The Strength Of A Woman

What makes a woman uniquely powerful?

1. Beauty

I will praise You for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. (Psalms 139:14)

2. Words – Abigail (1 Samuel 25)

3. Relationships – Esther

4. Sixth Sense

Men: When God created you, he was not hoping for a boy! Women: Yes! I am designed to be a woman of influence. A glorious female!

Confession for women

Lord Jesus, thank you for making me a woman.

I embrace my femininity, and celebrate it! I declare according to your word:

That I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalms 139:14)

That I am of great value to God and people, because I am created in your image. (Genesis 1:26)

That I will not allow fear, insecurity, low self-esteem the past or present to limit me in my calling as a woman.

That I will use my feminine gifts of beauty, words, relationships and intuition to influence positively wherever you place me.

That I will be a woman of God, connected to God and to His family.

And that as a woman, I will be a fearless influencer at home and at work!

AMEN!

Missed the LIVE! Online @ 9.00 AM & 12 PM of today’s sermon on Ustream.TV, check out the video archives on the link below;

72 Responses to “The Strength Of A Woman”

  1. Nice service

    Like

  2. Hi,ive been goin thru a hard tym in ma lyf coz am pg&ave bn shunned by e/one esp in campus. Mavuno hs given me a chance 2 lk 4ward 2 sundays coz be4 i rly hated sundays. I thank God 4 u.

    Like

  3. I wld like 2 be this women bt am a mess en nt saved i am addicted 2 drugs alcohol sex name it am bad girl in towm en i wld lk 2 b saved bt am 2 dirty 4 christ i dont know hw 2 pray en i hv hrt pple esp men 4 sexual abuse hurting me en living me i feel 2 some extent they deserve it en i don’t lk wat i do bt am i lovable en acceptable i wana b different is it too late?wil christ lv me? Am don’t go 2 church coz even ma clad is unacceptable en i fear 2 b rjcted pst pliz help am desparate

    Like

    • Martha, pliz do not allow urself to think Jesus cannot love you. You are NOT too dirty for Christ. He died on the cross for YOU!! Jesus came for us – the bad girls, sinners, the fallen, the broken, the wounded. Jesus spoke to the prostitutes, the lepers, the tax collectors – basically the “low of the low” of society and He saved them, healed them, restored them and gave them a new life. That is the power of Christ and what YOU need in your life. The power of Jesus Christ can break any addiction and restore you to the woman God made you to be (the woman you are saying you wud like to be). Please Martha, do not keep away from Jesus. You are welcome to Mavuno church as you are and pliz visit the prayer tent for prayers and counsel and to begin connecting with your new life. You can also call the church to book an appointment with a pastor and visit them for prayer and counseling. Please do not allow the devil to keep you from taking this step of repentance. Jesus is stretching out His arms to you, He loves you VERY MUCH. Please accept Him and His love for you.

      Like

    • NYAKERENGA Says:

      Martha,Martha !
      Please note : DADA YANGU WEWE NI MREMBO.
      God takes u as u are.
      He knows every thing ur going thru.
      Plse go thru the serom as Martha without looking at the things u’ve done.
      U r a pearl and God needs u and the mess to talk to him.
      Talk to him .
      Make every breathe a prayer & he’ll sort you out.
      That l know for sure.
      I’m fasting today & ur blog has moved me.
      I’ll kip u & ur baby in Prayer.

      Like

    • @Martha, God loves you just as you are. Come to him, dont try change yourself, He shall do it. Come to the prayer tent on sunday and we’ll pray with you. Also register for Mizizi

      Like

    • Dear Martha,its u Jesus loves.Thank you for being so honest…I feel u and want u to know NOTHING can separate you from the love of God Rom 8.28…I miss my campus days and somehwat identify with how tough/fun that can sometimes be.I have been giving away stuff from my wardrode..I don’t know how I can get to u incase u like something I have..(wouldn’t want to cramp anyone’s style lol)if you can trust someone at mavuno church..perhaps i can give them a selection for u to pick and if you want to meet me then you can tell her.There’s an intern called Joan whom I personally trust but is currently away on mission ,please think about it and let me know through the blog so i can drop ur stuff.MOST IMPORTANTLY is not what u wear though…like Pastor S remineded us,u r beautiful even if u have a hard time believing that.U r.God loves u just the way u r and is waiting to throw a bash when u accept Hisd love and invite Jesus Christ into ur heart.Martha,u r beautiful.we r beautiful.

      Like

    • As has been said before here Martha please come to the prayer tent on sunday take the next step to your amazing life that God has been waiting to give you.God says you are fearfully and wonderfuly made and he doesnt lie. See you at the prayer tent sunday.Praying with you.

      Like

    • @Martha – Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved (Acts 2:21, Rom 10:13). Just call on His name and you’ll be amazed. And No, you can never be too dirty for Christ and it isn’t too late either. You are in my prayers.

