Going Against The Flow

Daniel 5: 1 – 30

No courage, no influence.

Fear destroys opportunities.

Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the Lord will be with you. (2 Chronicles 20:17)

17 You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the LORD will give you, O Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the LORD will be with you.’

God has not given you a spirit of fear, but of power, love and sound mind. (2 Timothy 1:7)

7 For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.

Watch the archived Sermon broadcast on Ustream.TV, here;

18 Responses to “Going Against The Flow”

  1. lovedbyJesus Says:

    This was a great sermon. And I am blessed to listen to you from the US. This message has made my resolve to continue forging forward with the desire God has put in my heart about coming back home despite the protests of everyone, apart from my family, that I shouldn’t. It is a huge step of faith and I already see myself losing friends because they think I am out of my mind to want to return to Kenya. But I am choosing to listen to the call of God in my life. Who knows that by my example, others will finally act on their desire to return home and build a better Kenya?

    Like

    • LovedbyJesus: What a wonderful testimony of obedience. As you listen to God’s voice and respond to His call be encouraged to know the Lord will never leave you or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5) He asked Abraham to move out into a place of uncertainty but a place where He would reveal His purpose and destiny – to be a Father of nations! God has great things in store for you so take courage and dont’ let fear destroy your opportunities!

      God bless, 24/7 counsellor

      Like

    • Returned and doing great Says:

      Hi,

      I returned in obedience and God has enabled my wife and I to have a wonderful life and contribute significantly to developing our country and continent. It was not easy giving up the comforts of the west, but i would never think of going back seeing what God has done for us especially with linking us to Mavuno which encourages and equips us every week towards our God given purpose.

      Like

  2. yaani, I do not know where to start. I have been wanting to leave my current employer so as to get involved with my business. However, I have been feeling quite doubtful of late but I can gladly proclaim that the fear is gone because the Lord will be a light unto my path.
    Thanks pastor M. The series couldn’t come at a better time.

    Like

  3. I am so happy that i made it for the second service yesterday. I was contemplating not to attend church but there was that push for me to be there. I learnt very valuable thing about going against the flow. the best part is when pst. M was praying and he prayed about back pains in someone in the crowd i felt a deep sensation in my whole body and the back pain that i had been struggling with for almost a year now disappeared. PRAISE BE TO GOD for the healing that i received. I am sure that he is going to do more exploits in my life. and that i am going to stand up and speak out.
    Thank you Pst. M for sharing and praying.

    Like

  4. @lovedbyJesus

    You will not be alone when you get back. I suspect some of the people who are discouraging you would love to come back, but they are stuck. Don’t go with the flow! I would encourage you to do what is best for you. I did it after living there for many years. Do I miss the comforts? Sure. Do I regret my decision? Not at all. I love my country, with all the things that are wrong with it, and I am glad now I have an opportunity to make a difference for the sake of Kenya’s future generations!! Pray about it, and let God lead you. Be fearless!!!

    Like

  5. Catherine Says:

    @CKN…God bless you for that testimony. One of the things that excites my spirit is when I hear of testimonies of physical, emotional and all types of healing. It reinforces my faith. God bless you Pastor M. Thank you for constantly reminding us that we need to spend more time in God’s presence…reading His word, talking to Him in prayer, listening to Him…if I forget anything else you have said this year I will always remember that you have taught us to give God our time and not rush through life and then complain that God is not working in our lives.

    Like

  6. Pastor M Says:

    Hi all, encouraged by your comments! @ lovedbyJesus, karibu nyumbani! Looking forward to seeing you soon at Mavuno. Let’s build our nation together! @ Tash, I encourage you to take a couple of weeks to pray/fast about your decision. During that time, ask God to prepare the way for you and to strengthen you for the task ahead. If you’re in a Life-group, ask your team to pray with you. I believe God will give you the wisdom you need to take the next step as you ask for it (James 1:5)

    @CKN, praise God for your healing! I pray you will continue to go against the flow and to resist the devil when he tries to discourage you and keep you from your place of destiny! @ Catherine, glad to hear what God is teaching you. As you put Him first in your life, I know He will give you the rewards that come from seeking Him (Joshua 1:5).

