The Undisciplined Leader

 

Strengths

  • Appealing & Charistmatic
  • Creative & Colorful
  • Excellent People Skills
  • Childlike Simplicity

‘Dark Side’

  • Talk Too Much
  • Exaggerate
  • Very Forgetful
  • Self Centered
  • Shallow Friendships
  • Lack of Discipline

Here’s the outline for the sermon. Enjoy!

080717-the-dark-side-of-greatness-the-undisciplined-leader

    52 Responses to “The Undisciplined Leader”

    1. my goodness…its monday and im still feeling run over by a 7 wheeler truck!!!that sermon!pastor m and C you are God sent..yani….hard truths ..hard truths…
      this is will definitely be a week of self refelction and hopefully mending broken fences because of the trail of broken hearts that i have left behind…. Lately God has been speaking to me through different ways making me aware of the things that i need to change…i definitely need to join Sanguines anonymous!!just show me where il sign up…no seriously …
      we always assume that men are the only ones who run over peoples hearts but yesterdays sermon showed me that i too have been true to mynature ..im asking how many have i hurt?how many have i overloooked?how many promsies have i made that i havent kept?…my prayer this morning was that i allow GOd to transform my nature for his use so that i may then like Simon Peter then turn around and strengthen my brethren.are there any mentors volunteering to keep us sanguines in check?Help!!God bless u both 🙂

      Like

    2. WorkIn Progress Says:

      Carl Townsend said ” All healing is first a healing of the heart.”

      I visited Mavuno for the first time this Sunday and my mouth is still gaping…I have been asking God for the longest time why I am always attracted to ‘badguys’ and how come the tear tracks on my face never seem to fade away for long..Yesterday I realized that the majority of serious relationships I get into are with sanguines. I dont know why but I guess I am attracted to their popuarity being so shy mysely(I’m a total mel). I have struggled with bitterness and unforgiveness because I didn’t understand how I always ended up at the same place. Yesterdays sermon opened up a place of understanding in my heart and now I’m on the path to forgivess. Thank you pastors M and C… you’ve really helped this heart start to heal.

      Like

    3. Pastors C and M you were totally preaching about me yesterday!! at some point i felt quite spooked coz i was right at the front and you kept looking at me and telling me all these things about myself! That was a seriously reflective sermon. I am so a sanguine that its scary! dream big but never follow through! what scares me most is that I can fail easily if i dont check myself! Lord help me find someone to be accountable to! Thanks you guys! i really needed that self revelation! I need to sign up for sanguines AA!

      Like

    4. ciku im glad someone else thinks they need SAA!ialso said the same thing-see above !is o need to sign up!walala…

      Like

    5. I had a serious aha! moment yesterday and i went home did some serious reflecting and prayer. I have been very unfaithful to God, you know in and out of church…for 10 years! when things are good am out there, when things are thick am God’s best friend so the one i have hurt the most with my personality is God and it breaks my heart. Thank you Pastors.I had started learning some principles i need to live by in life to succeed and had come up with three: commitment, focus and discipline and i am working hard to develop these in my personality. Currently, i am looking at the promises i have made without even thinking that i have not kept so that i can fulfil them. My accountability friend, Racheal told me to get a little black book where i can write down promises i have made and make that i need to keep so that i can make sure i keep them and names of people i meet so that i can remember them. I have also signed up for Mizizi so that i can get my christian life seriously in order. Thank you again. God bless you.

      Like

    6. in terms of the sermon, i think you hit the nail on the head in terms of most of what an undisciplined leader’s attributes are. however, i didn’t agree with the use of ‘failure/fail’ to describe them.

      i do agree that this type of person has difficulty focusing and sticking to their plans, but generally, they do manage to get by because of the social connections they have. they get a lot of ‘air time’ by those people who love having such a person with ‘color’ around them. these people are MANY!

      so in one way or another, the undisciplined persons characters brings life to those who don’t have social skills, don’t know how to engage socially or simply keep to themselves. giving the undisciplined person another ‘chance at life’ is a small price to pay for such people to feel part of society.

      i’d rather we’d focus on how this type of person really is selling themselves short with their behavior. how this sort of undisciplined leader is not living up to their full potential and is wasting the wonderful opportunities life has blessed them with.

      i say this because i have an older brother and cousin who are this type. in my opinion, they’re wasting their life away with silly business schemes and grand ideas. i still wouldn’t call them failures because for some reason, they keep on getting chances! and i find that the people who keep giving them chances, are those who are timid and keep to themselves.