      Like

    • Martha, God loves you and Jesus died on the cross for all of us no matter the extent of our sins. please do not pull away from God at this time when he wants to start the process of restoring you. He is able to do immeasurably exceedingly more for you, than you can ever ask or imagine. please come to the prayer tent this Sunday or book an appointment with one of the pastors for someone to stand with you during this time. God bless you

      Like

    • Hi thanx joan en al i hv never heard this in ma lyf i feel loved bt i jst lost ma baby thru a miscarriage i feel worse coz the baby had jst changed ma lyf ws ma family friend en joy. A mother wld gv her lyf 4 her baby why al this? If christ lvs me is it a punishment en why ma baby. It taught me 2 lv en i had hope 4 2morow bt now i wana be alone en cry en die . Pain is killing me. I want salvation 4 a rltionship with christ en i knw it won’t be easy…bt am alone in this world where is he when bad things happen? Will he leave me lk al have? Worse pple think i aborted ma baby bt how am nt a murderer.

      Like

    • Hi thanx joan en al i hv never heard this in ma lyf i feel loved bt i jst lost ma baby thru a miscarriage i feel worse coz the baby had jst changed ma lyf ws ma family friend en joy. A mother wld gv her lyf 4 her baby why al this? If christ lvs me is it a punishment en why ma baby. It taught me 2 lv en i had hope 4 2morow bt now i wana be alone en cry en die . Pain is killing me. I want salvation 4 a rltionship with christ en i knw it won’t be easy…bt am alone in this world where is he when bad things happen? Will he leave me lk al have? Worse pple think i aborted ma baby bt how am nt a murderer. Guy i count on u big time am also grateful i..

      Like

    • Martha
      I am the father of a lovely girl. Often when I look at her I see what God wants her to be. Even when she messes up this does not change. I am human therefore weak and imperfect as a father. God is the perfect father and sees you always as a the lovely and strong woman hHe created you to be. His heart longs for you and like the father who was out watching for His son, He is waiting for you. You do not need to do anything just come, allow him to love you, to call out the woman in you and to transform you. I am confident that what is miserable in your life today will be the platform that God and you will use to bring freedom to others. How I pray you will come to Mavuno and allow us to pray over you.

      Like

  4. Amen to that! It is always encouraging to hear and note and remember that God made me uniquely female because there is role I have to play as a woman that no man can play. :).

    On a seperate note, there is a wonderful book that helps expound that (and guided me towards God as well, so I really advocate for this book)… captivating…unveiling the mystery of a woman’s soul. It’s a book that reminded me that God saw me as beautiful, that I am made in the image of God in a uniquely feminine way and as woman, the zenith of His creation. 🙂

    Like

    • Mwandi, I have read this book and I agree with you. It is a great book. The book title – ‘Captivating’.

      Like

    • It’s a great book. It really speaks to a woman’s soul. I recommend it too. Captivating… go out and get it ladies. 🙂

      Like

  5. Am drowning.. I need help! Says:

    Thanx Pastor S… Am goin thru a hard time tryin to get back my feminity. I was a gud girl gone bad. I was once addicted to alcohol.. bt am battling with that n its seems am winning the battle. I hve been in abusive relationships wea i give in so easily yet am alwez getting hurt by these men who use me. Av not appreciating myself as a woman. Av even turned to punishing my daughter physically for my pains yet she is innocent!! Every sunday mornin before i get to church…i fear comin because u r pointing fingers at me to change bt i still keep myself in my cacoon! But I still get to Mavuno..thanx to ma gal..who wouldnt miss sunday school for anything!! av had as many several sexual encounters all in the name of fun, evry tym i go for a HIV test its negative n i keep wondering y cnt God jst punish me…..He keeps getting me off the hook!! This is killin me.. i dont even have any self esteem anymo.. i cant even get into a relationship because of the way av let men treat me!!! Am so scared of getting into any relationship.. am gonna lose a man who really luvs me because av kept my emotions to myself.. i jst cnt let go of my past!! I thank your for your sermons but the FACT is Am HURTING INSYD.. n at some point i almost quiting to come to church! PLEASE HELP ME!

    Like

    • Hey, I just wanted to encourage you not to give up in God. His love for you is never ending and it is readily available for you. Welcome God into your life and you will be amazed at the GREAT and MIGHTY things that He is going to do in your life. Jesus died for our sins on the cross, no matter how small or big they are, He died for them. Our part is to ask for forgiveness and welcome Him into our lives. Be blessed my dear

      Like

    • @Am drowning.. I need help, be encouraged as God loves you. He has watched over you thus far. It is His grace that keeps us going. Please dont quit coming to church, come pray and talk with someone at the prayer tent.

      Like

    • I think God is also saying something to u thru ur precious daughter.pl don’t stop bringing her to sunday school.

