THIS CHRISTMAS AT MAVUNO

2008-12_466

Has your life ever depended on a baby? A “helpless” infant that ends up being the only one that can save you? Well, that’s the story of Christmas, an adventure of great proportions! This Christmas at Mavuno come unwrap your surprise and discover the hope that brought Joy to the World…

Exciting Guest Speakers every sunday, and a surprise “act” in the service every Sunday!

You can’t afford to miss it!

7th Dec… Pastor Esther Obasike

14>th Dec… Pastor Munengi Mulandi

21st Dec… Pastor Gowi Odera

28th Dec… Pastor Muriithi Wanjau – Special Thanksgiving Service

4 Responses to “THIS CHRISTMAS AT MAVUNO”

  1. LIFE AT MAVUNO IS THE GREATEST EXERIENCE I HAVE EVER BEEN THROUGH , THE WELL PRESENTED SERMONS, CORDIAL HOSPITALITY, EVENTS AND ACTIVITIES, THE MEMBERS….. ARE JUST BUT A TIP OF THE ICEBERG. TO GOD BE THE GLORY FOR WINDING UP THE YEAR WELL AND GRANTING ME THE WISHES I HAD HOPED FOR IN LIFE. MERRY CHRISTMAS MAVUNO

    Like

  2. Rose Kinuthia Says:

    Hey, just read an article about Mavuno in today’s Nation and we can be guaranteed of a bigger crowd, this Sunday.

    Mavuno rocks for sure.

    All thanks to God for granting me a great year in 2008, discovery of Mavuno being one of the highlight….

    Like

  3. what God has done for me:

    1. I go to Mavuno Church every sunday.

    I was brought up in church by an upright christian grandmother. I then had to move to Malindi and there, I was exposed to Islam – both shi’ite and sunni and hindu. When I was 16, a question occured to me while watching a Mr. Bean loud mime: If I had been born a muslim, would I have become a christian. More to the point: am I a christian because i was born one?

    Thats when I started my search. i went for madrassa for a couple of years. i read the Hindu Gita. And finally I came back to the christian realm and like with the other religions, I asked hard questions. One of the questions that I asked for a year and it made christians panic was, “do you make a choice? Or has God made the choice for you because he is all knowing – and therefore he knows the choice before you make it?” Think about it.

    God has been answering my questions consistently and he has encouraged me to continue asking so I can learn to be like him. I am not there yet. But he helped you to set up mavuno close to my house and he led me here and I have found more answers there. I am a believer in this fact: God means to bless us in the afterlife but before that, he blesses us right here in Nairobi – in this life, in 2008; yaani today.

    God bless you Mavuno.

    2. He has grown me economically and in spirit (as above) and professionally and as a man.

    I founded a web content business in 2004 and I went through very difficult times. Many times I could not afford even bus fare. My business was way, way before its time so no one was biting, no one was buying because they didnt understand what I was selling. Ati Internet? Ati Web site? Ati corporate blog? Ati web 2.0?

    September last year I get off a No. 11 matatu (you know they are cheaper than these south C ones) and I am walking home, using that chochoro that is across the road from the entrance to the church towards my unfurnished apartment near KPA. As I walked, all of a sudden that 7.30pm I felt joy. i could not stop thanking God (and yet, i didn’t know why) i felt myself bursting with song and wanting to praise Him and not having been to church for a decade – i struggled to remember those old choruses and sung the pieces I remembered over and over, I thanked Him and praised Him all of that night – i don’t know where I found the words. i wasn’t then and I am not now Shpirii.

    I was in that stupor for a week or so, I was high with joy and thankfulness. Then a call came from the Office of the Public Trustee (government) and someone said, come for your cheque. i was like eh? Turns out my biological father, who had died exactly a year before had insurance as a senior government official had insurance and there was a part of that for me – his illegitimate son. I collected 1.4 million shillings.
    interestingly in that time, my business began to flourish. I left the business with a capable CEO and today I work for the government serving my country and my profession has flourished.

    if you are where I have been, believe this: God is with you and he is walking with you and you will not be lost.

    Like

  4. As a response to Pastor M’s invitation to share our testimonies for the year 2008, here goes…….

    At the beginning of the year, my wife and I attended school of Prayer(SOP). While at a prayer retreat during this time, I got the distinct feeling that the Lord wanted me to give Him control of my financial world. I had such great plans for our future and I am an avid investor. However, I knew at the back of my mind that even if we invested all we had and ate ugali and sukuma for 2 years, it would still not be enough to achieve our dream. I got the distinct feeling that the Lord wanted us to give a huge sum of money away this year. The figure that came to mind was equivalent to 4.5 months of our family net income (after deducting only tax and tithe). In addition, I felt that He wanted me to sell the investments I had worked so hard to accumulate and give that away. I thought I was hearing my own things. I told my wife the news hoping that she would convince me that I was crazy but instead she was excited about it. This meant no investments and no saving for 1 full year. It really killed me. After much thought and prayer I decided to obey and slowly by slowly we gave to God’s people and to church. I did not sell the shares as earlier instructed but decided to give from our monthly income. It was not easy. In June, I gave up, then we resumed again. Meanwhile, the year was drawing to an end and we needed to pay school fees for a masters program that I am undertaking. We agonized, do we give or pay fees. We decided to give and let God pay fees. At the end of our giving, God surprised us with a cheque of shs100,000 which was just enough to cover the fee balance. This cheque came from a most unlikely source, who did not know about our need to pay fees and it was money we had not worked for. He has also given us another gift of shs50,000 that once again was from an unlikely source. Finally, I have been able to understand what it means when we say “He never fails” and what it means to obey Him and rely on Him. Despite my disobedience in not obeying fully He has still blessed us. However, I feel the blessings would have been more if I had obeyed at once and fully. This is because the shares that I coveted so much and kept from God have since lost almost half their value. Its like God was trying to warn me and saying invest that money in me, but I did not listen. We have learnt that it is important to obey God and obey at once.

    We also are thanking God for a baby that is on the way. This is after using a contraceptive implant for 4 years and when we needed to have it removed, everyone we talked to was scared for us, including the gynaecologist that we saw. They told how difficult it would be to get pregnant and how it was sooo wrong to use it for that long. We were quite scared but then again, we serve a mighty God.

    Like

Comments are closed.