      Undisciplined leaders just need to maximize on their potential and see themselves being MAVUNOIZED.

      however, the strongest point was saved for last by pastor M, in order for change to occur…UL need to realize that they got issues.

      Like

    7. Yikes! why not just take a hammer and smash my toes, cause thats how this felt. It was nice to hear that I could relate to a character in the bible. Peter definitely takes the cake for being a sanguine. Its also encouraging to know that there is hope in that God can greatly use our character to bring glory to his kingdom. Yani, a sanguine will normally be the first target of the enemy because when they go down, the rest of the group loses. How profound is that!

      Like

    8. Yes am a sanguine especially the one depicted by the actress, and yes there is hope. I have had to screech to a halt due to many opportunities at work for describing colleagues when all those negative things were said about me when I thought I was a star. I took a decision to start working on these weaknesses it is difficult coz one is going against ones nature (kinda miserable affair) but I have really improved (become another person). Really on the inside I havent changed what I have done is to control my outward expression of my nature to minimize hurting others but I agree in the area of discipline change is a must, so yesterday I thanked God that may more sanguines have been sensitized and ofcourse those around us

      Like

    9. I am a sanguine through and through.

      I thought God had abandoned me because of the loneliness i felt everytime, though i was constantly surrounded by people. I wondered why the phone would ring all day because of work related issues but in the evenings and on weekends, nothing at all. I have been bothered by the fact that i really have no “best friend” and i dont think i have ever had one. I have been happy for most of the part, i have been blessed with love and family, though as i write this i have left a trail of broken hearts. I have been engaged five times ( i cant ssem to say no, its like lights, camera, action) and now i understand why. I am a sanguine.

      Pastor M and C, thank you for sharing this series with us. I feel so blessed to finally understand my personality ,the good and the bad. I believe that if i start working on myself and seek help, and ask God to guide me, i will stop breaking hearts all over. This was the most powerful sermon i have ever heard, and twas like a whisper from Gods lips to my ear. Be blessed and once again, Thank you.

      Like

    10. My 3 year old son came to me last evening with a bookmark shaped like a girrafe and asked me what it was. Before I could answer, my 6 year old daughter shouted from across the room (where she coulkd’n’t see what we were looking at), ” I know! I know!” then she ran to us and asked, “what is it?” How totally sanguine! Thank you Pastor M and C for opening my eyes.

      Like

    11. Pastor C and M. On Saturday night, I had woken up at 2:30 a.m. hurting and asking myself what I had done wrong to God all my life. A friend had earlier told me that I’m always thinking about myself and its always about me, me, me and no one else. I was very hurt cos this is a friend who knows me very well. After your sermon yesterday, the question I had been asking God all my life “Why Me?” was finally answered. I wonder how many trails of broken hearts I have left behind with my me, me & I attitude. Thank you for letting us know that all is not lost and that God is a God of a second chance and that there is hope for me and my Sanguine brothers and sisters.

      Like

    12. I’m definitely a sanguine … but yesterday, when Pastor M asked Sanguines to stand, I saw that there are so many people who want to be sanguines 🙂 It helped a bit …

      It also helped to see that there are quite a number of sanguines who are struggling to become better people, and I pray that God will grant them His grace on this journey, because I believe it’s a tough one.

      Like most people who have posted their comments, I struggle with relationships, and this is the one area that I am trying to clear up. Another thing I find is that because sanguines are ‘weak-willed’, we tend to bite off a lot more than we can chew. That’s something I’d encourage every sanguine to watch for – the more times you say yes, the more times you make a promise that you might not be able to keep.

      Think fast … and pray.

      God bless you all.

      Like

    13. Pastor M and Pastor

      I’d really like to see pictures of famous Mels and famous Sanguines … since the trend has already been set.

      It would be great to see people who have made it despite their personalities, especially because we’re at the greatest risk of not making it because of our personalities! 😮

      Like

    14. Pastor M and Pastor C,

      I’d really like to see pictures of famous Mels and famous Sanguines … since the trend has already been set.