    God bless and have a good week everyone!

    Like

  7. nyakerenga Says:

    Pastor Mureithi,

    Mungu akubariki mpaka ushangae.

    It was good to get a reasurance from the FATHER thru u.

    During the fearless wk l had to attend an office meeting which was rear becoz durin meetings l’m never involved.
    We gave opinons and resolved to talk and work as a team.
    We need ur prayers becoz we are winding up slowly and many lives will b affected if we don’t stand as a team.
    It’s true u are identified by who u worship.
    I believe l’m where l am becoz he planted me there.
    May he continue to speak to u and open the eyes of our hearts.
    Still can’t believe l missed fearless 2010 it’s amazing wot influencers learnt.
    The eclair!!! was a clear messasge FEARLESS was SWEET.

    Like

  8. Nolonger afraid Says:

    Waaah!

    I heard the sermon at Mashariki but i thank God for it started with fearless-the leadership summit and culminated to that sermon….I thank God and i am letting go of my fears! My great fear has been resigning and doing internship and full time ministry….God spoke to me and told me He can take care of me better than my salary can….I thank God for that sermon!

    We thank God for using you Pastor M….I have found a home at mavuno and friends who have seen me through amazing difficulties in my lifegroup!

    We love you pastor M!

    Like

  9. hello!! for those who are abroad, fear not! seek God’s wisdom, love Him, and He will direct you. (for real) I do not regret coming back home from UK. and i am glad i got to the Mavuno family. NO REGRETS AT ALL. there are opportunities ryt here at home! NATUJENGE INCHI YETU, we can mke the difference.
    Pastor M, i must say that i LOVED wt you sed abt the Proverbs 31 man. Pls repeat it here for all to read even though it wasnt part of the subject! haki i really would like it to sink in….waaa…that was so deep! God bless you. I really enjoyed the sermon! FEARLESS 2010! that was jst GR8! Glory be to God!

    Like

  10. Courage Seeker Says:

    I felt like you were talking to me. I have always felt the urge to tell it as it is without fear or favor. I am the kind of person who likes equality and fairness for all, be it in a family setting or at work. This has put me into some trouble. Sometime back I went for an appraisal and mentioned to my boss that her daily shift of mood swings was affecting how we all worked as a team I was being very honest and we were then a bit close. No one else would dare point this out to her and well, she had asked me for an honest opinion, I did not go with the flow. A few days later, I was given a warning letter after she went looking for my faults or mistakes I had done in the office previously. Well we are no longer as close. This made me question my courage because it appeared to be doing more harm then good. However, I no longer fear for I know God is with me. Another example was in December when things got a bit out of hand at home and the following day I pointed out a few hurting truths to my brother for everyone else fears him to date including our own mother. The result is that he has not talked to me since. Again I questioned my courage to speak the truth. I am now closer to God then I was back then and I have learn’t that this is a gift I should use to fulfill God’s Purpose. They have been very uneasy situations but God has made me learn from them.
    I also know the kind of fear and the consequences you were talking about very well for I have been swimming in fear for a very long time. Fear to speak in public, to pray in public, to do the right thing, just to mention a few. That is why I am now asking God to give me courage to do all that is right without fear, while I face my existing fears and new challenges with God’s Help and Power.

    Like

  11. Changing Says:

    soon after the sermon i was psyked up to face a certain fear but i was skeptical whether the opporyunity would arise for me to face it. weeeeelll the opportunity arose and guess what i ran in fear. i feel like i have let God down let alone myself. Am so discouraged because i had been desperately been waiting for this opportunity and i lost it.

