Tough Love

September, Spred the Love month!

September, Spread the Love month!

Romans 8:28

God causes all things to work together for my good!

When stuff happens, don’t get bitter, GET BETTER!

40 Responses to “Tough Love”

  1. Oops! A small error has cost us the first few blogs! Be so kind as to resubmit them,. Thanks.
    God bless.

    Like

  2. Wow! Pastor Simon, its amazing the way God communicates to us. I have been having this major struggle with God and my prayer-life, I cannot complain coz am not at the worst but at some point i faced up God in fact that was either jana or the day before. I told him, God remember I am human and as much as I know you’ll be with me through thick and thin, please don’t make it too thin. I told him honestly I don’t think I could be like Job! I have not been to church since I think July, I was at war with my struggles and God and satan whom I know is in the mix! I even gave up praying coz I was like maybe God thinks am a joker and when he delays to answer my prayer (the way I would like him to) I know God has three answers to our prayers: NO, YES and WAIT! but at timesI get discouraged and the distance between him and I begins to grow. I feel during today’s sermon God was speaking directly to me. I felt blessed. I did not regret the decision I made to go back to church for the sole reason of getting to strengthen my faith through fellowship! I can’t wait for next month’s sermons coz that’s something else that I have been discussing with God.

    Like

  3. Ezekiel 17:7 Says:

    Thank you very much pastor Simon.im new at mavuno,barely 3 months old and 2days sermon touchd my heart much deeper than al the previous ones.i believe it spoke to numerous souls in that congregation.take heart friends,God is doing it 4 ur own good.

    Like

  4. My past has affected my future am stil hurt by what pple say but somehow i get though it after saying a prayer i belive that God takes us through staff 2 prove himself 2 us & draw us closer 2 him thank u pastor s 4 helping us understand

    Like

  5. Today’s sermon ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh yes! Too real.Amazing that there are people like Job whose response to adversity is WORSHIP.How can I become a Job?That grabbed me.
    The story of the homies who came to sit with Job and when they opened their mouths they spead foot&mouth disease..yaani bile.There’s a place for silence.A buddy posted a quote last week…a closed mouth gathers no foot.
    Y’know Pastor S was so sensitive to divorced people,I thought of my sister who went through a period like Job’s and you can be sure there were many of her buddies who sat in silence then when they opened their mouths ooops mouthwash was needed.Mavuno cgurch is real,I see an authentic community..or at least an efffort too build one.Thank you Mavuno,may Jehovah continue to use y’all.

    Like

  6. Let first say,september 2009 has indeed been a season of LOVE! I feel loved! From the prodigal son’s sermon to the tough love sermon. To be honest,today’s or should i say yesterday’s sermon was to me not hittin hard,i was a bit distracted,but when i meditated on it,i had one of those VOILA moments. I have been the prodigal son, then i went through the period of being THE DONKEY. Tough love is to me a character shaping process,someone calls it the capacity building season! There seasons where we are foolish,and we do things that are jus meant for our downfall,but God’s amazing love always turns things around to be for our good. He is so faithful! ….. Oh and my life group is the coolest! 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi Mavuno,

    Good job on the timely update of the October series. Keep it up! 🙂

    Like

  8. “My perspective determines my response …. ” Pr. S, you are an anointed servant of the Lord … Bless your heart as you continue to influence your congregation fearlessly ….

    Thank you sooooo much!

    Like

  9. wow! janas sermon was on point! i felt hammered! i dont think i want a punch/slap from God for Him to get my attention! nimestyle up. thanks pasii and all those who’ve left comments. they are encouraging too. like Lucy, there are times (very recently) av felt the same! but all i can say is God is such a daddy!!! don’t i just love Him?!!!

    Like

  10. I had not been to church for like 4 years and the after hearing the tough love sermon, i was touched. I have been through the same suffering but the Lord healed me. I am now ok and looking forward to Sundays service.

    Like

  11. It was amazing how God speaks to us. This month has been quite a blessing.The Lord has used His servants to speak to us. I now understand that the Lord can decide to walk me through adversity instead of delivering me from it.Pastor M, God bless you and refresh you.