      It would be great to see people who have made it despite their personalities, especially because we’re at the greatest risk of not making it because of our personalities! 😮

      Like

    15. hi pastor C and M
      i’m a bit confused, i have a bit of choleric traits, a lot os sanguine character as well. i was totally touched on sunday. i’m really in need of those AA classes if available…..meanwhile ask Kanji if we can share Pastor Linda for follow up, or she is exclusive…..i need to know how she gets to be that witty.
      i need not be a failure…..i’m craving to succedd. more so i’m craving holiness.
      GBU guys

      Like

    16. WHY WHY WHY on the 17th, I had invited my family to the service and from the skit i knew it was over for me, they constantly had a look at me and I could picture them sayn you see….i always say you talk much.
      Honestly, its sad but true to be told about yourself, it brings self realisation and pitty of what our down falls which are so clear cut if we dont change, we might take the alter every other day asking for Gods help but after Janas sermon i understood change has to happen from myself first (and Obama) leave the rest to God.
      I went for a job interview and i realised after yesturday I dont need that job, im just looking for another escape to my monotonous lifestyle of my current job and as pastor M said it want to bail b4 my expiry period is up, These come’s to the point of dating, I crave for the perfect relationship but once i look ack at the opprotunities i left back I just get bored and bail. yesus! I have rebranded with a new positioning, So During question of the day next Sunday il be scouting for a keeper…LOL!

      Like

    17. I like what you said about sanguines talking too much and Peter having been a sanguine through and through. It reminded me of a story in the Bible (I don’t quite remember where) where Peter preached soooo long that a man fell from his seat and BROKE his NECK! Yeah, sanguines can talk quite a lot and not even realise when people are kinda bored with their manenos, but of course lots of hope for them if they work on their “dark side”.

      Like

    18. Yesterday’s sermon was such an eye opener and revealing.My spouse is a Sanguine-Choleric.I was reflecting on all the things shared yesterday and the examples used and was totally blown away as I related to all the examples.I did not know whether to laugh,or to cry actually at some point it became very overwhelming…………The encouraging thing is to learn about the callings of each personality and I believe Sanguine-Cholerics are leaders with influence,however they can also land you the family in trouble by their lack of persistent followup/Engagements without commitment/Promising what they can not deliver.I could not imagine that there could be very many persons out there with the darkside traits of this personality.What Pastor M and Pastor C shared in one sermon,would have required years’ of therapy.I feel,i now understand better and will choose to support the strengths my spouse brings to the table and ask for wisdom on the dark side.Very enlightening.God did speak to me.I have never been so dumbstruck by a message…………………..God bless you both Pastor M&C.

      Kudos to Skit Lady Quite hilarious

      Like

    19. Hey Pastor C & M,
      I started coming to Mavuno when you relocated and i must say i haven’t missed a sunday since(save for when i had travelled on duty :-(. I’m also amazed cause i’m such a staunch Catholic but i’ve realised that church is where you heart is. Now yesterday’s sermon really made me feel so small(yani very small) because in less than 10 minutes into the sermon i so could see myself and it didn’t help much that i’m Marketer by profession.I also felt gutted because i’m one of those guys who once they loose interest in mama,i so move on without explaining way and in as much as i know i’ve hurt the girl,i usually console myself by saying that it’s all about me and that she will be fine coz she’s a big girl.But of late i’ve realised that i’m actually the loser in all this and i’m currently going through some issues with my girlfriend and the sermon made me realise that i may actually be the one at fault here.thanks for this eye opener and i’m now praying for forgiveness for those i have wronged both socially and professionally. Lastly i also am still looking for one who will hold me accountable and can this be girlfriend or is this not a good idea?Thanks once again Pastors and may God bless you guys sana for the great work your doing.

      Like

    20. Simply Me Says:

      I came to Mavuno for the first time just yesterday (17th August). The message hit me SO HARD and seriously haunted me, that after driving out till as far as the Nyayo Stadium round-about after the 1st service, my car kinda steered itself back to the parking lot! What’s more, I went and parked right at the same spot that I did when I came for the first service. I just needed to confirm that what I’d heard at the first service was actually right and that my brain wasn’t playing games on me.

