Vengeance by Forgiveness

Have you been sexually abused? Find healing and support by sending an email to sophy@mavunochurch.org


23 Responses to “Vengeance by Forgiveness”

  1. Greetings Captain Mbevi,you couldnt have chosen a better life experience on forgiveness;Carol am so proud of you for shring your story and transforming me…I didn’t go through rape but i was abandoned while heartbroken and pregnant. After today i felt so much better and FREE!!!!
    I couldnt thank you enough. May God Bless both of you and continue using you to transform lives!!!!

    Like

  2. hi,
    loved the sermon….was my first time at mavuno!
    caro’s experience was uplifting coz she has used it to benefit others and it has built her up.
    didnt go thru that but id say im not quite a fan of my father….he has over the past few years not been the father i look up to!in terms of him being there for my siblings and i-emotionally and financially.this has really disturbed me and i just dont know how to deal with that.he still stays with my mum but i just cant bring myself to love him or look up to him-i know he still is my father.we last talked quite a while back!
    i dont know wat to do?will things ever change?
    do pray with my family and i.
    thanx n be blessed

    Like

  3. Good on you captain Mbevi, loved the sermon. Today I spent some time with my wife just sorting out all the baggage. I knew we had baggage I just didnt know what to do. I began by forgiving her, then God helped me talk to her about the baggage we had and after a nice afternoon of forgiveness we are back on track. Before this afternoon it was bad, I thought at some point I had no marriage. Thanks and God bless.

    Like

  4. Njeri Wamai Says:

    Pastor S,
    The sermon was uplifting. A thought that came to mind was that we have to forgive even those who have died and we feel they wronged us. I have been angry with an Uncle who conned me alot of money and he died. As I veiwed his body I felt that this was the greatest con. I wished he would wake up and I would have given a piece of my mind.

    After the sermon I felt convicted to forgive and forget. Forget because I can not change what has happened.

    God Bless You.

    Njeri

    Like

  5. Hi, thanks all. Essie, it would be good to forgive him, and communicate it if u can. Do your part and let God do his. Am confident God will change things. In fact, if you will, thank him for the good things you can remember. Combine gratitude and forgiveness and see what God does.
    Njeri, thanks, that’s a goo angle – even the dead that we are still mad with need be released!
    Kenmani and Wamboi, thanks.
    Blessings

    Like

  6. hi Captain S! first i would like to say that sunday’s sermon was sooo powerful! second it brought me to a place of realising that forgiving is not to harm me but to free me! I for one had to recently forgive my father, because i have struggled for his attention since i could talk…but i guess him being a man, his idea of love is diffrent. i havnt told him, but i let God know that i’ve let it go.I guess its cause i cannot bring myself to tell him, that its not the clothes or outings or food i need…more so its his understanding, and longing to know me for me, cause he assumes a lot that he knows me, but iv changed so much from, his little girl…to his grown up daughter,even thogh im 17 my needs then are different from now. the question in my mind now, is should i tell him, or just leave it between me and God, n let it work itself out?
    thanx n Be blessed!

    Like

  7. The worse thing my dad did to me was the emotional abuse I got from him, from the filthy language he used on me to the be-little commends he made, not to mention the dozen of women he brought home (of course not to cook dinner)………..

    With his kind of lifestyle, H.I.V. had to check in, the first down the line was my mom, 4 years later dad followed, to say the truth it was such a satisfaction to see the pain he went through battling full blown out A.I.Ds & finally in his coffin, no tear , no mourning, just a perfect day to bury the dead…I HAD WON THE WAR OR SO I THOUGHT.

    Hhmmm…..guess this where my life began, facing the scars of my life; the love that was denied ( + the one I denied myself), the approval that never came, the material provision that never was, the father figure authority that was ‘dead’ through living……

    So I have searched for approval in all my relations especially from the men I have dated, but all I got was more pain and rejection, pain & rejection, pain & rejection, pain…..

    During a mizizi retreat I made a decision to forgive my dad of all wrongs, & more so forgiving myself of all the wrongs on my part, coz regardless he was my dad & was obliged to obey him.

    As of now the searching is lesser, the crying nights are fewer, the scars have turned into identification marks of where God took me to prepare me for my tasks ahead!!!

    Like

  8. Thank you Pastor Simon for the great sermon.
    Carol Keep it up for sharing. Everyday as I walk with many ladies I really feel for them because many of us are hurting. I was also sexually abused at the age of 8years old in 1988 by my mums brother after my mum passed away on the same year. The act was repeated several times and I got a sexual transmitted disease and nobody really cared. My aunties and uncles mocked me as I grew up. I was bitter, angry and name it as I grew up. I had actually contemplated suicide many times. After coming to Mavuno and joining School of prayer, I learnt the act of forgiveness. I forgave my uncle in 2006 and all my aunties. Many of my friends whom I had shared with dont understand how I could forgive such an act. But guys healing starts with forgiveness. May the Lord bless you for the great job in Mavuno.