      Like

    • @Am Drowning, please do not quit coming to church. because there is where you will find healing in fellowship with other like minded believers who also have issues. God’s grace is sufficient even at such a time as this.

      Like

    • Hi sis,
      i think its wise for you to seek one on one counselling cause it will help you fight this battle,only that your willing ness and coperation is required,sort of a big sister in Christ or a pastors wife to help and walk you through the process of personal freedom and healing in your heart and soul,its never too late cause God is not limited by time. As hard as it is for you to believe this,God says to you, you are my Lily of Sharon, beautiful flower in my garden,take heart.

      Like

  6. Prudence Says:

    I loved the msg today, we all need to be reminded even if we know it, just how powerful it is to be a woman.I would just like to add, one of the things that contributes powerfully to being a woman of strength are strong fathers, to all men out there, a womans first relationship is with a father, whether present or absent, and most look for the father in men before anything else, and like a friend once told me,God is the ultimate father, and if men in God can learn how to father the women in their lives, then the number of strong women will increase exponentially.God bless you Pst S, your msg alone is an indication of your wonderful fatherhood in God, keep building the women.

    Like

    • hapo tu! Says:

      @prudence,i wish i could high five you.i’m not bragging or anything am just driving your point home. i am just 19 years old,so far a good gal exept from some independent issues here en there i can only depend on someone whoz there.i applaud my dad and thank God for him every day i live. he remebers to tell me am beautifull whenever i look nice, he has never called me names, he has always paid attention to me, i have learned most things from my dad esp. fixing stuff, he notices whenever something changes in me(wen am sad,skin has reacted to something-he sees it!),his number is my number one speed dial coz i know he is there for me,he has never missed my life important events,he actually knows me en not just sees me in his house….by the way am not a daddy’s gal, my sisters and brother tell the same story. my mum was careless with her words but somehow i never really got too hurt by it en i realized just the other day it was coz dad always covered for her inadequency with his presence and love.i can tell you i will not aceept a man who will treat me with less love than he did,with less responsibility than he did because through him i have seen what i deserve. av never doubted tht i am beautifull, capable,i can do anything because dad always told me i could do it, he believed in me and showed me just what i am capable of. i look in the mirror and see the wonderfull investment of my fathers sacrifice,time and love.mum was a great support too though she ppushed me too hard.there is one thing my dad says that i want my future hubby to embrace he says “my children are my resposibility,no one else will do my duty for me. my family is my priority”. he is now a proud father of three ladies who have not ended up with ‘stories’ but have integrity. to all the me out there, you daughters depend on you to see themselves,you show them God’s love as you are a representation of God on earth. your presence your time is invaluable to build “a woman worth fighting for”. may all the men rise up and bring up this woman and may all the women support their men in playing this vital role…
      God bless…

      Like

  7. And blessed is she that believed: for there shall be a performance of those things which were told her from the Lord – Luke 1:45

    Like

  8. NYAKERENGA Says:

    Pastor Simon, mungu akubariki.
    For standing in the GAP for all the men who hev done wrong things to women.
    Can’t wait for sunday wished there was a button to fast forward the week.
    We are aol struggling with issues and it’s a blessing to b a mavunyt since every Sunday l a skin of fear peels off me.

    barikiwa.

    Like

  9. thank you for that great sermon.
    i’m really enlighted.
    🙂

    Like

  10. Yes. Yes. Yes. I even told my darling to watch it. Your ministry is changin people’s attitudes. NOt only young people even older men and women. I want to love and to love her, respect her, cherish her and help her become what a good gal should be. hey. bravo Mavuno.

    Like

  11. The sermon is really timely and fulfilling,thank you for being used by God for such a time as this!

    Like

  12. missed sunday and today i listened to the archived sermon.tx mavuno for availing that online…i have been mrs.DIY (do it yourself)-ms fierce-independence-and-kwani-do-i-eat at ur hse? all rolled in one kinda psn…i dated a guy who never bought me anything for so long..the day he got a meal..a burger actually i unconsciously told my galfriend about 5 times until she queried.i’ve been suspicious,u tell me am beautiful,hmm what do u want and i don’t sleep around attitude.aieeee.its frustrating.exhausting.am tiring to be around.it scares me.don’t know wea to start.maybe i’ll come back to church next sunday,this series sounds like its for the likes of me.

    Like

  13. Pastor S, it takes real courage to do the sermon you doing especially when you teaching us youth. I am so so blessed by the sermon and i pray its gonna make us change the way we potray ourselves. both men n women. Thank you so much and may God bless you and keep you.
    Amen!