      Although I’m generally a quiet and reserved person (I try to be), lots of points hit home. First of all, try the trail of broken friendships, just when the other party thinks you’re tight and deep. I just drift away, slowly but very surely. Like TK, my interest just fades away! It then comes back on and off when I’m either sad or lonely. Next thing, the impulse spending on unnecessary stuff? Yeah that’s me right there! And finally, boy do I over-promise stuff and under deliver! I even do it knowing only too well that I won’t deliver!

      There’s a proverb in the Bible that says that “People who promise things they never give, are like clouds and winds that bring no rain.” The message just made me realize that that’s exactly who I am. I’m seriously praying for deliverance. I’m glad I came back for the 2nd service because I got to stand up for prayer, which I had ignored at the 1st service. I believe the first point of healing is to acknowledge you have a problem and I’m glad I did.

      Like

    21. I am a Choleric-Sanguine-Melancholic, At this rate, I don’t think after doing Phlegmatic sermon i will say i’m a Choleric-Sanguine-Melanchoic-Phlegmatic :-), The test says i’m a 50%-C,30%-S & 20%M. Now, the dark side of sanguine really hits me hard! i have so many WASUP friends, but i don’t know how to turn this WASUP friends into REAL & CLOSE friends. To be sincere i have lost track of friends i had in nursery, primo, seco and i’m afraid that the i’m actually loosing track of college friends(cleared last year June). I have no problem whatsoever in making friends, in fact after 1.8 years been in mavuno i have made so many wasup friends, i just don’t know how to take it to the next level! Thank God i found an accountability partner!-my boyfriend, After 3months of dating he started asking me who were my close friends, he noted a weakness and he started sacrificing part of our dating time for me to hook up with my girlfriends, he would ask me if i have heard coffee with any of my girlfriends each week. However i still feel inadequate in turning my wasup friends into close and real friends. Maybe more coffees and prayer will do but what if i move out of town will i maintain them? If this works out for me, for sure i will not hesitate to mentor.

      Like

    22. i have both choleric and sanguine traits…but sanguine tends to rule most of the days…I usually have these great ideas and am so excited about them in the beginning ….but the minute week one is over..i have moved on to another great idea! Wow that sermon was just perfect form…there are so many promises i have made,and i have forgotten them….when is that Sanguine anonymous starting….(just hope we dont kill each with the talk..LOL).

      On Sunday i realised its timei changedmy mindset of “if something is not fun. then its not worth it”.Now am working on getting an accountability partner. Thanks pastor C and M

      Like

    23. I was wondering what I would take out of the sermon on Sunday since I know myself to be a Mel? Phleg? One of the two…

      In Pst M’s paraphrased words, this may not be your personality but God is speaking something…

      I tell you God spoke to me and as I reflected on the past, I have really let down so many people. It is my prayer that God will move me from being egocentric to altruistic.

      I was so shocked! Honestly! I didnt think sanguines have weaknesses and even as they were being mentioned, I was thinking that’s not major… but seeing how my sanguine pal was so convicted by the sermon made me realise that we all have issues… and with God, there is hope!

      Finally, I would like to say I love sanguines… their child like simplicity and ability to be affectionate when you have a situation (esp if you are a mel) is such a God given gift and I am forever grateful to God for my sanguine pals!

      I cannot wait for Sunday…

      Like

    24. What we need to remmbember is that there is no perfect temperament. I am a bit embarassed of some of my traits as a mel and chol….i wont go into details (hic) but I need ya’ll to know that trying to change who you really are is receipe for disaster.

      Being a mel, i love to keep my own company and totally shy. But with time i built more on my people skills and now i can chat and laugh endlessly with people. Sad thing is that the entire time, im thinking of how to keep the conversation interesting and new hot topics! I often sweat on the inside and just want to crawl back into my house!

      Most of my friends now dont really know me. They think i’m a sanguine actually hence more often than not I’ll be regarded as snobbish if i turn down party invites…….

      anyway before i go on and on, morale of my story, just love who are and let people get to know and understand you……else, welcome to my world.

      I like what paster m said last sunday when he said “what you focus on determines who you are”.