    Like

  9. Pastor S
    Im so blessed by your topic on forgiveness. I came to Mavuno when I was a total mess.Everything you can possibly think of was going wrong. Today I can talk of a different story.However the one thing I will never forget and the one thing I have always said I would share with you when we meet face to face is that my first breakthru was when you said a prayer of forgiveness on behalf of the men ,when Pastor Linda preached on “why men play”.You have no idea how powerful that was. It was such a liberating experience.You recall that that was Carols breakthru too. God bless you abundanlty and fill your cup till it overflows.

    Like

  10. Captain, That was an amazing flight!!! i wish all my flights were that inspiring.Anyway for me it was revolutionizing to realise that i have actually not forgiven people who have hurt me deeply. I had just chosen to forget and move on with life…i am really good at that but when i pray i actually put God to task to punish the person and if he dare bless them then i have issues with him. The person i needed to forgive the most this week was myself. For the longest time i suffered from a serious inferiority complex and brought myself alot of harm, made silly choices with destructive consequences. My dad was very violent, he beat my mum up and all of us too for being her children. He died and as usual i chose to forget and move on but like a severing wound, this unforgiveness i was harbouring affects every decision i make mostly about relationships…how do i forgive him and get closure…when he died i was actually relieved. It has been 12 years now. How do you forgive smeone who is dead i really want to know so that i can heal and relate well with guys without fear.

    Like

  11. Viv, thanks for sharing. How do u forgive the dead? U make the decision to forgive, then pray it out to God – say it loud: ‘I decide to forgive … for …. And now I release myself from the bitterness, hate, etc caused by this.’ It is not for the dead, it is for u. Then trust God to bring the healing. Blessings

    Like

  12. Captain S. You opened me up, laid me bare for all to see. I am naked as i write this. My bag was heavy, knew i carried it , but thought its normal to carry it all the same. In it there was me, there was God, every man i have ever dated, the father of my children, friends(now enemies), relatives……i could go on and on. On sunday, i threw away that bag. When Carol started talking, i started weeping. I was not raped, but have been violated nonetheless. Violated by people who took advantage of me and then walked away. I have violated myself by doing things i shoulgn’t have with a little foresight. Why me, God? That was the question i have asked up until sunday when you gave the sermon. God has never answered the question and into the bag He went.
    The first persn that needed forgiving was me.
    I am a new being, since OCTOBER 19TH. I forgave, forgave forgave,forgave…….I now know that who i am, what i am is the will of God and is not as a result of any evil on my part, and that God has a purpose for my life. I am now in talking and laughing terms with the father of my children, no expectations. My relationship with God is now on the mend.
    I am free.
    Thank you Pastor Simon. God Bless you and your family.

    Like

  13. Hi,
    Captain S,am bila words to express what i feel.Yani u n God just dove rite into my business on sunday!!!!I normally hv no i ssuses with forgivin n forgetin but for the life of me i cant bring myself to forgive my father.in my opinion he is not worthy of forgiveness but then Capt. S said tht forgiveness is for the undeservin.i mean i forgave n forgot about the man who raped me in my own home on my own bed but i cant forgive my father.but after sundays sermon,sth just clikd.am nt as rude as i used to be to my father.i hv even started prayin for him cz i never used to.as Capt. S said,forgiveness starts with a decision.i hv decided to forgive my father n i pray tht i shall completly forgive him so tht he n i can be released.Thnx Capt. S. Baraka tele

    Like

  14. Am a student and since i started coming to mavuno,my relationship to God has changed geratly and i can say that i believ my life will never be the same again.the service last sunday was great.i felt a tear coming into my eyes. i flet that i needed to forgive all those people that i have wronged in my life and i feel like a big burden has been lifted of my shoulders.

    Like

  15. Captain Mbevi,

    For sure, I now know that you are truly a man of God. Before, I came for the service, I was contemplating on how I was going to make someones life a living hell. I was emotionally and physically broken looking only at the bad side of life and how others have caused me so much pain. Unforgiveness has been my number 1 friend. I had so much baggage in my bag, it was bringing me down to crash land at a very fast rate. I have hurberd in me for so many years anger, vengeance, recentment, the list is endless.

    The worst baggage I was still carrying was unforgiveness for someone who died over a year ago. I have blamed him for very many years for what he did that changed my life for ever and this has not helped me very much in my life’s relations with myself and others. I even attempted suicide a couple of times but I never succeeded.

    After the sermon and after releasing all those people in my life who have caused me so much pain, I’m so much lighter and the heavy baggage I have carried all my life is off my shoulders. This week, I have also succeeded in seeking forgiveness from two people from my past (though they haven’t responded), I know that the good Lord has done it for me.