    Like

  14. Hey thanks Pastor S for the summon,i came to church feeling very low and hurt but i left there feeling strong and empowered especialy after you asked for forgiveness on behalf of the men.I found it strange that it took a man to deliver the messege.I prayed all through the summon for God to give you wisdom and clear mind as you deliver the summon and am glad people got it.Its a hard topic but so relevant, many a time i feel under apprecciated but when i think of myself as a gloriuous female i remain encouraged and i wait on God who will make all things right at his time.
    Janet remain encuraged that God loves you no matter what.
    Martha- i used to struggle with getting saved and for a long time i kept beating myself over my life and asking whether God would take me as i am.But its true Jesus while on earth hanged out with some pretty ‘special people’ just proof that he loves us as we are and we only need to recognise that we should repent and all our sins will be forgiven instantly.The devil is our accuser he will ensure you remain guilty so that you dont turn to God yet God says we come just as we are.Come to church and try mizizi.Most of us have some pretty horried pasts but dont dwell on it even for a moment ,am concentrating on my new life with christ and i have received forgiveness in full.

    Like

  15. Hey, I hear you pastor S, but quick question, do I have to wear a skirt to be feminine? Coz i do not like them, and am uncomfortable in them.

    Just asking

    Like

    • @Me, I hear you, I used to ask that question. I much prefer to wear trousers, they are just easier to manage, but i discovered I look great in skirts too, esp when i figured how to wear the right ones for my shape and height. Now totally enjoy dressing both ways–skirts and trousers and i still feel and look feminine. accessorize your style of dress with lovely femine jewelry and make up and hairdo. These things dont have to be expensive, we have so many options these days. But more importantly, femininity is the qualities Pst S talked about in the sermon last week

      Like

  16. Brother trying hard. Says:

    Hey i am not being judgemental but, the sermon was all about my fiancee. unfortunately she did not get to hear it. Things are now really bad between us. We have just broken up. Her dominance and toughness drove me away, it changed me, i became violent and agressive. I still love her. i dont know how to get her to understand how terrible it is when she becomes tough, rough and outrightly dissobedient. i miss her but too much damage has already occured. Pastor simon help.

    Like

    • Brother, you errored by becoming violent and aggressive towards your lady there. You should always be able to resolve issues with her in a calm and friendly manner. Always avoid engaging her in an urgument when either of you is annoyed because its likely that something can be said that later leads to regret and or hurt.

      Apologize to the lady and ask for her forgiveness. The lady always needs to be handled in a soft and gentle manner and her rough and tough nature will dissolve, if she also truly does love you.

      You need to look to the Lord brother, learn from his gentle nature. Change from your violent nature, regardless of whether you get back with you girl or not. And God will bless you.

      Like

    • @ Bro trying hard….imglad you hear God only that id like you to note that God changes us first before he changes our worlds,please take note that also your response to your fiancee is wanting abit, let me ask you something?have you noticed your fiancee is defensive because of something that you project? Women are genrally security oriented and wantt o feel safe with a man,so first sit down as man and do an evaluation of your conduct as man then ask God for wisdom on how to deal with your fiancee,please forgive her in advance before you meet and well,lets see what cuts.

      Like

  17. that was deep am just messed up with my life couz i don’t know were to start. i was doing a lot of sex with married men and know i don’t know how to stop it.am HIV positive and some time i do sex to get money to keep me going.i loved the sermon i was really crying inside i need help i need to stop this

    Like

    • @GA. The Lord is gracious and loving you being alive atests to this fact. Your life matters to our father for you are His creature, His daughter. He calls out, ”come to my loving arms and find your rest” I know that all is possible with the Lord. Come to the Lord for You are his. Lift up your hands in surrender as a child reaches to the father and let Him change your story. Am praying for you.

      Like

  18. @GA, I am standing with you in prayer. God is able and willing to change you and heal you from your disease. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you’d like me to pray with you on sunday or any other day. God bless

    Like

  19. I strayed to church after several days indoors due to brokeness and lowly feelings. What amazes me is how those driving into the dome aren’t willing to give pedestrians like myself a lift. But where could we be going? Si the same church! Anywho, I was pleased to see the short-cut. Way to go!!! By God’s grace I was able to get past that and pay attention to the preaching. Not my doing at all. Pastor Simon has a way of grabbing my attention lol. The service was life-changing! I’ve been a tom-boy like all my life! I met a friend from back in the day and he asked me if I carry handbags! For a long time I didn’t know what ladies carried in them. Funny enough I didn’t have one on Sunday. So when pastor said we get our mirrors from our handbags, I was staring at the roof, appreciating the creativity hahaha. May God help me bring out my femininity. In my relationships, I have been manly – decision-making, paying bills, etc. It’s no wonder they haven’t worked. I’m now taking a mind-shift and preparing to get into a great relationship. I’m I dreaming???