      I guess with that i’ll now focus on my strenths to shadow my dark side but God help me, I will not try to be something/someone im not 🙂

      Like

    25. Pastors M & C,

      Thanks so much for the insightful sermon.

      The part that struck me most about this sermon was when you said that sanguines are most likely to fail, and it jolted me completely because even though I am intelligent, I have failed so much in my life be it academically, socially, financially, in the workplace.

      Acquiring self-discipline (though it is a process) and what I do nowadays os when I don’t feel like doing the right thing, I say to myself, I will do right for GOD.

      With my experiences over time, I have now come to see that life is all about relationships.

      Thanks again and God bless.

      Like

    26. Well, well…. I finally got round to looking at the web/blog site and texting.

      Im 60:40 (Mel/San), so oscillate freqently between ‘sky is the limit’ and ‘the sky is falling’.

      Questions:
      Are there examples of people in the Bible I can look at to see what a well balanced, transformed Mel/San could look like?

      Can one ever really get over the handicaps of their personality or should we expect these weaknesses to at best be dormant in our lives.

      Like

    27. hey Mavuno..
      imagine last sunday was my 1st day of my comin to Mavuno n found out bout the Sanguine personality… just then just as the Passy was talkin more about the good side, i was lyk… “that’s totally me!” but when it got to the dark side, iwas lyk…” wow, yaani that’s me?”….. yaani what the Passy sed was so true that i took the step of findin that person who would help me with the dark side… tis sad i haven’t found him/her yet… but one thing is 4 sure, I WILL TRY TO CHANGE MY DARK SIDE, N THROUGH J.C. I WILL !!! thank Mavuno for helping me know who I am…. Props!!!!

      Like

    28. You guys really crushed us!!!!! What you forgot to mention is that sanguines dont like to be told off, embarrased or anything negative said about them… esp not in public! it should be praises through and through! It was sooo true and it hurt sooo much and so badly!I cried throughout the dark side part. You had started so well guys!! Anyways, I am now more determined to succeed ; more than ever before, I had been stressed all week wondering what was wrong with me, why all my great ideas were just that…great ideas and why I got bored of jobs and businesses so fast and just moved on without feeling dot, now that i know, I can confidently grab life on the throt because I know what I am fighting. I am determined to make my strengths even stronger and crash my weaknesses like you crashed me on sunday and I know with God’s help the suceess will even be greater. Hai Pastor M, did you say you cant think of a successful Sanguine leader? well…, WATCH THIS SPACE!!!!!!

      Like

    29. Hey,It was my first time at Mavuno and I was so totally impressed.Enyewe God made sure I heard that summon.Its funny coz I had heard the personality type lessons over and over again.I almost knew the personality types by heart.However when Pastor C&M preached it it was so different.It was like relearning myself all over again.I would love to call it an anointed message!It makes me sad to know my weaknesses and especially the lack of discipline.Lakini I refuse to be a statistic.Through prayer I pray that I will be transformed and become a disciplined highly successful leader,entreprenuer,mother,wife,daughter………..Pray for us sanguines coz we still have a very important role in God’s Kingdom just like all other personalities.Where are we signing up for SAA?God bless you Pastor C&M!

      Like

    30. I’ve been quite the atomic bomb, apparently… I look behind me and there’s an appallingly large amount of debris and body parts, and I was so busy sailing along on the Starship Haj and enjoying the ride that I hadn’t stopped to look behind me.
      I thought my meteoric career rise (when it was on) was all about how the game was played… it’s a formula I was taught quite early on “the moment you sign the employment contract, start looking for your next job” or “quit while you’re ahead, leaving them staring longingly after you”… formula applied to work, relationships with guys, and sadly it began to apply to family and friends as well. It occurs to me (now) that I’ve been the human equivalent of a chain-saw, and an extremely efficient one at that.
      Talk about pause for thought.
      As in for real, that thing of out of sight out of mind has been my thing, and so roho safi. I’d wonder why people are mad at me and figured they needed a major attitude adjustment (giggle).
      Now that God has checked in He’s making it increasingly difficult for me to operate on the old OS, which is a good thing. I do see hope on the horizon… but I also see the consequences of my actions, kwanza of job-hopping where people now think I’m a high-risk prospect as an employee. I observe the damage with relative calm, because I know that God is the ultimate redeemer and it’s going to be cool… but MAN when the rose-coloured glasses are yanked off like juzi… it stings.
      So here’s to a future, different from my past… a future written, etched and coloured in by One way wiser than I.