    Like

  12. Hi Pastor S,

    Thank you for being God’s mouthpiece in our lives. I must confess I haven’t been to church for the whole month and yesterday I made a comeback. And what a comeback this was. As I crept out of the hole I had dug myself into, there was the Tough Love pill for me to swallow. I have really been feeling alone and have had a million and one questions since my Dad’s demise 2 months back. I’ll be honest the questions still linger. Why did Dad have to go smack in the middle of my wedding plans when I needed him most?

    As Pastor S was speaking, I felt like the spotlight was on me. I have agonised over the reasons why he had to go. But the sermon was a wake up call. I don’t have to figure everything out. God can choose to glorfiy Himself any situation. I am have been yanked out of my pity party. So God can hook you up with trouble to glorify himself? What a Father we’ve got. Amazing indeed… I am glad that at the end of it all, He is faithful to see us through the situation and the trouble. Isaiah 43 was the icing on the cake.

    Pastor Simon and the whole Mavuno team, thanks for allowing God to use you in such a mighty way. The service was awesome from Praise and worship and all. Pastor Wamae and Pastor Angie…game yenyu iko juu tu sana….

    Like

  13. hi pst s, thanks for the sermon, i got to understand that even in my most of difficult times, adversity, God is in charge and watches over all that is happening with an ultimate end of goodness. i was really touched by the part where Job started cursing why he was ever born just to suffer, but God replyed him by asking. If he ever knew what it takes to creat heavens and earth, life and all that is in it. That demonstrates how mighty our God is n therefore the adversity Job was going through was just a drop in the Ocean.
    Thats so encouraging and believe you me, am sharing the same with my collegues in the office over lunch break. Ive asked them to spare some little time n listen to this word.
    Be blessed more n more to continue with the good work

    Regards

    Timothy B

    Like

  14. GOD bless you pastor s. it was good to know that am not suffering alone. the message was very very timely. i believe many other people got encouraged and healed. i have not always approved of the “showbiz” that happens before the sermon and it seemed unlikely that i grow, but time and time again there has been a WORD. i only wish the sermon was a little longer…

    Like

  15. Thanks so mcuh pastor s for the good msg. it did touch my heart in a special way and revealed to me that i have to go through some issues in life to come out more refined.
    i am going thr’ divorce and the last 3 yrs have been the hardest in my life.i have set in self pity and wondered whether God still remembered me.
    i felt so much blsd by the message and got revelation that God is putting me thr’ fire to come out a more refined person.
    i felt so much peace and now i know that God is still with me. God is doing a new thing in my life and i feel like juz giving myself more to Him.

    God bls you pastor m.
    i know understand that God gives tough love at times.
    mavuno has blsd my heart since i became a regular 4 mothns ago.
    mavuno, keep the fire burning!!!!!!

    Like

  16. Hi Pastor S,
    Sundays summon really spoke to me, i loved the donkey story because God has had to hit me hard in the past to get my Attention.The testimony by the young lady(i cant recall her name)also moved me to tears.
    Then Isiah 43 summarised it all so well.
    1.But now thus saith the LORD that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.

    2When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.

    3For I am the LORD thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour…..

    I live and work in Mombasa bt wen am in Nairobi i always make a point of visiting Mavuno.
    God bless you guyz.

    Like

  17. The peace and joy iv found in church is amazing! i was out of work for 6 months and only prayed abt it wen i felt “it was necessary”……one sunday morning 5 weeks ago a friend dragged me out of bed to church, 2 weeks later pastor M invited pple for prayers behind the tent, prayed with a lady abt getting a job n gave my life to Jesus too and after exactly 2 weeks which was saturday 26/09 i got a nice job!….i had done several interviews,interviews that i needed to prepare for days, but this one that i did wit the lord in me, this one that i did on a saturday morning after praying abt it gave me a job…..Thankyou Lord. thankyou pastors for the good work you doing in mavuno.