    Like

    • Beautiful Says:

      @mimi, i’m so sorry that you are offended by people who drive in to Mavuno without taking a look at you or offering a lift. However, I don’t know how much sense it makes to give someone a lift from the entrance of Mavuno to the parking. Some people have tried but almost always, people say they’ve already reached. That said i’m not making excuses, i’m just thinking perhaps you can reason through that to avoid having that on your chest and making it heavy. By the way I also walk to church. Meanwhile about being a tom-boy, I was one. For a very long time. But thanks to work, someone told me that if I became just a little feminine, I would look so super, I was encouraged and started slowly. I still wear jeans and all but I mix it with a feminin top and feminine shoes and not jeans/a t-shirt/and sneakers get the drift. But it takes a long process as ofcourse being feminin is a whole new ball game but try it slowly. I started with dressing feminin on Satos and Sunday and I grew slowly. I now mostly dress feminin. At least thats what many tell me this days. I am now trying to incorporate make up but my dear, I feel you its a hard long process but the time to start is now.

      Like

  20. for someone who always found an excuse not to go to church, i suprise myself nowdays when i find myself looking forward to sundays at mavuno. i love my church now. may God bless all our church leaders so that they may be able to continue touching our lives like this, am so grateful for the invaluable lessons i keep on learning on every sermon. wow.

    Like

  21. Hi all..i thank u passy S 4r this series..bt i thank passy M much more. I was raped wen i was 10 nd molested wen i was 12 by my cuzo..pastor M u made me 4gve this though 4geting is hard. Anywho,due 2 this it has alwaiz been hard 4r me 2 sustain a relationshp..my longest was 6mnths. I av been a Jezebel 2 an ex closest frnd of myn. I knw am beautiful bt i thnk am turning desperate. I knw get attracted 2 any man who appreciates me..av almost dated a man who’s more than a decade older than me,nd its nt lyk am nt getting advances 4rm my age mates..bt the older ones pull me more…help me get over this. Nd i also thank u passy M 4r helping me throu ur words 2 stop masturbating,an addiction av had 4r almost 10yrs,nd am styl a virgin.

    Like

    • Praying with you Me.

      The Lord will complete the healing that He started in your life. Keep hanging on to God.Never give up on God, you sure gon make it.Because its Him who will carry you to the end. Please come to the Prayer Tent and talk to one of the counsellors.

      Remember Romans 8:28 ” God causes all things to work for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purposes.”

      Like

  22. goodgalgonebadd Says:

    Pastor S i honestly praise God for you and the entire Mavuno pastoral team.This series has brought me to acknowledge that God appreciates and loves me for me.I have allowed men in my past use me and abuse me.For the past two years i have been looking for opportunities to get back at all of them.I thought this would make me feel great but really doesn’t solve much.Then comes the series ‘A woman worth fighting for’ and really i don’t wanna be this woman who is all about vengeance.Jesus pliz pliz pliz take this gal’s heart cuz its in pieces.Frankly i hate men i don’t know how to forgive myself and them.Jesus i’m speechless…….I’m not loving me

    Like

  23. i need your prayers i will come on Sunday in church God bless you

    Like

  24. Thanks Pastor S. U asked 4giveness on behalf of all men and u easied my heart. I was used by a man who wanted me 4 sex I felt so heart broken I had started 2 hate myself but thank God 4 u helped me alot. For the praise and worship team the pray healed me a sickness I had gotten from him. I now have peace in my heart coz I forgave him and start a new beginning with Christ. Thank u Mavuno

    Like

  25. Martha,

    I read your email and just want to assure you that there is nothing unique about what you are going through or who you are. We are all sinners … Christ loves us just as we are … He says “Come just as you are” and He will be the one to help you back on your feet … You cannot do it by yourself out there because you feel unworthy … That is the stronghold the devil is using to keep you away by making you feel unworthy … COME JUST AS YOU ARE … Our righteousness is like filthy rugs before him so even for the rest of us who struggle everyday to walk the narrow path, we will never hit the mark for we live in a fallen world … but He asks as to just present ourselves to Him nonetheless just as we are … Come and let us walk on this journey together!

    Like

  26. Amazing Grace Says:

    To all the gals who are crying out for help cry to the Lord and talk to him about your worries your fears and your tribulations. Imagine He is the only person we talk to without feeling like we’re being judged. I learnt how to pray and tell God like it is in my hurt. When i’m annoyed i tell him and i tell him to make me understand why i feel the way i do. Sometimes its amazing because he says he wants me to just give him a chance. Half the time we know we need to give him a chance but the fear of being laughed at, the fear of being judged and called pretenders and the fear of failing mostly keeps us back. I was there once where i thought no one can forgive me starting with myself but the minute i decided to throw caution to the wind and sit at the father’s feet all became clear. It got to a point i would tell God ok you want me to make this choice and you know it will hurt me? I will do it for you but please make sure i understand why i’m hurting or if you know the pain will kill me take it away. We’ve been made into these creatures who have to be perfect at everything from the boardroom to the bedroom. Who says thats our portion. Even the men stumble and fall. Dont kill your womanhood by tryng to be an all rounder maybe you’re meant to be the most beautiful housewife, mother and caregiver the world has ever known but the standards of success have forced you into the boardroom. If we trust in God ask him to show us the way and keep seeking to know our purpose we will be in our element and will be the most beautiful women known to man. So i encourage all of you who are out there suffering to let the world know that if it kills you you will turn to the Lord if anything for forgiveness and fullness of heart. It doesnt matter where youve been or where you thought you are going its a clean slate when you turn to him and he becomes your father, friend, comforter and hope. Try Jesus he’s the way the truth and the life.