      Like

    31. Last Sunday was an eye opener for me, am a Sanguine part Choleric, popular with many friends though sometimes I feel like I dont need them (choleric) and I have hurt many many people and I really want to make it up to them though I dont know where to start. I had this Mel/Pheg friend who I would not understand even got the Personality plus book that Pastor was talking about but when I realized that what I saw on the surface was what was underneath, I bailed out without even looking back…. Geez, the fact that there is hope is what is keeping me going and the fact that with God and discipline I will succeed.
      I sign up for Mizizi everytime there is a new class but I never follow through this time whaaa, this time I will make sure I follow through.
      Thank you Pastor C and M, God bless you abundantly. Where are we signing up for SAA

      Like

    32. Anonymous Says:

      i must say av been a frequent visitor to mavuno en the way you guyz preach i just dnt want the sermon to end!!!

      Like

    33. ooh my my…am so very sanguine. when pastor c said that sanguine’s get convicted by sermons all the time..that was me!!! by the way i stood up for prayer during the two previous sundays..i was convicted that am choleric then mel. luckily this sunday i had a friend who was literally pinching me as the sanguine character traits were read out…so of course this time it was for real am sanguine. am glad to finally understand myself and to be accountable. God bless Mavuno

      Like

    34. ooh my my…am so very sanguine. when pastor M said that sanguine’s get convicted by sermons all the time..that was me!!! by the way i stood up for prayer during the two previous sundays..i was convicted that am choleric then mel. luckily this sunday i had a friend who was literally pinching me as the sanguine character traits were read out…so of course this time it was for real am sanguine. am glad to finally understand myself and to be accountable. God bless Mavuno

      Like

    35. warr!!! you ppl are doing such good jobo as in the style which you use to preach is fantastic you give off a feeling of inclusiveness- you can consider me a lyf member..Lol!! i came to hear of mavuyno thru a friend and am so thankfull i took up her challenge to come. this is a church that gives me a ‘church ethic” got to go to churrch on sunday… you relate current issues in ppls lives with thhose from the bible- you dont make thee bible just sound like some history text!! mardd kudos to this organization… be sure all be there on sunday.

      Like

    36. Hey guys, there is hope for us sanguines- Blackberry, PDA’s, MS outlook, Nokia, Kenafric diaries and the bedside clock.

      Oh and there is the neighbourhood cock (which helped Peter the rock remember his commitment)!

      From a San to Sans

      Like

    37. LOL @ Starship Haj… Thats a lights camera action point like Wan says.
      @ Kay. Thanks for the reminded, -Just love who are…

      Sundays service was awesome. I had googled on Sanguines during the week, so I wanted to know what new I would learn at church -true to character, we think we know everything. But hearing it preached, I did learn (more) about my personality type, and the way I take things for granted, and that I am least likely to succeed even though I look like I got it going on.

      Thank you Lord for unveiling my mask. Im praying that I will not be a job hopper, or an un-finisher of projects. As a wise (wo)man said, Success is planned.

      Like

    38. Can God really use me like this. Is there salvation for me? Where do i go from here!

      Lord Make Me Over and Over and Over Again.

      Like

    39. LOL @ Starship Haj… Thats a lights camera action point like Wan says.
      @ Kay. Thanks for the reminder, -Just love who are…

      Sundays service was awesome. I had googled on Sanguines during the week, so I wanted to know what new I would learn at church -true to character, we think we know everything. But hearing it preached, I did learn (more) about my personality type, and the way I take things for granted, and that I am least likely to succeed even though I look like I got it going on.

      Thank you Lord for unveiling my mask. Im praying that I will not be a job hopper, or an un-finisher of projects. As a wise (wo)man said, Success is planned.

      Like

    40. I can see that im not alone in wanting SAA classes! hook us up! Yesterday I attended the introductory class for mizizi and it was AWESOME! cant wait for the 10 week transformation. maybe this will help me better learn how to manage my sanguine nature and how to use it for good and success! Looking forward to a great ride! boy im I glad I discovered Mavuno!