    Like

  18. Hi guys,Hi good people.
    may i say that Sun’s sermon is one of the most inspiring messages i ‘ev ever herd in my life . PST S, I MUST say that you r meant 2 do exactly what u r doing in u a life now n may the Lord bless u in u a life n family that u will do even more 4 Jesus. I ‘ev never ever looked at my lows as in such a perspective. That can allow stuff 2 happen either thru my own human weakness or Satan’s influence which i think its crazy, or other people whether friends or ma adversaries just 2 torment me but nevertheless the almighty Father loving 2 me workaround me 2 c that am out of danger n am a better guy 4 his work n vision.
    I ev an issue however, ‘is there any thing i can do 2 b attentive 2 God at all times may be 2 escape this kind of His way of getting my attention?coz its not funny at all. How can i know that what the Lord is doing in my life is not a punishmennt but a way of shapping me…as in where do i draw the line..? Lastly,does God spark another person i love or closely related 2 me 4 me 2 get my attention?eg strikes my wife or muy mother 2 get me…like my young doughter is raped 4 God 2 get me, n if He would do that why , is it not too unfair 4 this gal realy? SAM

    Like

  19. praise God for pastor S.sunday’s sermon really touched me and made me reflect on what going on in my life.I also came to realise that am going through alot and all i need to do right now is just give God the attention He deserves..There is alot going on in my life and i feel it about time to let God take control.Just like the lady who got an accident,it about time i take a big pause and develop my relationship with God.thanx Pastor S for that powerful message.May God bless you and your family.

    Like

  20. its good to hear what the lord is doing in our lives thro’ mavuno.to be frank am undergoing a terrible moment in my life. i prayed for a job which god gave me immediately after my college. it has been a year, my work is good and have been enjoying it. my boss is a widower approaching his 70s and an asian. he has been insisting on us being intimate but i have never entertained any of his jokes. yesterday was my worst day when he came silently behind my desk in my office and forced a kiss on my mouth. its hurting, humiliating when i think of the difference in our age. he is my grandpas age am just 21 and saved. i hate all this. church please pray for me that the lord will open another door for me since i cant continue like this. its too much for me. i need another job so as to sustain myself. i feel hurt, abused, intimidated, humiliated…..god knows it all.

    please pray with me.

    Like

  21. tough love!! yes, that’s what we need at times.
    pastor S, thanks so much – may God continue to lift u to higher grounds.

    it doesnt matter what we go thr’, God is always close to us.
    mavuno, u are influencing society in a positive way.

    Like

  22. hi guys.
    Just read ck’s concerns n appeal 4 our prayers. I must admit its not easy with u as a christian n as a young Lady who has the right 2 choose what you want in life and who you wona give your love 2.
    Now, this is my opinion………. may be its time you become fearless and stand 4 the truth and demand 4 your rights and respect as human being . Ask 4 a meeting this one morning during the working hours with u a boss,sit respectively straight 2 him and approach it this way ; -thank him 4 giving y you a chance 2 work with him and how much you have appreciated his help all thru.- tell him that you are a born again christian and that you do Pray 4 him knowing very well that its not easy to live as a widower in his age n responsibilities, and that you would like 2 openly tell him that you are very hurt and uncomfortable when he engages you relationship issues that are outside the work. coz its not right b4 your God, its not even culturally correct, and its not professionally ethical. so kindly ask 4 respect coz that not too much. He is likely 2 fear you courage n appreciate your wisdom n respect in dealing with issues and the fact that you r not issuing threat or insults. IF he cant respect that …he is likely to entertain that 2 the farthest it can go n if he discovers that u cant give in he may make sure you kinda surfer or punish you out of frustrations. So my sister as we stand with you b4 God also stand u a position…opportunities sometimes presents themselves as crisis n if u fear u gonna miss it if u b a fearless u gonna influence coz if its not you then who? Otherwise that the way i see it………….n i stand 2 be corrected. Tough Love of Jesus be with you guys n 2 God be the glory

    Like

  23. sory, my previous comment was suposed 2 b on Ak’s case and not Ck’s. I beg your pardon Ck. God bless you.

    Like

  24. Pastors in mavuno are doing a good job – yes, God is using u to make a difference in the pple’s lives.

    AK, i feel so much for you. thank God you have held on to ya faith. do not feel intmidated to do the sinful, God knws it and He’s opening a new door for you.
    if it becomes too much, you have to be bold and take that step of faith – stepping out into the unknown.
    but before that happens, i know God is gonna open another door – He is juz close to you.
    be encouraged in the Lord – ill pray with you on this isue coz our GOD WILL NEVER ALLOW US TO BE ASHAMED IN THE EYES OF THE WORLD.