    Like

  27. Blessed Woman Says:

    God has a way of saying things when we need to hear them. today i got to work early and i was able to listen to the sermon… i was feeling low… and I was so annoyed at my hubby and i was asking God.. surely is this all there is to womanhood… is it to serve this home and this household.. and who takes care of me.. who will serve me.. well. God has used Pst. S to remind me that the greatest calling is to serve and to be proud of it.. that God values what i do even if no one else does.. that He loves me and appreciates me.. that was so exciting to hear…

    the bitterness is flowing out.. and i thank God… God bless you

    Like

  28. This message is life changing,thank you pastor S for allowing God to use you to change us
    That sermon left me wondering who am i?i guess i have intertwined myself in both,this was true eye opening and am allowing God to change me to what i should be,cant wait for sunday to hear what God has instore for us
    Baraka

    Like

  29. warrr….great surmon Pastor S, to think i missed the very 1st one in the series….i’m also loving that i can RSS the web page 4 updates…2 deadly…..anyhue, so i’m sitted in church on sunday and i kinda got confused, am realy not sure where 2 draw the line when it comes to using my femininity in the board room n in life as a whole, when will it be that am using what God gave me 4 his greatnes n not look like am flirting to get ahead?? tricky!! more so, I’m newly employed in a ‘man’s world’ and i find myself in meetings with people my parents’ age…it gets realy hard to know where my place is and how to make an impact as a woman.

    Like

  30. Thanx Pastor S. for your lovely sermon on sunday. though am not there physically I usually feel the presence of the Lord in my living room n I even thank God that my husband watches with me the service n plans for us to be driving to nairobi from naivasha where we live so we can worship with you guys, maybe you can plant a church instead……. anyway your sermon has really blessed me its taught me I dont have to fight to be like my husband, I should enjoy being who i am n i will be the best at what I do. I used to feel like i have to be the best in doing our business n all along i was neglecting my womanly duties just to try n prove a point. Am embracing being a the King’s daughter,then wife, then mother n then businesslady and i sure do feel at peace coz my priorities are in order and I can feel God blessing what am doing coz He’s pleased with me, a woman whose embraced her femininity and I can now proudly say am striving to be a woman after God’s own heart. God bless you sana.

    Like

  31. What happens when one is down and out? Been a good girl all my life and wondering if it really pays..curious about the outside free world but afraid of it. Low esteem, low motivation, no affirmations… what next?

    Like

    • @Sad, God loves you and has preserved you and kept you a good girl. It is a gift that he has given you, that ability to remain good, it is a gift. embrace it and rejoice in it. Look at yourself with new eyes and see the immense worth, value, that you have. You are like a precious pearl waiting to be discovered perhaps, but you remain pure and very expensive. The Lord will make great use of that precious Jewel. Respond to him and ask him show you how to use your purity to touch the lives of others. And here is a word from the Lord to you:

      Isaiah 3:10 “Tell the righteous it will be well with them, for they will enjoy the fruit of their deeds”.

      Like

    • sad to happier :-) Says:

      Thank you Lulu, for encouragement… i trust the fruits will be the sweetest ever 🙂

      Like

  32. Need Jesus. Says:

    Hi people, i have read the blog and cant stop crying….you people seem so concerned yet you most probably don’t even know Martha. I am in the same position as Martha tho maybe worse, i have been saved since i was six, strong and nice christian background i know how to pray and read the word, i even know that what i do is wrong but cant seem to stop myself. I am so together in church but out, you don’t want to know me. I have been prayed for countless times, have fasted attended prayer meetings but still nothing. is there anything i am doing wrong? what do i do coz i cant take it anymore…i want to be the girl i used to be before. i want you people to talk to me, i am desperate to know Christ again, to be able to pray and read Gods word again….PLEASE DO NOT IGNORE THIS!!!!! I need Jesus!

    Like

    • @ i need Jesus: Jesus loves you regardless come back to Him just as you are, I suggest you go to http://WWW.Settingthecaptivesfree.com and tou will learn like am learning how to walk in purity and be real with God and others around you.

