This January @ Mavuno

happily-ever-after

I take you to be mine… for better for worse, for richer for poorer… Forever…

Does it work? For Real? Or is it just a Fairy Tale?

Single, Married, Separated, Skeptic, Disillusioned? This January @ Mavuno, come find out if its really possible to live out your happily ever after. You don’t want to miss this…

26 Responses to “This January @ Mavuno”

  1. “The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.”

    Theodore Hesburgh quotes

    “Family is the most important thing in the world.”

    Princess Diana quotes

    “As the family goes, so goes the nation and so goes the whole world in which we live.”

    Pope John Paul II quote

    Like

  2. THANKSGIVING
    2008

    I thank God for year 2008.I thank God for Life,Protection and providence.
    The year started rough,with a family business going sour affecting family relations.Our prayer friends stood by us,and God sent our way,people we least expected who allowed themselves to be used by God in this situation.
    I thank God for many months later,what seemed impossible,God has brought restoration.God has given us our own business which,is positively growing and is now a blessing channel for other people.God is also restoring the family relations and started healing our wounds.To God be the Glory.

    I would also like to thank God for healing.We had two scare moments this year and visited HDU twice.My mum had a stroke in June and was in a coma for some days.She was eventually discharged,but diagnosed as a Diabetic.She is recuperating well,but in late November,her kidneys failed and was back in hospital,for dialysis.
    As i write this blog,I want to give thanks to God,since she is much better now and is at home.We thank God for all the people who adminstered to her in Hospital especially her personal attendant.To God be the Glory.

    I want to thank God on behalf of my family.
    My Husband and My sister were engaged in a new assignment this year.
    My Sister in law was promoted and God led her to a new house,after her previous lease contract was frustrated.
    My brother had a succesful thanksgiving ceremony for the birth of his children and baptism,inspite of mum’s illness.Thanks to God for Mums’ friends who supported us in all family engagements since mum could not attend and played the role of mum.
    Healing for my sister in law’s husband based in Nigeria who was involved in freak accident.

    I especially want to Thank God for all the life group friends who prayed with us,and for Mavuno church and especially the pastors who allowed themselves to be used by God throughout the year and sharing God’s messages.I am richer and stronger in Christ as a result of this fellowship.

    I thank God for the testimonies shared,since they indeed encourage and show God’s faithfulness and grace.I am touched by Ed Nyamu’s testimony.
    We have been trusting God for a child for nine years and I am encouraged by his revelation.I will indeed continue praying and trusting God in this situation,knowing that what He can do for the Nyamu’s ,He can do for us too.

    Mavuno,God has been good to us.We Give God all the Glory.

    Like

  3. can’t wait to go thro’ this,many families are on the verge of breakin,couples have given up and as the youth we have no one to look upto
    why do i need a lifetime partner?this has been my question,lookin around i cant find the answer and am like vanity,this happily ever after maybe after all a fairy tale…
    but thank God for Mavuno,this is the most appropriate thing that has so far happened,i love yu Mavuno;can’t wait for the teaching

    Like

  4. well as we start the year there could not have been a better series to start off with. 2008 had been a delusional year for me and after so many years(yaani more than half of my life) of being a believer some holes were put in my armor especially concerning relationshps. I started wondering whether God is for real…i had to see my friends go through separation, broken relationships and hey i am still trying to figure out whether i will be in a relationship ever(where are the guys) and why do married men go after us the single girls. I jokingly ask my friends whether i bear a tag on my forehead for all to see..and promptly ask me out albeit they being married woiyeeeeee….
    I pray that this series shall surely help me see clearly and also be the beginning of a beautiful thing in my life.
    As for sermon ya sunday why lie The Lord is my shepherd i will be fine thanks Pastor S. iit wouldnt have been more timely.
    The few months i have been in Mavuno have made a major diffrence and i am glad that my path led to Mavuno.
    barakas!

    Like

  5. mmmhh ……….. thanks GOD for mavuno ….

    To be honest i dont beileve in happly every after ………. because of what my eyes have seen and my ears have heard ……… cant wait .

    GOD BLESS U ALL

    Like

  6. I concur with Joe and Ciiku…I just got back from Kenya and all that I heard and saw really put fear in me about marriages…..I have such a desire to get married but with all the infidelity going on, I press the breaks even harder. I still have hope in marriage because it is not God who has ruined it, it is people. Marriages are under attack so let us pray for healing for those that are broken and for a restoration of hope for those who still have the desire…
    Peace…

    Like

  7. As pastor kanjii says in one of his tracks “I donno what to say,I donno what to do………”,I thought since I am so lonely out here,I may end my loneliness when I get married.Wa!!Thanks for putting it so clearly infront of my eyes Pastor M!!I have a long way to go.Wooosaaaa!!!