    Just hang in there…

    Like

  25. Dear Pastor S,
    When you go through stuff, dont get bitter – get better. This phrase has stuck in my head like nothing else. Obviously the first response is to get bitter – it is so much easier!! Now i must strive to get better with the renewed realization that God is teaching me something. As for being hit hard by God so that i sit up and take notice – i want to avoid that by all means necessaryfor we all know that the more someone loves you the tougher the love can get so i we can only imagine God’s tough love and how tough it can get. So i intend to listen more so that i hear Him when he whispers lest i get to the point where he will have to hit me hard – like that poor donkey……Thank you for being a blessing in my life and the life of so many others.

    Like

  26. @AK, praying for you

    Like

  27. Guys, 24/7 is on..let us all come and call upon the name if the Lord for our country, church and ourselves. Worship night on friday 8pm.

    Like

  28. What I thougt of putting down has already been written by others and doing so would have the unintended effect of dilluting what is already on record. On my side am impressed by not only the message by Pastor S but also some remarkable improvement in the worship team and other areas. However, am not sure why there has not been any thought or mention of a Church Choir. Most of us who have come from other congregations know what impact a Choir is capable of having which would transform such an active Church. There are so many talented singers who have just been waiting for the opportunity. Lastly, thanks for those who have tried to mind their language. Avoid corrupting your English with Swahili or Sheng as it is for your own good you dotcoms.

    Like

  29. dear pastor S,

    thanks for the great sermon! the content was all too relevant as am experiencing some tough love right now! am going thro. a rough patch of my life after a smooth sail in a long time when everything was working out.

    am so encouraged by last weeks message and how job responded to tragedy.i am waiting on the Lord and trusting him to see me through, and yes, i will take the lesson as well. am not gonna complain/doubt Gods purpose.

    mavuno, please pray for me.

    regards.
    GK

    Like

  30. ..@AK; pole sana about the sexual harrassment, have u been helped? pls get in touch with either Pst Gloria or Pst Molly or Wamaitha Mungai,they def will help

    Like

  31. thanx for your prayers.

    i will do exactly what you guys advised me. it was so hard sharing this but thanx to you all for your encouragement. i feel like hav got p’ple to hold ma back. i know i ought to stand on my ground-christ and this i will do. @ Dan, i will make a point of seeing a prayer councilor on sunday.

    thanx again.

    @kim, will there be an overnight prayer? need to know this.
    cant wait for sunday.

    Like

  32. @MS honestly i wouldnt entertain a church choir!

    Like

  33. AK, if you want more support ask Pastor Judy at the prayer tent to give you my number.Remember you have done nothing wrong for him to act the way he has.otherwise praying for you.shalom.

    Like

  34. I miss listening to Mavuno sermons, did you stop uploading them to your website? 😦

    Like

  35. Thanks guys for the wise words you have given our sister AK. this is what I can add, may be God has put you there for a divine reason to make your boss come to his senses and know Him so may be before thinking of quitting ask the Lord to help you leave the man changed. will pray with you

    Guys, looking forward to the coming Sundays, it is all about money

    Like

  36. Greetings Mavunonites

    God has been great and have never regretted my visiting Mavuno church. The sermon on Tough love was great, 2007 is a year when i actually believed God is a myth. why was i going through hard times if He ever existed? but the sermon was such an eye opener. Keep praying Guys and believe i God for a miracle! I tahnk God for Pastor S, may God richly bless you!

    Like

  37. the tough love was so on point and i have experienced it in my life.God loves us bt he sometimes has to remind us of that fact.pastor s thnx for a great month

    Like

  38. @Kasuku,I feel you somehow even though no one truly knows the pain of divorce ,you are unbelievably alone and lonely …moments when you totally doubt yourself and your ability to do anything well.There is a GOD ,we call Him Father,He knows..He truly knows.Stick with Him coz even when His folk forsake you,He never will.
    @Yvonne…may God be just that to you,GOD.
    @Antoine…lost my dad when I was 6 ,had questions 2 decades later..yet again,we have a Father who went through losing His only son…He knows even I don’t.May you know the embrace of His love today and many many days ahead.I read God does not comfort us to make us comfortable but to make us comforters.

    Like

  39. @MS,i think the essence of the worship team is the same as what you are talking about..if you have gone thru the mavuno marathon then am sure you understand why not a choir…@ak,read this very late but am hoping that you have goten the help you need to stand firm as a christian..praying 4you..be blessed

    Like

  40. wow pastor S, that message will definately make me look at challenges in a different light. Thanks and I shall pray that God continues to use you greatly.

    Like

Comments are closed.