    I have seen God’s hand at work since I joined Mavuno. God Bless you and keep up with the transformation work that He has called you for.

    Like

  16. Afternoon Pastor I attended mavuno on sunday and its my firdt time here and I have never left so much lighter when i left. I had been toiling on how i would forgive someone who almost finished my son and I. He left us in hosipital with large hospital bills when I was abt to give birth. When my son was born he got some complications and was in ICU for a month and Thank to God He started breathing and now he is a health young baby. I vowed that the day I will ever meet my sons father i would destroy him but do you knw what Pastor I dont need to do all that. God Knows all the pain I underwent through that period and I will let him do His work. As the sermoin says vergeance by forgiveness I have forgiven this man.Thank you Pastor for opening my heart to forgive.Be blessed and I will surely come and say hallo when i get back from my trip.

    Like

  17. miss anonymus Says:

    the forgiveness sermon was a turnng point 4 me bcoz it helped me realize that i was carrying so much unnecessary luggage. i e-mailed my ex-boyfrend who had hurt me so much. he was violent and even forced me to have an abortion and told him that i had forgiven him. surprisingly he also asked me to forgive him 4 all he had done. i t just goes to show that forgiving one person has a multiplier effect. i’m now lighter and happier. thanks mavuno church.

    Like

  18. Hi,
    Yes I am the one whom the Lord asked to stand up at the end of the service because I had been badly hurt by my spouse and had just moved into a new house on Saturday evening near the church. We were so tired from unpacking but made it for the 12.00p.m. service. I did not need to hear another confirmation that IT IS OK. Thank you Pastor S for allowing the Spirit of the Lord to move through you. I just wrote my tithe check to my new church!!!!!!

    Like

  19. Sunday morning i woke up feeling very happy…you know that feeling of “everything is right with you and the world, its going to be a lovely day?” yah.
    when i got to church read the topic of the sermon, i was like..aaah been there, done that, bought the t-shirt…ive had past hurts..ive heard about forgiving..i have forgiven..so i was good.
    Except..i had not exactly, at least not in the way pastor s described it. What id done was convince myself that i had let it go..when in truth i was actually holding tight to those who hurt me. all this time i had been in deep denial..happy on the outside, burning on the inside.
    So i prayed the prayer of forgiveness and let it go. You know what? It went…as in…its no longer there..just like that!
    So for me, sunday was a lovely day..i let it go for good i am free!

    Like

  20. Hey hey hey Pastor S and Mavunites ,talk about application of a principle fast…..The sermon was awesome but I have always been such a quick forgiver so I knew it wasnt so much for me but for those other gutys out there still with huge rucksacks…until I got home to find that someone in church had helped themselves to my not very chaap phone out of my handbag during the chuch service i beliieve at the time of close your eyes for the benediction. I wasnt so mad about the phone because it was nothing compared to Pastor S’s Koomarock house sweep . I was livid because I had just taken some memorable pics at a family function the day before and hadnt had a chance to download them onto the comp.Oh my the sermon flew out of the window. I was so down ,cursed the person in my heart so many times and called them unprintables,they probably didnt have a very good day themselves.A part of me was desperate to do the Christian thing and let it go but another part was enjoying the wallowing in the mud of unforgiveness….just a while longer..Its almost like I felt I was justified in feeling murderous.But what Pastor said and what struck me the most in the sermon is that we must not wait to FEEL like forgiving to do it . Its not about when you are ready to forgive.You forgive NEVERTHELESS, IN SPITE OF, DESPITE, NOTWITHSTANDING…I have never been so challenged in a long time to act out my faith.So after soul searching for a whiole week I have finally forgiven that anonymous person and prayed that they might be so disturbed in their spirit that they find the Savior.Thats why I am blogging just a few hours before tomorrows sermon.It is surely easier said than done but from this experince I have learnt that we must train ourselves to purpose to forgive even before we are wronged so that it becomes a lifestyle.Obviously there will be pain, humiliation and we must not be in denial about it but remember church Jesus went to the cross after being sold out by a buddy for a few coins. Anything worse than that!!! I thank God for using you Pastor S to tackle one of the areas that even the most mature Christians grapple with secretly.May God increase you and your household.

    Like

  21. Great testimonies!
    Mimi, am so sorry about that. We will take some precautions and tighten security. God bless.
    God is surely transforming us and our situations as we forgive.
    Let us keep it up!

    Like

  22. Hi pastor S. Thank you for the wonderful sermon this month. Its been an ear opener. However, for me its been challenging and not so positive. I am even fearful sharing my comments. It not worked for me despite applying the wonderful teachings this month. I though hope for the best and keep the positve thinking/outlook. Thank you so much. You are a blessing to many and may God bless you abundantly.

    Like

  23. Hey y’all Bloggers look out For True North Starting this Month with Pastor M.

    This is the Home Run!

    Like

Comments are closed.

