if the physical world itself is that temporary, how much more the ‘illusion’, that casted and scripted world that they create and fill your mind with?

    God bless y’all. Get a revelation. Know the truth and the truth KNOWN (not just the truth), sets free. 🙂

    Like

    • King'ori J. Maina Says:

      this as well, really profound stuff!

      Like

    • Last born gal Says:

      KC,
      This is amazing. Hopefully one day I too will be able to say the same!! The sermon was on point again P.K 🙂 I pray that God blesses you mightily….I am particularly challenged by the issue of whom on we depend. As Chica says i can spend all day alone in the house watching movies etc..instead of investing that time wisely. I heard someone ask the other day who do we consut before making our major decisions..n I was like eeeehhh…when it shda been instantaneous..God!! May God help us to fully rely on His power!!

      Like

    • Godsgal Says:

      Wow!!! So inspiring. God bless you

      Like

    • Last born gal – I believe it will be true for you too. “Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.” (Luke 12:32); “Each time he [God] said, ‘My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.’ ” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

      Like

  6. P.K!! hehe@ Will!! anyway..does anyone know how our brothers and sisters in Mavuno Kampala are doing?? can someone update us plz!! the photos i have seen on facebook are really bad! May God be with evryone in Kampala! is there anything we can do?

    Back to the sermon…God bless you Pastor K. i was one who really enjoyed charmed. thanks for shading light to tht. can’t wait for next Sunday!

    Like

    • Daniel Kampala Says:

      Hi Kiki!

      Thanks for the inquiry about Mavuno Kampala! we are all doing well! The church is growing and getting up to speed with all the other mavuno campuses! Our worship ministry is just wow! The Mzizites are representing the only way Mzizites know how, Children’s church has just taken off, and we know have ‘Live at the Oasis’ events to rival ‘Live at the village’! We welcome your prayers! Pray for us to get a bigger venue, as the one we may have be filled easily. Pray for the church to transform Kampala the way you guys have transformed Nairobi. We pray for you guys continually, and hope so have you guys visit us soon.

      Like

  7. Pastor Kyama, that was so awesome. Yaani, i kept shangaaing!!! I love nollywood coz hollywood became just too much for me. I thought it was better…well! Thanks for shedding much needed light into my life. About short cuts, today Nairobi water came to disconnect my water…they didn’t send a bill and they wanted chai ya wazee just so they don’t disconnect. I have to confess i was very tempted to give them a bribe so that they don’t disconnect. I am glad i didn’t thanks to that sermon!!!! They thought better and didn’t disconnect.
    I have cut out TV and am fasting TV for 21 days for a start! And its amazing how much time i have on my hand. I can actually hear myself and i am even more productive at work! Totally amazed!

    Like

  8. the text below best explains what pst. Kyama has been preaching:

    Read even if you’re busy

    Satan called a worldwide convention of demons.

    In his opening address he said,

    “We can’t keep Christians from going to church.”

    “We can’t keep them from reading their Bibles and knowing the truth.”

    “We can’t even keep them from forming an intimate relationship with their saviour.”

    “Once they gain that connection with Jesus, our power over them is broken.”

    “So let them go to their churches; let them have their covered dish dinners, BUT steal their time, so they don’t have time to develop a relationship with Jesus Christ..”

    “This is what I want you to do,” said the devil:

    “Distract them from gaining hold of their Saviour and maintaining that vital connection throughout their day!”

    “How shall we do this?” his demons shouted.

    “Keep them busy in the non-essentials of life and invent innumerable schemes to occupy their minds,” he answered.

    “Tempt them to spend, spend, spend, and borrow, borrow, borrow.”

    “Persuade the wives to go to work for long hours and the husbands to work 6-7 days each week, 10-12 hours a day, so they can afford their empty lifestyles.”

    “Keep them from spending time with their children.”

    “As their families fragment, soon, their homes will offer no escape from the pressures of work!”

    “Over-stimulate their minds so that they cannot hear that still, small voice.”

    “Entice them to play the radio or cassette player whenever they drive.” To keep the TV, VCR, CDs and their PCs going constantly in their home and see to it that every store and restaurant in the world plays non-biblical music constantly.”

    “This will jam their minds and break that union with Christ.”

    “Fill the coffee tables with magazines and newspapers.”

    “Pound their minds with the news 24 hours a day.”

    “Invade their driving moments with billboards.”

    “Flood their mailboxes with junk mail, mail order catalogs, sweepstakes, and every kind of newsletter and promotional offering free products, services and false hopes..”

    “Keep skinny, beautiful models on the magazines and TV so their husbands will believe that outward beauty is what’s important, and they’ll become dissatisfied with their wives. ”

    “Keep the wives too tired to love their husbands at night.”

    “Give them headaches too! ”

    “If they don’t give their husbands the love they need, they will begin to look elsewhere.”

    “That will fragment their families quickly!”

    “Give them Santa Claus to distract them from teaching their children the real meaning of Christmas.”

    “Give them an Easter bunny so they won’t talk about his resurrection and power over sin and death.”

    “Even in their recreation, let them be excessive.”

    “Have them return from their recreation exhausted.”

    “Keep them too busy to go out in nature and reflect on God’s creation. Send them to amusement parks, sporting events, plays, concerts, and movies instead.”

    “Keep them busy, busy, busy!”

    “And when they meet for spiritual fellowship, involve them in gossip and small talk so that they leave with troubled consciences.”

    “Crowd their lives with so many good causes they have no time to seek power from Jesus.”

    “Soon they will be working in their own strength, sacrificing their health and family for the good of the cause.”

    “It will work!”

    “It will work!”

    It was quite a plan!

    The demons went eagerly to their assignments causing Christians everywhere to get busier and more rushed, going here and there.

    Having little time for their God or their families and friends.

    Having no time to tell others about the power of Jesus to change lives.

    I guess the question is, has the devil been successful in his schemes?

    You be the judge!!!!!

    Does “BUSY” mean: B-eing U-nder S-atan’s Y-oke?

    Like

  9. Daniel Kampala Says:

    Hi Kiki!

    Thanks for the inquiry about Mavuno Kampala! we are all doing well! The church is growing and getting up to speed with all the other mavuno campuses! Our worship ministry is just wow! The Mzizites are representing the only way Mzizites know how, Children’s church has just taken off, and we know have ‘Live at the Oasis’ events to rival ‘Live at the village’! We welcome your prayers! Pray for us to get a bigger venue, as the one we may have be filled easily. Pray for the church to transform Kampala the way you guys have transformed Nairobi. We pray for you guys continually, and hope so have you guys visit us soon.

    Like

    • dream gal Says:

      than for the update Daniel and we pray that God whohas laid His foundation in Kampala will make provision for all you require.My prayers are with you.We love you guys and as you fearlessly influence Kampala God will guide you through.

      Like

  10. @ Daniel Kampala

    We thank God that you guys are ok. We have been praying with you guys that God would comfort and encourage you during this trying moments. The church is truly the hope of the world and you will definitely shine the light of Christ in your city.
    May God continue building you up in the faith. May he build up an army of fearless soldier with a contagious passion for Christ. And yeah nothing can prevail against the Church of Christ!

    God bless Uganda.

    Like

Comments are closed.