      Like

    • God hears the cry of your heart and He feels the pain.
      ” Heavenly Father in the name of Jesus,
      I bring your daughter before you, knowing that you are a loving Father.
      You know her pain and distress,
      And in the name of Jesus i declare today that Enough is Enough!
      She cannot continue to be harassed by Satan yet she belongs to you,
      Father i decree your freedom in her life in the name of Jesus,
      I bring down every stronghold of Satan in the name of Jesus,
      Father i ask that may she feel your presence today,
      And an assurance that she is yours.
      Bring her back to you i pray, because only you are able.
      In Jesus name we pray.Amen!”

      Please come to the Prayer Tent on Sunday and talk and pray with one of the counsellors. We are always praying with you.

      Like

    • @Need Jesus, do not lose hope, God is able to mould you and change you. Just give him a chance to work on you. It is not by might nor by power but by the spirit of the Lord.
      Please also get an accountability partner who’ll help you with your walk. It could be a christian friend or join mizizi where you will connect with God, people and your purpose. Finally please come to the prayer tent on sunday and the prayer counsellors will be glad to agree with you in prayer and even assist you.
      I am standing with you in prayer. God bless

      Like

  33. damba javan Says:

    Good work mavuno may God continue to use you to bring more light to the world.

    Like

  34. no guarantees Says:

    @ sad..good girls do finish last..n u have to trust God n not become like the elder brother of the prodigal son-thinking why the lost get a party n th ‘gd’ are ignored.truth is u may feel bad,but u’re spared from sooo much heart ache by walking the narrow.dont give up,He’s a rewarder of all who seek him.i was a gd gal,b4 i started thinking it doesnt pay-but thats a lie to distract you.focus on God-th joy He brings is worth more than a man,or a job or money.pleease believe me.hugs

    Like

  35. Need Jesus,You are in the right place and the right time for your life,We all have fallen short of his Glory but his word says that he delights in showing us mercy so even as you search for him I pray that God will fill your heart.Please pray with the prayer counsellors.

    Like

  36. im not perfect Says:

    not even sure where to start…i identify with a lot of things people have said here!but this is my story…

    I’ve has a gud life,great family n friends,went to good skoolz,am blessed in many many ways! But im so lonely.

    sometimes i look at my life n wonder whether i will ever end up with sumonne that just loves me for the real me!not for the facade of perfection but for me with my imperfections and expects nothing else frm me other than partnership,love, support n devotion.

    To hide my loneliness…i embraced the super achiever,’i can do anything a man can do’ attitude n quickly started climbing the ranks…
    Now, money aint a thinng,i can drive whatever car i want,jump on planes…just coz i can,shop coz i can…but really all i want is sumone who sees ME!

    the men around me think im perfect…i mean, i am a Christian,…really trying to serve God,i have most of the boxes checkd and i walk around with my head up…lots of them assume that im in a relationship n fulfilled! But truth is,even successful women are delicate flowers inside that just need to be wanted and protected and loved and respected n taken care of. Thats what we want.thats what I want.
    I know that God has blessed me with alot…n shielded me from more, but I also know that he wants me to be fulfilled in a relationship and i long to be that woman worth fighting for! But my main worry is thhat even as he works on me to be that woman…will the men notice those qualities?

    Like

    • My sister,
      One thing i can tell you is that God wants to give you His identity for you,thats you need to pursue,dont feel you cant be loved cause a true man is discerning,first please accept the completed work of the cross that in Him you are accepted and beloved,you dont have to prove anything, any man worth his salt will embrace and celebrate your presence in his life, He makes all things beautiful in His time.
      Please take note of these words, you are a Princess in His kingdom,Gods daughter,accept that reality and tell the HOLY Spirit to amplify it in ya heart and keep walking with ya head help up high,as for the men most are normally intiidated by a confident woman like you cause most still dont have a proper identity of their Manhood.

      Keep your head up held high Princess!!!

      Like

  37. great sermon Says:

    Thank you for the sermon.
    Today I didn’t really feel like going to church because i had so much work to do and i thought i could stay home and work abit. However that did not work out. So i asked my fiancée what time he was going to church. He said he would be going for the 12 o’clock service. So i decidecd to join him. (Mavuno is not my home church, i visit) The previous day was really busy because i am planning for the wedding and also the Lord has blessed me with a job where i have to work 15 hours a day, not because the work is too much but because my line manager sets unrealistic targets and pushes one to the wall. At times i feel like i can just write my resignation letter and just leave. Sometimes the pressure and targets are just too much that i really don’t know what to do. Other times i have so much pressure and i just want to cry. In fact i have cried so many times about that job, but when i think of others who are jobless i am forced to appreciate my job. But whenever i feel like that i have my favourite place in the office where i can get some peace of mind and speak to the Lord. (most of you know where that is!!!) That keeps me going. Pastor there has to be more to life than this!!!!
    Anyway i eventually got to the church but my heart was so heavy, i was disappointed with my fiancée. We sat at the back and as the praise went on, i was sited just pitying myself and wondering why i had to come to church. My fiancée tried to tell me to stand and praise but i just wasn’t feeling it. So i just sat there as people praised and worshiped. And it was now finally time for the sermon and my favourite Pastor S comes on stage. And when i hear ‘dream girl’ worth fighting for my heart skips a bit. I begin asking myself whether my fiancée thinks i am the girl worth fighting for! I cried throughout the whole sermon and i couldn’t stop. When you talked of the characteristics of a girl worth fighting for i felt like i was the complete opposite. You said she is caring, Natures, responsible, encourager – at least those are the ones i remember. And the example you gave about ‘Njeri’ really touched me. It is amazing how the simple things are the ones that seem to count the most. Deep down inside my heart i know i have a caring heart but due to the nature of my job and pride i have swallowed that character because for me it comes out as meek and weak so i always prefer not to express that side of me. I am the only lady in an office of 5 and the youngest so i have to put up with a different side of me and kill the softer part to make it.
    You also talked about submission and as i am engaged that is something i have struggled with for some time. Thank you for the example you gave us in regard to your wife making a lovely meal even though you had quarrelled. That is not something i could naturally do, i would really struggle and pretend to do that. I don’t believe in slavery and i am really scared of that. Sometimes when i think of marriage i think it is the worst arrangement ever, (the institution where the men gains all glory and the ladies are oppressed and depressed) i don’t see why i should leave my parents house and go and live with someone who thinks i am his servant. I was brought up in a family where my dad would come home at midnight on a daily basis and we had to wake up and cook for him, wait for him to eat, remove the dishes from the table, wash his hands and make a cup of tea. My mum did that for the longest time until she eventually retired and handed over the button to her children. I never liked the feeling at all. After my mum had submitted so much and served my dad, mum later found out that dad had another wife with Children, that broke her into pieces. I don’t want to find myself in that same position and i tend to prefer protecting my heart by not giving my all. So that if anything happened i will be able to pick up the few broken pieces and have a quick fix. I pray that the Lord helps soften my heart that i may go beyond my fears and possess what the Lord has in store for me. I liked what you said that if you have a husband who loves you, you would not have a problem submitting to him. That is very powerful and i pray that the wise men in the congregation took note of that.
    I am a career woman and i have never thought of having to sacrifice my career because of my family. But during the sermon i actually felt that was not something so difficult to do……for what you love, you create time……….although for now that would break me. I don’t think i have the courage to do that… only time and God will tell.
    Encouragement – i have this dream and desire to talk to young girls and encourage them about their future. That is what gives me satisfaction. I know i would enjoy listening to people’s problem, empathising with them and turning their pain and sorrow into joy and into success stories to the Glory of God. However what hinders me is my job, i don’t seem to have time even for myself, so the little time i get off work i try and spend it with the family. But one day i know this will come to pass and all is not in vain.
    On a lighter note, I do not have friends who i can share with and cry with. All my friends got married and they are not within reach. They seem to have forgotten that i still need them..but i guess marriage has the tendency of doing that to people. I pray to God that i will not be like that. Due to that i am very careful not to let my heart out to anyone i meet so i feel alone and i just want to hold someone’s hand and just share and cry my heart out…..i think that would make me feel better. I just want someone to listen to me but there is no one around. I seem to be in a cave shouting for help but no one seems to hear me. My feminity cries out!
    My prayer is that the Lord may make me over again and just help me start my life afresh! I am tired of pretending to do things that i don’t like. I just want to be me……and let me out of the cave. Please pray with me and ask the Lord to give me peace and satisfaction and to forget the past and focus on the things ahead.
    Thank you Pastor S, I have listened to your sermons for so long and every time i hear you preach you encourage my heart. I thank God for bringing such people like you in my life. For me i do admire what the Lord has done in your life. I started listening to your sermons/teachings when i was in high school and there is no time i have attended your sermon and come out the same. I don’t have anything that i can give you to make you feel appreciated but my prayer is that the Lord may bless you sososososos much.

    Like

  38. Allow me to take a different tangent here… I agree with everything Pastor Simon has said and thank you for such a deep message that not only speaks to the women but also to our men.

    I know we have time and time again talked and praised women who give up thier careers to raise thier children… and to say the least… Its a noble and brave thing to do… on the other hand… i want to appreciate the career women, who though they have not given up thier careers to stary home… they have managed to work out a balance betweeen family, work, ministry and social life. I know not one..but several who are doing the balancing act and you know what…Its working!! Its working because they know where to draw the line especailly when it comes to work. I am a career woman… i have a passion that drives me to do what i do… and i want to be the best at it… but my family comes first…. and everyone at work knows that!

    so to all the career women out there who have work life balance — they are queens, they are nurture, they are friends!!!! you girls!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.