    Like

  8. Wow. I was absolutely blown away by yesterday’s sermon. The amazing thing was the events of the previous week had led to so many questions that I felt were answered so powerfuly during Sunday’s service. I am so appreciative of you Pastor M and the entire Mavuno team for all the prayer, work and dedication that went into preparing this message that spoke so clearly to the hearts of today’s generation. The message of the Samaritan woman and the idea that she was just like me, disillusioned with the idea of marriage to the extent that she was ready to just forget it and make up her own rules truly spoke to me. Coincidentally I had been reading the same passage a few days before and it was nice to see it again in this new more personalised light.

    I really appreciate all the work you put into your sermons. I truly feel that at Mavuno you are all walking the talk and it shows, its not about preaching from the pulpit but it is more about walking together along this journey, falling and getting up, learning from our mistakes and just letting our light shine. I feel so blessed to be a part of something so beautiful and life changing. As requested during the service one of things that I would love to see addressed during this series is ‘fear of committment’. I feel like some of the reasons a lot of us keep hopping from person to person looking for the elusive Mr./Ms. Right is a fear of committment, a fear of getting it wrong, a fear of repeating the mistakes of our parents and ending up in one of those loveless marriage we see all around us. I would be interested in knowing what the Bible teaches us about this fear and how to overcome it. I would also like to see a different picture of marriage. What does marriage mean in God’s eyes? Why is it a beautiful and blessed path? When you get past the fairytales and the horror stories what is it about marriage that makes you feel like its one of the best decisions you have ever made? I think I would love to hear more about this in a candid, balanced and forthright manner. What makes getting married worth it?

    My own impression of marriage from years of going to church and just observing people around me is that it just consists of so many don’ts…. it is thing we’re supposed to do if we want to enjoy sex without the image of an angry God frowning down at us and the prospect of being punished forever in hell simply for doing something that feels so natural. Ironically though once you get in there doesn’t seem to be much fun going on, there are so many rules and so much interference from outsiders telling you about what you should and should not do as a married member of society, and then there all those cases of people who seemed to do everything right and still get screwed at the end of it all dealing with infidelity and violence that it seems like a great price to pay for a few moments of pleasure.

    I really enjoyed this new take you are putting on the idea of marriage and I loved that realisation that successful marriages come from the union of successful singles who are in recognition that God is their Source of joy, love, appreciation and self worth and the other is a companion to share it with. I’m really looking forward to the coming sermons and hope that you will be able to shed further light on my path.

    Thank you for all the wonderful work you do. You are truly an inspiration.

    Like

  9. Pastor M, thanks for being so open and honest and real.

    Looking forward to more biblical references to what marriage and relationships should be like. Coz what the world offers as an example can’t be relied upon.

    Like

  10. Pastor M. Thanks for your message of 11th Jan. However, what do you say to the claim that a lot of single people are lonely because their friends dump them once they get. The single guy/gal then finds that they are excluded or completely cut-off from that friendship. This is particularly the case with women. Your girlfriend gets married and suddenly there are no more calls, there is no more hanging out, meeting up for coffee, you are completely ostracised. In fact I have been to more than a few bridal showers where the among the words of wisdom and advice dished out to the bride to be is “Be VERY wary of your single girlfriends! Keep your distance and do not let her come close to you and your husband” (because you know the only aim and the only thing on the mind of the single lady is to steal away the husbands of our married friends!!). It’s a shame, and for some people, as they watch their circle of friends shrinking, they do end up quite lonely and take the “easy” way out by marrying the first person that comes along and offers them companionship and better still a pass back into the friendships that they once cherished.

    Like

  11. I loved yesterday’s sermon, it really was an eye opener and made alot of sense. Alot of people get into relationships for wrong reasons. I once got into one out of loneliness,tried to make it work but realised i was kidding myself and got out of it. Putting God first sure helped me and i came to realise that all things truly are possible if you seek Him first. I’m alot happier now, in a better loving relationship for all the right reasons and above all i always seek God before making any major steps in my life. There is true happiness when God is in control.

    Like

  12. Well well well……Happily ever after is what we create for each other as spouses since we cant start calculating the probability of what would have turned out if we ended up with other people. We first need to chose to understand the fact that the guy one is dating is not the most handsome in the planet or the chic one is dating is not the most beautiful and we’ll come across people who are better looking than our spouses but have in mind that they belong to someone else. Secondly, i believe if we get to understand and love your spouse according to his/ her terms then there won’t be uncalled for pressures and comparisons. Cheers!!