    Like

  12. 24/7 counsellor Says:

    Hi changing,
    we serve a God of love. Pray and listen to his response. If it is his will, the opportunity shall certainly arise again at his timing. pray for patience in knowing that his plans are laid out for us and his timing is perfect! will keep praying for you. God bless and be encouraged in the lord!

    Like

    • Changing Says:

      24/7 you have really encouraged me. thank you and God bless you and give you peace. really thank you…..now to practice patience. God has really used you to lift me up from a point of my giving up. Thanx

      Like

  13. The sermon was a blessing and what came out clearly for me, is
    ”KNOW COURAGE, KNOW INFLUENCE”. & I will pracise this to the end of me…so help me God

    Like

  14. blessed Says:

    I was blessed by the sermon especially when pst M was praying and he said that he prays that God helps us to know that the only thing we cannot afford to lose is Gods presence.I pray That this will be my everyday prayer that Gods presence will be most dear to me than anyone or anything else.I also feel that i let God down by forging some receipts and iits something i do not know how to stop coz of my kind of job and yet i want to please God.

    Like

  15. King'ori J. Maina Says:

    Considering that the books of Jeremiah & Ezekiel come before the book of Daniel, I find it amazing how clearly the Hebrew prophets had spoken concerning the manner in which Babylon should fall. As in vision God had revealed to them the events of the future, they had exclaimed;

    (Check them out in context to see that indeed they were talking about Babylon)

    WEB: Jeremiah 51:41. How is Sheshach taken! and the praise of the whole earth seized! how is Babylon become a desolation among the nations!

    WEB: Jeremiah Chapter 51 [31] One post shall run to meet another, and one messenger to met another, to show the king of Babylon that his city is taken on every quarter: [32] and the passages are seized, and the reeds they have burned with fire, and the men of war are frightened.

    WEB: Jeremiah 28:7. Nevertheless hear you now this word that I speak in your ears, and in the ears of all the people:

    In fact Jeremiah 50 & 51 is a prophecy against Babylon! Perhaps if they had studied the scriptures more they would have had an opportunity to reconcile themselves with God, after all, its seems that God gave them enough chances…

    Through the folly and weakness of Belshazzar, the grandson of Nebuchadnezzar, proud Babylon was soon to fall. Admitted in his youth to a share in kingly authority, Belshazzar gloried in his power and lifted up his heart against the God of heaven. Many had been his opportunities to know the divine will and to understand his responsibility of rendering obedience thereto. He had known of his grandfather’s banishment, by the decree of God, from the society of men; and he was familiar with Nebuchadnezzar’s conversion and miraculous restoration.

    WEB: Daniel Chapter 5 “[22] You his son, Belshazzar, have not humbled your heart, though you knew all this, [23] but have lifted up yourself against the Lord of heaven; and they have brought the vessels of his house before you, and you and your lords, your wives and your concubines, have drunk wine from them; and you have praised the gods of silver and gold, of brass, iron, wood, and stone, which don’t see, nor hear, nor know; and the God in whose hand your breath is, and whose are all your ways, you have not glorified.”

    But Belshazzar allowed the love of pleasure and self-glorification to efface the lessons that he should never have forgotten. He wasted the opportunities graciously granted him, and neglected to use the means within his reach for becoming more fully acquainted with truth. That which Nebuchadnezzar had finally gained at the cost of untold suffering and humiliation, Belshazzar passed by with indifference.

    Every nation that has come upon the stage of action has been permitted to occupy its place on the earth, that the fact might be determined whether it would fulfil the purposes of the Watcher and the Holy One. Prophecy has traced the rise and progress of the world’s great empires — Babylon, Medo-Persia, Greece, and Rome. With each of these, as with the nations of less power, history has repeated itself. Each has had its period of test; each has failed, its glory faded, its power departed. While nations have rejected God’s principles, and in this rejection have wrought their own ruin, yet a divine, overruling purpose has manifestly been at work throughout the ages.

    But, glory to God that His Kingdom that shall not pass away is gonna be set up in the end. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.

