The Pride Of Humility

Here are the notes to the great message by Pst. Simon this past Sunday, The Pride of Humility. The way up is surely down! May you have a phenomenal week at home and at work as you look for opportunities to serve others around you!

7 Responses to “The Pride Of Humility”

  1. wanguisummedup Says:

    I have recently quit a well paying job to pursue a life long dream of starting a business. I have also recently begun to attend service at Mavuno after settling back home. This week I am much more aware that I have a strong desire to control outcomes, I find myself getting anxious about starting the business, about financial stability, and in my mind alot of pride bursting as I go forth. Listening to Pastor Simeon on Sunday has helped me recognise my sin and I continually walk in repentance before the Lord and surrender all to Him.I am in the realization that God planned out everything in my life even before I came along and am challenged to not conform to the patterns of controlling my life but to be transformed and let the Lord use me as He would. It is humbling to accept God’s will especially because I have always felt self made. I am not all that I am, all that I have all that I will be is all God’s. I now realize and acknowledge that my life is for His service and not my own.

    Like

  2. Hi
    I really loved the sermon.
    The only question is,why did you keep saying that when you were prideful you were not being a pastor at that moment?
    In my opinion,unsolicited as it is, I think that that is really when you were being a pastor.

    Like

  3. Chris
    Are you saying that Pastors are proud?

    Like

  4. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for the comments…
    What I meant is that I should as a pastor be modeling humility, not pride. So I felt I should be the christian and conquer my pride, especially as a leader in church. Yes, pastors are human beings too, but they should model the transformation the bible talks about.

    Like

  5. Pastor S,

    Thank you for redeeming us, that’s why you are the senior pastor, very well said.

    Like

  6. “The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, the education, the money, than circumstances, than failure, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company… a church… a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our Attitudes.”
    Charles R. Swindoll quotes (American Writer and Clergyman, b.1934)

    After reading this it made so much sense its the attitude of pride that ruins everything. When you were preaching of course you were talking to the other people in church not me, until i digested the content of the sermon by myself. I think my ego walks before me and it enters a room before i do albeit quietly. I usually take time to open up to people but when i do i’m all that. Thank you for the wake up call and the realisation that we’re not all that. When you asked us to tell the person seated next to us in church that they’re not all that and my friend told me so – my reply was OUCH! Yes i wasnt a joke and we need to realise we’re not all that at all. Thank you Pastor S. You put us right where we belong. Now we walk with the Lord and come to realise that the Son of God was humbled to be one of us whipped and crucified on the Cross. If that is what it took for God to get us back to the Kingdom then we definately need to humble our selves. I surely am not all that.

    Like

  7. im one of the proud people you could have but just because im very quiet and an introvert you would be forgiven to think im very humble. but after capt s sermon i realised that im a very proud. the fact that i find myself going for long periods without prayer means that i dont recognise Gods position in my life. the sermon made me realise that any time i do my thing without God at the centre, thats the height of pride. i think its better to show pride to fellow human-being than to God. im now purposing to recomit myself to Gods leading in everything i do. thank you!

    Like

Comments are closed.