      Like

    41. Let me volunteer and be Kanji’s accountability partner for this week and remind him tht he promised ‘he might’ blog his xperience.Hope tht has not exposed my personality.

      Like

    42. Pastor M&C….

      The Lord used you guys to majorly open our eyes on the things that could bring us down as Sanguines.
      On the main page of this blog you have given a warning not to use the knowledge acquired in these sermons to judge catergorize or excuse bad behaviour and that we should endevor to avoid doing so (despite the strong complusion to do it). I also know from personal experience that it is possible to counter the dark side of our personalities by training ourselves (with the help of others) to do the right thing despite our temparaments.
      My mother, helped me counter a part of the indisciplined charachter of a Sanguine and unknowingly protected me from the aspect of leaving trails of broken hearts and dissapointed friends by always insisting that I always keep promises made up to and including keeping time (‘No one forced you to promise so you better stick with it!’). This has helped me a lot because now I have many close friends who I am not ashamed to call or communicate with because of the training I got.
      However my BIG challenge lies in keeping promises to MYSELF…. following up on my dreams and things to do for which I have no one to ‘report to’ or ‘let down’ but myself. This is potentially dangerous for me and I have seen that if I am not careful I could miss out on my destiny because of it. I have enlisted the help of a close Chol-Mel relative of mine and I believe that that there is hope for me and my Sanguine brothers and sisters yet.

      Like

    43. Imagine there is so much hope for us sanguines.God has transformed me and is still doing so.This I can testify.I did not even realise how much work God had done on me until sunday’s service.I was quite unreliable,making promises I cant keep.Even simple ones like I’ll call you kesho for example.But God worked on me and even such tiny promises I keep.Of course with God’s help.I used to be quite the slacker when it came to completing assignments in school but imagine in campo I was on time 8/10 of the time.That is only God.Trust me I am super sanguine.I also try very hard to keep in touch even with old pals.Only God does such transformation.I also keep a to do list of what I need to do daily and weekly.That helped alot in campo and I am more organised now.I repeat only God does that.There is hope my fellow sanguines.Smile,ask,pray,trust,have faith and believe.

      Like

    44. Soulsystah Says:

      So!!!!
      Im a Chol-sang…and until sunday, i really thought that my dark side was the chol element and the coolest side of me was the sang side…and in tru sang fashion, i can talk my way around the full explanation as to why i am all that and a bag of chips!
      but then…somehow..i started feeling SUPER small as i thought about my lack of discipline, my shallow friendships (millions of acquaintances and yet when i am leaving jobbo im so lonely and just looking for someone special to hang out with). And then i flipped back to thinking about PAstor Ls sermon on Players of the Bible for women and how we throw our pearls to pigs….waaaaar! its just a mess!
      So now im thinking…where’s the hope? whats God got in mind for me…how can he help me?.
      and he spoke so clearly…slow down, breathe and be genuine…true to HIM and true to me, learn discipline (work, relationships, life, health)…and show who you truly are…unexaggerated…
      thanks for being the message for the wake up call…
      GBU

      Like

    45. A MONTH AGO
      My girlfriend brought a present & left it in my hse. When I came, I didn’t open it till she called me to ask. So I opened and it was a set of very good; pen,lighter & key holder.
      I’m thought (I don’t need a lighter but when I tried it, its NOT working. “I am getting pissed already-if she had to bring something at least it should be working!” Oh, the pen too wasn’t working well, so i can’t help but call).
      I:Hi D, u arrived safely?
      D:Yea.
      I:don’t like ya present, none works so can….tuu .. uu… flat line-she hang up!
      Later, ‘She tells me its the thought that counts, but I don’t think so, I think she should have made sure the things work ama?’
      My Pals say, I have half the no of words men have & I use them very directly but I have a clean heart, & sleep at peace.