    Like

  13. Who is your Source? Wow!!!! I had been inviting my house mate to church for months now and finally she came to listen to happily ever after. Truth be told, that is what all of us want in life to be loved , to love and to have purpose.

    She had tears in her eyes after the sermon because she realized that she always goes to the wrong source to get her happily ever after, I had tears in my eyes because I had always asked God to open her eyes so she can see that.

    Does this mean that she will change her lifestyle and go to the right source? I am crossing my fingers that through this month which she has promised to come, she will find her source. Whose love, as i found out makes you thirst no more, whose love once it fills you, it overflows and you let go of insecurities, clinginess and your husband has no reason to hang out with the boys as you don’t suffocate him.

    I was totally blessed, to know that being single is a , being single is a gift.I am now enjoying it throughly and not asking God why he has forgotten me. Thank you for reaffirming us single people that there is nothing wrong with us, that we are also loved and have been given the gift of being by ourselves for this season.

    I cant wait for what’s in store next Sunday.

    Like

  14. Happy New Year Pastor M…

    This could not have come at a better time, can’t wait to hear more…

    Like

  15. sundays sermon was like the taste of a doctors needle injection on a sick ten year old . you know very well you need this injection to get well/healed ,yet the idea of it pricking your tender skin and flesh is a whole nightmare of uncertainity.

    Pastor M’s 1st sermon of happily ever after-Looking for love in all the wrong places was to me like the injection ,and God personally chatting with the biggest issue and challenge in my life since i joined Mavuno in June last year and even helped around in one of the departments . i landed a good job but it did not give me that satisfaction , i was in an ungodly relationship for 2 years that i thought i would find REAL SOURCE OF LOVE but it didnt we were both frustrated like pastor put it on sunday TWO TICKS WITH NO DOG SUCKING EACH OTHER DRY! the thought of me getting out of this ungodly relationship and finding the REAL SOURCE was the last thing i wanted to hear because it means a whole load of personal sacrifices , loosing close friends , breaking up, getting rid of old bad habits i wasnt ready to face such especialy this year.

    However, when God speaks we have no choice but to listen and obey and yes several weeks ago just before this sermon i painfully ended my ungodly relationsh that i found no SOURCE OF LOVE (not because i wanted but because i have found no love still) ,cut away from some of my close friends, and still strugling to get rid of my old habits.

    Man for me this is not easy am still in tears ,heart break mocking from friends but my prayer is that as i give myself to GOD TO BE MY SOURCE this month and forever i will never thirst again like the woman at the well and one day i will testify of his goodness.

    Like

  16. Anne christine Says:

    Hey mavunites,
    I salut u pastor M and the hardworking team at mavuno,you guys dont know what impact you are making on Africa, and may God bless you mightly on this earth en crown you with the most beautiful crowns when we get to heaven.i missed last sunday’s sermon as much as i was just so prepared for this month’s topic. Iam NOT!! ntending to miss the rest at all ,i hpe the devil anaskia hiyo!!!God bless you all

    Like

  17. Hey all, greatly appreciating the comments. I believe that in all our heartbreaks and challenging experiences, God is at work to restore. Thanks too for the many who came forward for prayer in both services. I believe that as we continually learn to come to the Source, He will change us from the inside out. And build us up to be healthy people who are able to be a source of His love and grace to others. I can’t wait to see what God will have done in all of us as a result of this series. Have a blessed week! Pastor M

    Like

  18. Pastor M,
    You just drove the point home.been dating for a while and an i thought it was time to propose to my chick…..however the question that lingered in my mind was.”IS SHE THE ONE”I had to hold back .
    it reminds me of Prov 29:21….MANY ARE THE PLANS IN A MAN’S HEART, BUT IT IS THE LORD’S PURPOSE THAT PREVAILS.
    thanks for the good work. the sermon is timely to our generation.
    be blessed