      God forgive me though, I am working on it. Dont hate me for this ppl

      Like

    46. Oh Lord ,Oh Lord………twas an amazing sermon.I’v always known that i am a sanguine major and some combination of Mel and Phleg.Twas pretty eye opening though.I thank God for my parents though for taking me to boarding school when i was class six,that instilled so much discipline in me that now i look back and i say my ma must have seen that aspect of indiscipline from i gess a very young age.Tis true what passy said…..the thingy on indiscipline aint no joke……My mum passed on when i was in form one and my dad soon after…….so tis like God knew that we,my siblings and i would have to like face life like so.I being a Sanguin ESPECIALLY Its taken GOD,and i mean its taken God!!! coz thes been many times that i have had to push myself to do stuff that i knew i had to do but somehow dint or just dont wanna do…..Guys u know tis challenging but I know my life is so far is a success,i’m not yet there but i’ll get there.The “sermon on the mount “on sunday jus jolted me back to reality.I now even have so so much ghasto to forge on forward and to never give up on life and that even though i have fallen many times i know that i can get back up again and try again,with God on my side.Thanks passy and God bless you big!! I do love ya’ll and do keep up the faith. P/s By the way Viv up here is my accountability friend and she’s choleric so you can imagine how she keeps me on check,all the same,she’s an amazing friend.

      Like

    47. hi!! twas my first time @ church and i was hit with a fist. pretty tight sermon. those were superb xteristics bt can’t help but note how the sanguine in us think an AA programme would help, get real – we are lookin for one to be created for us which is a reactive step!!!!instead of acquiring an acountablity partner/group which is the proactive role we ought to take. i identify wit y’all on wassup friends guess even God remains a wassup most of the time it gets prettly lonely here- i need to take action coz we sanguines have an important role to play in keeping the ship afloat -being Spirit controlled will get us there see you at the finish line. ps: a toast for the snguine in us after all God anatupenda

      Like

    48. hey, that was one good message.

      i had only heard of mavuno and really never bothered to come there because i assumed it was probably not within my conservative liking…but truly it was such an immense blessing. and i came just on the right sunday when you were speaking about sanguines….that is sooooo me. undisciplined, never follow through, over promise, talk TOO MUCH, and oh do i exaggerate.

      but the thing that caught me the most was my proneness to failure. i am about to start a set of very difficult papers, and i need all the help i can get. i am literally staring failure in the face if i don’t get deliverance from my weakness of lack of discipline and operating on feeling. i have cheated myself, my friends and the world about me. i have defiled my spirit and my body (the temple of God) just be operating the way i do (liking to be liked, loooving the attention). though lately i feel like i dont matter, that visit to your church made me feel like i matter to the Most High…and He will help me…i mean surely, He has to! 🙂

      Like

    49. Hi Guys, when will you upload the audio version for “The Undisciplined Leader”? I’ve just started going to Mavuno and caught these series in the middle. Meanwhile I have a sneaky suspicion, and my friends tell me, that I’m a San, and trust me right now, it’s the dark side that’s winning, so HELP! I need to listen to that sermon so God and I can get to work.

      Like

    50. I have really been waiting to hear the end of Kanjiis story which he said he might blog….did i miss it?

      Like

    51. WOW…..the sermons have really been helpful not just in my understanding of myself but being able to understand others. I dated a Sanguine and the sermon on Sanguine’s should have been titled by his name why lie…because it totally describes him….but more so now I have a better understanding. I have a name to put to the character….Sanguine.
      The sermon on Sanguine was very impactful to me because it reminded me that God is still working on all of us……that we all have strengths and weaknesses and once you understand your own short comings as well as others you are better able to understand and more so lend a helping hand because we all need each other.
      However, we MUST admit and acknowledge our personality types and not be in denial otherwise we cannot move forward.
      I’ve not found the one that I most identify with so I am waiting to hear the last of the series and then also take the test.
      Thanks for these hard truths….we need them.

      Like

    52. Mrs. Pauline Kisitu Says:

      …..yani you guys….only God can richly bless. We were on our Honeymoon but manze i felt like God…ala…life is rude but Real. After that Sermon on sunday the 17th 08 08, i went on my knees to sincerely ask God to forgive me and teach me to be me and that the best attention i can get is from you, after all the only buddy whom i can be silly with and will get away with it is you without feeling like…..yaaaaaaaa! Since then, my heart desires more for honesty and a learning ground to grow and that’s exactly whats happening. Painful learning ground but refreshening. I appreciate Mavuno Church and its Leadership. Lots of love to the Kanjis and to all Desire after God’s own heart by looking inside you and knowing what God Desires of you. You will Fly!

      Like

    Comments are closed.