    Like

  19. When I joined I was a downward path of rebellion and the night life. I had grown up in a Christian home but had always wondered what the other side of the fence looked like. I had always thought it looked much nicer and greener, so I crossed over just to check it out. Soon I was nursing hangovers and having very groggy Monday mornings…each time vowing that it was my last time. Deep down I knew what i was doing was wrong but I kept going back hoping to get accepted by my new found ‘friends’.
    Then a freind invited me to Mavuno and I was so jazzed. There were cool saved peeps crazy for God!! It immediately re-ignited my love for God.
    To cut my long story short, my coming back to church and to God meant ending some relationships. That wasn’t easy ,I got hurt in the process and resentful,especially about realationships. I had totally given up on relationships. To me, no guy could be faithful,it didn’t matter how ‘saved’ they claimed to be!! Saved or not, men could not be trusted!!
    This month’s series is timely because I have been praying that the Lord would help me deal with the pain and hurt and my whole out look on relationships and marriage. Talk about looking for love in all the places? Been there done that!! I can now thankfully declare that God has indeed healed my heart and I have begun to dream again about marriage and getting into a life long relationship with a man after God’s own heart and pray that He would make me the woman He would need me to be for such a man.
    Pastor M and your team, I thank God for you guys and consider myself priviledged to be part of the awesome work God is doing through you guys to impact today’s generation to be be happily ever after….

    Like

  20. i missed last sunday’s sermon, but i surely do not intend on missing any other!
    this series is so timely!i too like njeri above been battling with relationships issues. to be honest i had reached the stage where i needed to be convinced that men can be trusted. but having gotten saved has opened up my eyes totally! i have seen some real good relationships through my new found born again friends that have made me start to believe again! this month’s series is RIGHT ON!

    Like

  21. I have 2 say th@ i was a lil’ dissapointed ova th fact th@ there isnt a ‘THE ONE’! jst th past wk i was feeling i mean sure i wz going 2 meet ‘th one’!(my faith wz ontop yaani….!)thn i cam 4 service n it(towards th end)well…biliv it or not it surpassed my expectations! i mean who can be better than THE SOURCE?! im happier now n im definitely not looking 4 any man to mke me happy. this is totally cool. now jamaaz wont be getting THE look of r u ‘th one’?! from me.

    Like

  22. hi pastor M

    honestly …………your message came at the right time ,thought i felt kinda exposed ………….. heheheeh ………………i just have this weired sense of peace and joy it amazing .

    i humbly appreciate , GOD for giving me a chance to sit at your feet and Pastor M for allowing God to use u .cant wait for sunday

    Just being seeg things in such a different light and its beautiful

    its raining ……… yani THANK U GOD,i just have this argue to play in the rain lol …….

    baraka tele enyi nyote

    Like

  23. hi pastor M

    honestly …………your message came at the right time ,thou i felt kinda exposed ………….. heheheeh ………………i just have this weired sense of peace and joy it amazing .

    i humbly appreciate , GOD for giving me a chance to sit at your feet and Pastor M for allowing God to use u .cant wait for sunday

    Just being seeg things in such a different light and its beautiful

    its raining ……… yani THANK U GOD,i just have this argue to play in the rain lol …….

    baraka tele enyi nyote

    Like

  24. Being a fanatic of love and a firm believer in “happily ever after”, I looked forward to the series with bated breath. I almost wished it the series happened during Christmas season, that time of year when being single/married counts for what you end up doing: landing alone in shags or being with six other couples at the Coast, whiling time away in some Italian villas.

    My Sunday take-out was the point on married folks. I don’t know if they realize they up sidelining their single friends from the moment they start spotting The Rings, and it’s always the single ones initiating plans just so that they feel they belong. It’s very easy to have ones’ single friends lost in a time warp, wondering when they’ll share the same life as their married friends, so much so that they forget to enjoy the present. Their struggles as they seek to live in sexual purity can go unnoticed by their once-single-now-married age mates who used to play the role of accountability partners; where the latter now have the green light for sex by virtue of their marriages, the former are at the red light needing to be checked up on so that they don’t trip, yet no one’s around!

    Singleness as a gift?! I’d have sworn it had a sell-by date! But that’s not how God looks at it, and I’m trying to see it as a gift. That’s the hardest thing to do, especially when all my friends are getting married and are hooked up. I don’t need them to apologise for being hooked up/married, I just need them to realize I’m living a phase that needs strength and I won’t always have it; they need to help me walk single and stop living like I exist only when we do the nyama plan together. Ama I should just look for new friends?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    Like

  25. MARCHETTA Says:

    I biliv that God gives us grace to embrace th gift of singlehood/ marriage. but wheneva i feel weak n cant stand it anymre i jst remember th@ God aint thru wit me yet n th road is not gng2be smooth always n ill be fine. thanks btw 4 reading my blog, i felt rlly special but pliz neva ask bloggerz 2 stand coz i wont. 4 real!!!

    Like

  26. So,i’ve been looking forward to following this series online…when are you going to put them up??? I can’t wait to listen to them so pleaaaaaaaaaaaaase upload them soon!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.

